The Dink Network

Dink Smallwood

April 12th, 2015
v1.08
Score : 9.9 exceptional
fairy.gif
Spinnerweb
Peasant Male Pakistan steam
Scream Aim Fire 
Ask a Dinker and they'll list any number of reasons they find Dink Smallwood magical - the humour; the endearing hero; the fact that three people made this game in 1998 or, of course, that you can behead ducks and watch them run around squirting more blood on the screen than is in the entire human populace. I've reviewed Dink three times previously, but for the first time ever, I'm reviewing it with all bias and sentimentality set aside.

The story that is now legendary in the Dinkers' community begins with Dink feeding pigs while dreaming of great deeds and envying his rival Milder. Over a series of adventures that involve myriad wacky themes like duck worship, an isle that doesn't exist turning out to be downstairs in a house, dead dragon carcass cults and the game's creator being the ultimate evil, Dink becomes a hero to many. It's a wacky, unbalanced, tortuous plot that comes off as very satisfying, if only because players maintain their sanity in this game by allowing themselves to go slightly dotty. There are some side-quests and several secret areas, and yet what makes this RPG appealing is that it's pretty open You can walk around and come across stuff at your leisure - there's no 'quest complete' or 'quest assigned' here.

The controls are well-arranged and the gameplay is fun. Battling monsters is quite challenging - the slayers spawn fear in me - and involves moving towards them, getting a hit in and them running away before they attack as well. Unless they're pillbugs of course. No need to be afraid of those critters. The people you interact with are usually interesting and keep the game's humour flowing like rum on a pirate ship, yet there are some (a few, yeah) serious and actually quite moving points in the story. Getting new magic spells and weapons always makes for some satisfaction in trying them out.

The music in Dink is really very underappreciated. Maybe it's because the game's humour drowns out most of the other stuff, but I found some of the midis extremely memorable and they always manage to influence the atmosphere. Can't you feel how Dink feels stuck in Stonebrook thanks to the music? What about the joy that filters through in the midis that play in some areas only after Seth is defeated?

The visuals are great. They may be just a bunch of .bmp images but they look excellent, especially for the game's time. The monsters were designed well, especially the slayers, and that the pillbug became so iconic later on speaks for itself. The sound effects are mostly borrowed but are effective.

The game may be slightly buggy and some secret areas are incomplete but it never comes off as broken in a normal playthrough. I told myself I would review Dink without any bias, and I did. And guess what? It's still an outstanding adventure game.
October 16th, 2009
v1.08
Score : 9.7 exceptional
custom_robj.png
Robj
Peasant Male Australia
You feed the madness, and it feeds on you. 
Well, I'm guessing this hasn't been reviewed for a while, and it's not like there isn't enough reviews already, but since I did a video review, I'm just adding 'a text version' of it here.... yeah.

Foreword
This is the game that started it all... it's one of the greatest classics ever in my opinion and it still remains on the list of my favourite classic games, and there's no doubt it always will.

Dink Smallwood is often described as a 'Zelda-like' game. Although I've actually seen some people argue against this, Dink Smallwood reminds me of 3 games. They are - Zelda, Monkey Island, and Diablo.

Story
The story of Dink Smallwood is definitely awesome, and it kept me interested throughout the entire game. It involves a range of different tasks you perform throughout Dink's adventure, which really only kicks-off once Dink's house burns and he gets invited to stay with his Aunt in Terris. Before that point, the quests can be seen as quite lame, as they mainly consist of feeding animals, finding an animal and collecting some food. But I definitely prefer these easy quests that don't feel real adventurous to let the player figure out the game, rather than a boring tutorial like I've seen in some games. Throughout Dink's adventure you'll meet teachers of magic, find shops to upgrade your weapons, behead some ducks, and talk to a lot of people.
One of the best things about Dink Smallwood is the humour included in the game, and it truly helps to liven up the game and make it more entertaining to play.

Graphics
Dink's graphics aren't shiny-extremely-realistic masterpieces, but they are definitely well done, and they work. In comparison to other RPG's, they could have been better but it's not really a problem at all. As long as they don't look like crap, then they are ok in my opinion. Personally, I like the saying - "Better graphics doesn't necessarily mean a better game".
In terms of animation, there's a range of graphics - some are simple, and some are eye-catching. The mapping of the game is also well designed, however there is the occasional annoyance of getting bounced back and forth between screens because of an object placed in the way.

Gameplay in terms of control
Dink is controlled using the keyboard, or a computer game controller - they both work well. The controls can not be altered to your own liking, but that doesn't even matter because the defaults are really easy to use, which is a good thing. I've played games that have controls that are so complicated and weird that you can't figure out the simplest things.

Game sounds and music
Well what can I say?
The sound is one of my favourite aspects of Dink Smallwood. Dink Smallwood only uses midi files for it's game music and these work extremely well in the game to set the mood for the various scenes and situations, and the normal game sounds share the same quality.
They are simply awesome

Overall
Dink Smallwood is a great game and it will always have a place amongst my favourite classics. The adventure and humour fit together well and make a good pair and the editing capabilities that have spawned several user-created worlds is truly a spectacular feature.

Score: 9.7
June 24th, 2007
v1.08
Score : 9.5 exceptional
sob_scorpy.gif
DinkDude95
Peasant Male Australia steam
The guy with the cute D-Mod. 
So, Dink Smallwood, the beginning of it all. The game that started it all. Where it all started. So, I'm not a veteran Dinker, I never had the CD version, I downloaded the freeware version of the internet. This is a really good game. I played it again and again and again and yet again. It's that type of game that you can play multiple times, and not get bored. That's what I like about it.

But it is a mess. I must say, the end is kinda weird. I mean, you have a little chat to King Dan where he says "SMALLWOOD HAS RETURNED!". Then he goes on for about half a minute. You get a few potions and stuff, but nothing else. You can keep fighting monsters and that which I like, but the ending in general is a mess.

Story:
The story is pretty cool. You play as this boy named 'Dink Smallwood' and you fight monsters and complete quests as he becomes a hero. There are a number of puzzles to complete and at times you have to think. But overall, it's a fairly easy game. It could be harder, but it's just as good the way it is.
*****9.5*****

Gameplay:
The gameplay of the game was pretty good I must say. There was a good balance of monsters. They give you a decent amount of gold. It made it most enjoyable. There isn't too much to say about the gameplay. Not that there really ever is...
*****9.0*****

Music:
I loved the music! It really went well with the game. There were quite a few interesting sounds. I don't know whether they made all the sounds and music. But either way, it's lovely.
*****9.5*****

Graphics:
The graphics were actually pretty cool. They're all done in 256 colours. It adds a certain feel to the game these graphics. I played the game, and almost straight away I was drawn to the game. They're a bit unusual and hard to make more of with today's graphics programs, but they're pretty good.
*****10*****

One thing, I've always wondered why you can't drop items. That would be truly awesome to be able to drop the items you don't need.

Overall:
This is a well though-out game and I really enjoyed it. If you haven't already played the game, then I suggest you download it right now! It's fit for anyone who has a bit of time on their hands, doesn't mind some 'unusual' graphics, and loves computer games.

9.5 points out of 10
April 9th, 2005
v1.06
Score : 9.0 exceptional
peasantmg.gif
ehasl
Peasant Male
 
Gameplay 9.8: Fun through the whole game. Not too hard, not too easy. Short, but free, and D-Mods lengthen the playing time. Dink says some funny things when he hits stuff, and it's always fun to kill ducks.

Also included in this download is RTSoft's D-Mod "Mystery Island", which takes Dink out on the sea with a ship and to an island with robots and cameras. That game is more buggy than the original, and does not fit very well with the time setting, but there are a lot of new graphics. No matter how good or bad "Mystery Island" is, it will not have impact on the Gameplay score.

Graphics 2.0: Only 2D, most of the people look the same, and the sprites do not turn in different directions, they are just suddenly facing another way. 640x480 pixels and 256 colors is not good enough.

Sound/Music 8.0: The sounds are OK, but not more. (At least most of) The music is not written by RTSoft, but it fits well everywhere, and I cannot remember any particularly annoying tracks. Many of them are very good classical pieces.

Bugs/Stability 6.0: There are many bugs in the game without the 1.07 beta patch installed, and still some after installing it, but I think none of the bugs will prevent the player from completing the game.

Editing 7.0: I believe that although most serious, new games let their fans create mods, it is much easier with Dink. The DinkC language is simple and limited, but almost anything is possible, except 3D. The original DinkEdit that comes with this download does not work satisfyingly well with Windows XP/2000. The engine is not quick, and only supports .bmp graphics, .wav sounds and .mid music.

Overall 9.0: Dink Smallwood is a very good and entertaining game, although outdated in many ways. This version is also free, which is a great plus.
August 25th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.4 exceptional
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
So.. I'm finally submitting a review for the game that made this site and its content possible!
I'll review it 3 times, 'cause I feel you can see Dink Smallwood like 3 different games.

1) As a normal game
2) As a dmod
3) As the thing that made all dmods and this lovely community possible

As for no. 3, it's gets a 9.9, ofcourse. How could someone *not* gvie this a 9.9 while you're enjoying to be in this community?
I'll review part 1 and 2 now.

1) As a normal game
Dink Smallwood is a classic action-rpg like Zelda, but with humour. Graphics aren't the best around, hell no. But it's over 6 years old though, and it looks fine once you get used to the somewhat strange style.
I never liked the grass, it looks rather like some kind of strange material than grass. hmm.
Sound is good, atmospheric midis, and ok sound effects. The music in Dink is really memorable, and I somewhat get a nostalgic feeling when hearing them again
Gameplay is really good, the game itself is higly amusing, though by far not the best, but hey! DINKEDIT! This is more than a bonus. I think the actual game is a bounus and the editor is the game! Awesome. Now, the editor may not be the most userfriendly, but I think it's without a doubt the best editor ever. Ever.
Lasting appeal is where the game really shines. Full points here. I bought the game over 4 years ago and I still love it. Thank you RTSoft

GRAPHICS 7: Not the best, but functional
SOUND 8: Good music, mediocre sound effects
GAMEPLAY 9: Nice game, awesome editor
LASTING APPEAL 10: This lasts forever
OVERALL: 8.8

2) As a dmod
If this game would have been released as a dmod, it would knock everyone's panties off. Dude, the dmod would be HUGE, humorous, good music, good use of standard graphics, not too easy, not too hard, and just great. Though, it could be better. Some dmods have, in my opinion, surpassed the original. Prophecy of the Ancients and Pilgrims Quest are just better games.

GRAPHICS 8: Nice, but nothing special
SOUND 8.5: Good use of music, though some are out of place
GAMEPLAY 9.2: Great mapdesign and quests. Very cool
LASTING APPEAL 9: HUGE! And one minigame: the duck island!
OVERALL: 9.5

So.. let's see here. 1) = 9.9, 2) = 8.8, 3 = 9.5
That makes a 9.4, if I'm not mistaken.

TOTAL: 9.4
August 15th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duckdie.gif
Ah yes, the Dink Smallwood original game! I remember the first time i played. I had gotten the pc cd: Hottest Releases 13 (or 14 i dont remember). And on it there was an interesting looking title known as "Dink Smallwood". I decided i must play, and i beat the shareware version around 11 times i believe. Of course this was all after Dink had become freeware (I got the CD in 1999-2000 i believe). So im online and i look up Dink on the web...and then....OMG! Dink has become freeware! I could not stop playing the game! From then on I had the strange tradition of downloading/beating Dink everytime I was sick, (as I am now) =)
Then the hours i spent trying to get dmods to work when i couldnt quite figure out what installing to the same directory as the original game was lol.
Ok on to the reviews

Graphics: Really good for such a smooth running game on my very bad pc lol. All the monster animations as well as characters had a very smooth look to them, which is quite nice. All natural things such as trees/grass/thatched roofs looked very textured and such....

Sound: The songs are very nostaligic inspiring, adding to the fantastic feeling of the game. The sound effects are very crisp and clear.

Plot: I thought the game had an interesting plot, with all the different interactions with characters (hitting on your aunt, the goblin guy that wanted to be a person, the innuendo, the humour). It is very Zelda-esque in the plot going to do tasks for people, your not so average hero. It had all the elements necessary to motivate you to beat the game. And the humour of the game is unmatched in almost any other game, the goblin guy that sounded retarded, killing ducks, the duck saying 'bite me', the Dead Dragon Carcass Cult, the sexual innuendo, the hitting on his aunt!, all great.

Its not a matter of really which aspects of the game are the best, because each different person enjoys a game for their certain aspect. The fact of the matter is that it is a game that is so versatile and rounded out that it can be enjoyed by many people, and the dmod addition just makes it the most replayable game out there, as evidenced by the fanbase after being out for quite some time now,(4-5 years now), time and time again i come back to this game because its just that good. Thanks to everyone in the Dink Community for continuing their support for Dink, and good luck to everyone on their Dmods, and huge thanks to the dev. team of Dink, not only for making such a great game but then being awesome enought to actually release their game as freeware. And a big thanks to everyone who made dmods, dink files, even the ones that suck =P, Je suis tres contente avec a des jeux video a Dink Smallwood! this game would be a 10. if that option were on the list!
January 20th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Dink Smallwood v 1.06

Dink Smallwood is a young pig farmer, who upon the death of his mother, goes to live with his aunt, where he encounters many an adventures.

The Good: This is THE game. The one that started it all, and as I was playing it these past few days, I recall what an impact it had on me when it first came out (in freeware).
The scenery is lush, lots of save bots and this was our introduction to the: pillbugs, slimers, boncas, slayers, stone giants and goblins. Some in different colours, to show the different strengths and speeds. The game is vivid, with boulders to be shoved out of the way to underground caves and yes, lots of burnable trees’. The wizards make their appearances, and we see the usual townsfolk and (annoying) ducks. There are probably a few hardness bugs ( don’t I always get stuck in a tree?), but now I can’t seem to recall what they are. Lots of magic/defense/strengths potions scattered all over the place, 5 main weapons to buy (eventually) and the speed shoes. Music is good, with sound effects for everything. Other secrets to find, all in order to defeat the `evil Seth’.

The Bad: The only thing I could really see wrong with the game, was the boulders/rocks/logs at the mountain base. When I first played the game I figured it was something important and was constantly hacking away at it (or throwing bombs). I later found out, that it was to have been something, but they ran out of time (or something)

Overall: A wonderful game, which will give anyone hours of enjoyment. I introduced the game to my nephew, whereas he got into the game with a gusto that surprised me. People today are still playing this game, getting stuck, looking for whatnots, and how to beat the whatever’s. It's nice to know that a RPG game that was made so long ago, is still going as strong as ever.
October 20th, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
farmer.gif
First off, I'd like to say I'm very strict with my ratings. You don't score points very easily with me.

Difficulty: The game is a bit hard in some areas, but I personally like hard games. The main thing that bothered me is that if you just put a bunch of points in defense you become nearly invincible.
And in my oppionion, the enemies should have been a bit harder. The last boss especially.
Rating: 4/5

Story: There wasn't all that much story, but this game didn't need all that much anyways.
Rating: 4/5

Graphics: The graphics were great. The style was real good, but they could have been a little better. I'm not complaining, they're really as good as they needed to be.

Length: I wish it was a bit longer...
Rating: 4/5

Innovation/Gameplay: This engine is awsome, but has a couple of flaws. In other words, it's not perfect.
Rating: 4/5

Let me just say that just about no game gets more than a couple fives in my book, but my little "Score" rating is going to be in scored in comparison to other games. In other words, It will have to be 9.9 because compared to all other games, it's that dang good.
June 23rd, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
farmer.gif
This is what everyone is talking about. It's an epic RPG/fantasy (you know that, though =)) in which you must destroy the ancient one Seth. You have to play this. There would be no DMODS without it. Back to the review though,
Graphics- very good, they possess much quality. I doubt I could do half as good with 3D Canvas. Gameplay- good gameplay, from the Dead Dragon Carcass Cult (Ah, the memories {tears come to AmoebaLord's eyes}) to the famine in Winderemere to killing your first pig. So many memories . . So download this classic, and when you beat it, download POTA, and when you beat that, download FIAT, and when you beat that, download FB3, LOT...
Sorry I got carried away by old memories.
Music- Excellent, truly excellent! Several other D-
MODS use this music. They spent a lot of time and money on these, and it shows.
Difficulty- This game is exactly the type of difficulty I prefer. Enemies aren't impossible to kill, but have the preferred amount of HP. The few puzzles in this game don't take triginomatry to solve, but you have to think a few seconds to solve them.
Plot- This is a good plot, but there are a couple ways they could've made it better.
Glitches/Bugs- There are very few of these. The biggest bug I came across was when I started the game, Dink could only walk in a certain path. I installed it again though, and no more bugs! So if you find a major bug, try installing it again. If it isn't fixed, you're smart, fix it on DinkEdit!
Engine- This is a BIG reason to download this. (Without it you can't play D-MODS.) Again, it's a great engine. If you don't understand it, don't worry. When I started out, it looked completely foreign to me. All you need is a tutorial. The engine is easy to use, and has dozens of adjustable fields. Without it, it wouldn't of inspired me to start Comercial Windows Game Programming.
Overall- It's a great game, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! d:
June 9th, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
peasantmp.gif
IceMan
Peasant Male
 
Ahhh.... Dink Smallwood, the classic RPG game made by the smart people down at RTSOFT. Well what can I say, I think that Dink Smallwood has to be the worst game in the world. No, I don't. I think that Dink Smallwood is one of my favourite RPG style games I have ever seen. It is beautiful. I got Dink long ago, and when i did, it was the best thing that ever happened to me (going over the top). The engine itself is beautiful, not just because of the possibilities for making Dink MODules, but the way it has been programmed. This game is a definate MUST DOWNLOAD, even if you are on a 56K, it is still a MUST DOWNLOAD. It is what I wanted, and here's what I think about it...

Strengths
---------

The game, the engine, what more can i say. The graphics are great. There are lots of them, they are 3D and they are VERY well detailed. The games engine is a great one too. Maybe not the sort of engine you would see in this millenium, but a great one in itself. The game is so great that it has been a hit on the internet and around the world since '98. What more can you ask for. If you like RPG's or Final Fantasy. Then this is your game. If you havn't played Dink Smallwood, then take my advice now, and download it! The storyline is great, the map is big, but the way the storyline is built up, you will always visit the same places, again and again. This makes the gameplay huge! Dink Smallwood gives any serious gamer hours maybe days of gaming experience, and endless fun + laughter. The storyline gets strangely twisted near the end of Dink Smallwood, but ina funny way, to make the game stay interesting. (Seth the designer being the end boss) If you like games that you can just go around and do anything, rampage the whole world, kill everybody, then this is the game for you. The game never ends, as there is no ending, you kill Seth, but then you can just backtrack and go around and do anything you want. Maybe unlock secret areas not previously known about. It's obvious, I am going to give it full marks, but purely because of the massive, monstrous list of Strengths. As for weaknesses, what could possibly be wrong with it? The possiblity given from this game of making Modifications / Addons for Dink Smallwood is endless, and can never really be stopped, all thanks to Dink Smallwoods Engine. Giving you the creativity you want. I ask you to think of a game that reaches Dink Smallwoods Standards.

Weaknesses
----------

Hmmm.... let's see. Maybe the variation of enemies could have been improved on, and the engine is pretty buggy. I also think a difficulty selection screen should have been put into Dink Smallwood. However, other than that, what can I say!

Overall
-------

Classic RPG game like Final Fantasy, that deserves to be downloaded by everyone on the internet. A great game, a must download, and that is that.

Total 9.9
Grade A*

End comment "Download this, now"
June 6th, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.8 exceptional
milder.gif
Vilius
Peasant
 
That is very cool game. Ive played it since it was released, but i havent internet browser. Of course, I beated Dink Smallwood , and played it again, again, again and again... Like RPG game its very good game.

There was a lot of GRAPHICS: Dink, about 10 types peoples, about 50 spiecies of monsters and 1000 types of things: houses, fences, walls, brigdes, rocks, trees, bushes and other miscellaneous...Also tiles, from grass to fire...

ITEMS- a lot of items... You can even add your item to the game!!! Starting from nuts and ending with bombs and throwing axes. Also there was few magics: Fireball (Dink fires a ball into enemy. When it touches enemy or other hard object, like tree or rock, it explodes); Hellfire (works like fireball, but if touches monster, exsplodes only a piece of it. So, its mean, you can hit many many monsters with one shoot 8-]); scroll(with it you can go throught to the magic gate into the magic forest).

There was a lot of SOUNDS!!! starting with screen music and ending with exsplosions! But, when someone talk, you dont hear what he saying, you must read it...

And finaly-OVERALL. If you want to play good RPG game- Dink Smallwood is the best. You can even play a DMOD, game created by someone like you. Also you can create your own DMOD and send it to the Dink network...
So, thats it.
January 23rd, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.0 exceptional
fish.gif
I guess everyone in Dink community just loves Dink, or otherwise they won't be in Dink community. Well, I like to say something AGAINST Dink, and hopefully I won't be banned from this community.

Dink Smallwood has many classical RPG characters with some unique Seth humor. However, compared with those classical adventure/rpg games like Wizardry series, Ultima series, and King Quest Series, Dink Smallwood somehow fells behind.

The weakest part of the game is the magic system. The only useful spell is fireball/hellfire (they are basically the same type of fireball-throw spell). POA and SOB have more and better magic spells.

The real-time battle system is just a OK. Attack-and-retreat trick works fine, but that's it. If you are not good at bow like me, you would have some difficulties in several occassions. But if you are good at bow, most of the monsters are just plain stupid.

The graphics and sounds are also an OK, too. Even in 1998, 256-color bmp graphics and only midi and wav sounds are still subpar for a 2D/3D rpg game. For example, U7 is much smaller and released much earlier, but it has similar quality or even better in some aspects.

Judging from the map, at least 10 percent of the plot was abandoned due to commericial and schedule reasons, I guess. It's a shame.

Gameplay is quite simple and great. Screen by screen design makes it easier for DMODers to do the job, but sometimes it is annoying if you accidentally leave the screen while fighting a tough battle.

The biggest plus of this game is the ability for anybody to develop a rpg game without doing the hardest coding. That's the reason I started Dinking in the first place.
October 17th, 2016
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knightg.gif
Baphomet
Peasant Male Germany
GOTT MIT UNS! 

When I started playing Dink Smallwood I was so drawn in. The characters, the land, the headless ducks running around spurting blood from there necks.

Funny but morbid at some points. But it's a good kind of morbid. Dink Smallwood is probably the best rpg I have ever played.

I wish I could rate this D-mod higher.

9.9
August 30th, 2012
v1.08
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knightg.gif
DackFight
Peasant Male United States
Making Topics off-track faster then you can say it 
Plot: Dink has to go do some chores for his mother then his house is burned for some odd reason. Then he decides to see a wizard he met earlier and then after doing his quest he starts his rise to become a hero who his mightier then even the ancients.
Music: All of it was in good areas at the right time though I would of liked some way to listen to some music more instead of youtube, but thats just the way the game is.
Time: It took about a couple of hours to play which was good for a Game with it's awesomness if anything it would do good to involve the icelands.
Personal: I think it was a great thing to play I would play it over and over if I didn't have other things to do, but oh well
Sword's Rating: He saw some of it and I think he gave it a good rating
Bugs: I only encountered one where if you have a fill inventory and you try to buy a bow you have to end the conversation and then Dink is frozen. I would like if that was fixed, but I dont care it's not much
Recommdation: Everyone should play it this is an awesome game which almost everyone would like, but sadly not enough people play it.
June 7th, 2011
v1.08
Score : 8.2 good
duckdie.gif
When I first reviewed this game, I blindly gave it the highest score possible. Now that I have had time to think about it, I have to change it. First off, the story is nice, but too basic, just "Get to the Next Area" in some places. The graphics are great for an old game, but now I must get to the point. This game had no ending. That is what I hated. In fact it made me sad. There were just some silly credits which ruined the formality of the game and made it look like a causual D-Mod. They even had smileys. It feels rushed and even the punctuatuion isn't proper. Seth also talked some weird stuff in the credits. Then you got some potions and could go anywhere. When the people talk to you they say the same thing they said before the ending, and so, it feels sad.
Enough said
September 14th, 2007
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.9 exceptional
pillbug.gif
pillbug
Peasant Male United States xbox steam
Love! True love! 
This is it. The beginning of the Dink games. This game is one of the best I've played. It has
a good storyline, fighting, humor, and duck-killing. What more does a game need? I could not really find anything bad in this game, so instead of The Good and the bad, I'll just have The Best and the Good.

The Best:
Plenty of secret areas, good humor, and a storyline. From ducks to Ancient ones, you get to fight through hordes of monsters, collect gold, talk to people, and travel from town to town becoming a hero. The enemies are balanced, and every goodie is a reward to find, and not just scattered around
The weapon prices are good, the magic is awesome, and there are great scripts put into this.
The mappng is great as well.

The Good:
The flamebow and herb boots may seem expensive at first, but when you get around fighting monsters and breaking chests, you will find that just about everything is balanced in this game.

Overall:
This is the beginning of it. An all-around great game.
July 1st, 2007
v1.08
Score : 9.1 exceptional
custom_skull.gif
skull
Peasant Male Finland
"I'd like to be a tree..." 
Dink Smallwood is an excellent RPG game.

Story: You play as Dink Smallwood. You will meet a wizard. Dink's house sets on fire and kills his mother. Dink will gets a letter from his aunt. And so his Quest begins.
7.9.

Mapping: Not too bad.
7.7.

Gameplay: Many secrets to find. Levels to gain. Weapons to buy. Spells to learn. End boss isn't good balanced. He's way TOO strong! But, almost otherwise perfectly balanced.
8.1.

Good: Good story, and gameplay.

Bad: End boss is far too strong!!

Overall: A great game which ALMOST everyone should play.

Fit for: Anyone who wants long and some humorous adventure.
June 21st, 2007
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.3 exceptional
burntree.gif
Unreal
Peasant Male Australia
 
So this is where it all started. how dink became a hero if you wanted to say. well anyway the gameplay was great i like the story line and it's interesting it does keep you evolved you never want to stop playing. it's nice and long but not to long i really hate games that take months to complete.

The good thing about it was that it was a great way to start off the game. (for the mods) But there is one bad thing about it... The starting was boring a bit, but just a bit, at the start you had to get the money to buy the longsword witch takes a bit of time witch was not needed but that was about it

Overall i would give it a 9.3 great but not excellent but a great job for the people that made it
June 12th, 2006
v1.08
Score : 9.9 exceptional
slayer.gif
kth6
Peasant
 
Well, this is the best version of dink smallwood currently. Almost everyone contributed. The are new features such as Windowed mode and play in true colour. Instead of the old frontend that is lousy and would crash after a number of dmods have been installed, DFarc 2.0 has a small screenshot of the game and could install and remove dmods in a clever way and asks if you want to remove your save files. It alaso fixes the old problem which the frontend detects a dmod , but when you run, it crashes(because it is not a dmod in the first place).. Well,if you are a tru fan of Dink Smallwood, this is a must download patch!
August 31st, 2005
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 8.5 good
eye.gif
I think this upgrade good because it is relatively better than the previous version. This Version fixed multiple bugs, most importantly (at least for me), it fixes the problems with Windows 2000/XP and DinkEdit.
August 9th, 2005
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
peasantmb.gif
Lunacre
Peasant Male Finland
 
When I found this game, I was about 8 years old. I didn't understand english that much then, but I still enjoyed playing this game. Now when I found this again after few years, I have finished it many times!

Story: You are a boy named Dink Smallwood. You always have dreamed of becoming a brave knight of King Daniel. Your mother dies when your house is set on fire. Great story! 9.9

Gameplay: There are lots of potions to be found and lots of secrets to be discovered. I always knew where to go and didn't get stuck. Only few places were prety nasty/boring. 9.8

Sound&Musics: Midis are great! I loved the midi 10! All the sounds are great and midis fit in the situations! 9.9

Graphics: Graphics are great too! I got nothing else to say about these. 9.9

Bugs: I did find only few bugs. Like on my old computer, when I took a golden heart, the game got stuck. But this happened ONLY on my old computer. 9.8

Overall: Great game! I have played this game since I found it. Dont wait any longer! Download this now! 9.9
May 4th, 2005
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.0 exceptional
burntree.gif
Actually, I haven't found need for this patch as, though I use Windows XP, for some reason I'm able to use both DinkEdit and DinkSmallwood Fine without it. But yes, it does fix a few bugs (none of which I've really actually noticed, I think.)

This patch gets a 9.0 from me in that the patch actually fixes things instead of creating more bugs!
April 9th, 2005
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.2 exceptional
peasantmg.gif
ehasl
Peasant Male
 
+ Fixes DinkEdit compatibility problems for Windows 2000/XP users, which extends the life of the game.
+ Fixes some other bugs.

- Only a beta, which could mean it's not entirely "safe".
- Does not fix all known bugs.
January 6th, 2005
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.0 exceptional
dinkdead.gif
Dart
Peasant Male
 
I personally think that any update to a game that does not cause problems and manages to fix at least one major one is worth putting out. I quit playing Dink years ago because it did not work on my newer systems. After coming back to the community and seeing this new update I am playing again! I know it has been out for quite some time now and this review is probably not needed, but I couldn't help myself.

I gave it a 9.0 because it got an old faitful player back into the game!
December 12th, 2004
v1.06
Score : 8.7 good
goblinm.gif
Of course, this is a great file, but as a dmod the gameplay here just does not stack up well against the great epics.

Gameplay:7
I especially hated the "bombing the rock" part, and in general the stuff you have to do is just too random! Instead of having clear obstacles which must be overcome by some trickery, you often just end up killing time in some random way (say by saving someone), after which the obstacle disappears (example: bridge to windemere). Of course this is also true of, for instance, Vice City, but that is a completely different situation.

The fighting is decently balanced, though it trends towards easy.

Style:10
Hilarious. No one has suceeded in recapturing Seth's sick humor. To see why, take a look at the RTSoft website...

Story:9
Eh, it starts out ok, but the rambling hero (and sometimes just "get to the next area") bit is pretty lame. In short, this is a reasonable story, but far from great.

Overall:8.7
Basically, scratcher has a point...
July 12th, 2004
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duckdie.gif
expwns
Peasant
 
Good game, flawless script, almost 0 bugs....
There is nothing cheesy about it!
July 6th, 2004
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knights.gif
DinkKiller
Peasant Male United States xbox steam
The world could always use more heroes 
The origanal Dink Smallwood game. The best of all Dink games.
STORY
-----
You are Dink Smallwood, a pig farmer from Stonebridge. At the beginning, a guy named Milder insults Dink. After Dink gets AlkTree nuts after 5-15 minutes, you go back to your house and find it on fire. Your mom is dead. Now you are on your own. You get a letter from your Aunt Kneedlewood and she asks you to come and stay with her in Terris. You go on your own adventures now and your past of pig farming is starting to go away.

The mini adventures are killing a bonca near Stonebridge, saving a little girl from a sick and twisted cult near Goodheart Castle, preventing a murder group called the Cast from killing everyone in KernSin, allowing food for the hungry people of Windmeare, killing dragons on Joppa Isle, and rescuing Milder from the ancient one in the Darklands. (I hope I didn't give away too much information here.)

This is the one and only original Dink Smallwood adventure. It's a great game and at minimum you can kill the end boss at level 9 (or maybe I'm really lucky or I'm just better than I think I am.) There are monsters on more than 70% of the screens and a little bit of scenery on every screen. There are secret areas everywhere! I just read scratchers review of 8.0 and said the story sucks, you sonova *slap.* What did I say? Anyway, all the music in this game fits every single situation perfectly! The sound effects are great! The storyline is absolutly perfect for the 10-15 hours of it (although if your a beginner it would take up to 20-25 hours.) As for the plot and humor, they are excellent.

This is a game you wont get bored of unless you've played it a billion times. Once you get the hang of it, you wont die at all (or die less often anyway,) you can kill the end boss at a lower level, and you complete the game in less time. Very good and keeps you hooked untill you complete it. Well, if your waiting for me to finally put up my ratings, I'm about to. Here they are....

Storyline 10.0
Map 10.0
Graphics 10.0 (This is 10.0 'cause of all the classic cutscenes and spells and weapons.)
Music 10.0 (This is 10.0 'cause it fits each situation perfectly.)
Plot 10.0
Humor 10.0
Weapons 10.0 (This is 10.0 'cause of the Fire Bow and Light Sword.)
Magic 10.0 (This is 10.0 'cause of the Magical Gate Removal Spell.)

*Notice I put an extra two catagories for ratings because it has magic and weapons most D-Mods dont have.*
This is recommended to everyone (although I don't think you can play D-Mods without this game.) Everyone, enjoy!!
May 24th, 2004
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 7.5 good
goblinh.gif
Pagerot
Peasant Male
 
This could have fixed much more bugs, but oh well, like a poster before me said, they don't really release that much. I'm on an XP system so I guess I'm okay with it.
November 15th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duckdie.gif
Dink is a pig farmer who lives with his mother in the town of Stonebrook. This town has only a few villigers. But, after dink gets some AlkTree nuts, eveything changed...
His mother is killed in a house fire, possibly by the fireplace, and is transfered to his aunts house in Terris.
His aunt is abused by her husband, Jack, and is depressed. Other than that, the town is quaint.
From there, he saves every town in the land, and goes to the Darklands to save his nemeisis, Milder, who makes fun of him for being a pig farmer. There, he kills Seth (who oddily enough LOOKS like Seth, one of the creators).
For his deeds, dink is awarded 3 magic and 3 attack potions, and you get a little message. (all this for saving the world? what a cheap world...)
Overall this game is very creative, fun, and VERY funny.

Graphics - 9.9, not a single bug i had with it

Story- 9.9, Great ideas, from hidden castles, to little magicians dink wants to pet.


Creativity- 9.9, Whoever helped make this game, has a LOT of time on their hands.

Overall- 9.9, This game is fun and replay capability is fun

Great game guys
July 31st, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duck.gif
If there's one file to absolutely review, wouldn't it be the one that actually caused this site to exist? Yes, the answer is yes. I give it a 9.9 because I really think it deserves it. I wouldn't be writing this otherwise or visit the site. I also think it must be satifactioning to say: these dmod were created because I made this game: THE DINK SMALLWOOD. Come to think of it, the name is quite nice itself isn't it? If you don't have it, be ashamed!
I mean really ashamed. Or you could have just missed it?
Ciao!
June 9th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.8 exceptional
pq_water.gif
Blue
Peasant Male
 
Dink Smalwood- A young pig farmer, that hates milder and knoes what is humor. Well.. i dont want to say the whole story about game, because a lot of other people already did it. Well.. in these days this game isnt the best or something, but it reached very much.... what other game survived 6 years without a "part II"? i guess only few lucky ones. Well.. uin these days graphics arent very good, but game is realeased in 97!. Too bad it takes only 640x480 screen and 256 colours. Well... for graphics i would give about 7 , but the game is realeased 6years ago, so i give it 9.6 point for graphics.

Well... sounds are quite goos midids, wehn you play you just forget about it. not much to say, im not very good at sounds, so ill give 9.9 for it.

What about gameplay, is that *IT IS* good. Very good. Maybe a littleparadoxal, that a "boy loses mother and hunts evil monsters", but I just liked it. I guess you should start downloading Dink Smalwood NOW. (9.9).

About bugs and errors, i almost didnt find any, maybe few places where i get stuck and like that... i will give 9.8 for it.

After all i think 9.8 Would be fair enough. its a good game, exeptional, but there are still some problems with it in these days.... So i give....

9.8!
May 10th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knights.gif
gustav
Peasant Male
 
In Dink Smallwood, as you probably know, you are Dink, a peasent. After his mother dies in an accident, he goes on a quest to defeat Seth the evil Ancient.

Good:
-----------------------------------
Great storyline and action.
Lots of humour and adventure.
I don't have the CD version, but I'm assuming it has better music.
It's free. Just click on official files on the left.

Bad:
-------------------------------------
If you are a kid (5-10), it might be difficult.
If your parent have a problem with they're kids playing games with lots of violence and swearing, I reccomend you find another game.

Bugs:
-------------------------------------
I didn't find any.

Overall:
--------------------------
A great game with plenty of action.
The fun doesn't stop when you finish the game either. This site has millions of addons for Dink Smallwood. Check them out!!
March 7th, 2003
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duckdie.gif
In the beginning, he is a good son to his mother, and helps her out with tending to the pigs. He also thinks he is a ladies man with all his hit-on techniques. But when he gets home from getting Alktree nuts for his mother, his home is on fire, and his mother is dead. When he runs out of the blazing home, the entire town ( Except Milder who probably could care less ) is standing outside his home, trying to comfort him. This is the beginning of an adventure of a life time...

Strengths:
The map designing was AWESOME!! The potions and extra health thing was a great idea. Weapons and storyline were superb. Music fitted the story perfectly. Spells graphics weren't cheezy looking like other games i've seen (They were good, not bad). Great ending, Milder dying added some dramatic effect. The humor, omg, was one of the best parts of the whole game! Most of the time, i was laughing my arse off!

Weaknesses:
Only one i saw, that was when i got stuck on the cliff near the end when i was getting hellfire.

Overall:

A dramatic, humerous game, with very few flaws. I reccomend this game to anybody.

9.9 score
January 27th, 2003
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.9 exceptional
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
I needed this upgrade in order to be able to play Dink Smallwood on my new computer that runs with Windows XP. Dink Smallwood will not run with Windows XP, but it will run if you adjust compatibility to another, earlier, Windows. But without this upgrade it would not run at all, so there is no doubt about it that this file is a very good one!
December 29th, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
The story of the pig farmer who wanted to be a hero...

It was not until I reviewed some files, that I discovered I never wrote a review of the game that started it all: the original Dink Smallwood.
Since it is so obvious that this game is good, I will not sound the praises of this game. The DN, and the fact that there are so many D-mods and other files, all stemming from just this one game, says it all.

Ever since I played my first RPG, I wanted to make an RPG of my own, but I never knew how. Although other games had editors – which I used intensely – they did not come near a real RPG. So when I discovered the development folder on the CD-ROM and found out I could make my own RPG, I was exhilarated. I immediately started working on one, without even knowing at that time there was a DN.

Ever since the first time I played Dink Smallwood, it has only brought me joy – and ever since I joined the DN I have learned a lot. And that is the best part about it: not only can you make your own games and files, but you can also learn a lot from it. The best of both worlds.

And all that because of a pig farmer who wanted to be a hero…
July 21st, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.5 exceptional
eye.gif
PHoBos
Peasant
 
The game that started it all...
This game is very nice... Why? because it has a real good engine; you can easily design a DMOD
thanks to the editor that's included.
what else can i say? i like the humor(a lot!)
the sound, the graphics...
puut all of this together, and you've got a great game!!!
June 24th, 2002
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 7.0 good
fish.gif
This is a very small upgrade, and as scratcher said it, it did not fix all known problems. I might be fixing some compatibility problems with different OS (WinNT, Win2000, WinXP...), but since I did not have Dink running on those systems, I do not know if it did fix the problem.

It seems to give me some troubles occasionally (mainly about sound), but I am not sure if they were caused by the upgrade or they were old problems. But overall, this is just an insignificant upgrade unless your OS has problems with Dink.
May 6th, 2002
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
This is the 1.07 version upgrade for Dink Smallwood. Besides having a higher number, there are many improvements in the bug field. Dink will now run on windows 200 and ME machines properly, and several other annoying bugs were fixed. The last thing done here was some small recompiling which made the engine tweaked slightly faster (newer version of direct x). Since this is a dink engine, and RTSoft barely releases anything, it gets a 9.9 WOOT!
April 22nd, 2002
1.07 Beta 3
Score : 9.3 exceptional
wizardb.gif
Phoenix
Peasant Male Norway steam
Back from the ashes 
This upgrade is really good if you had Windows 2000 or Windows XP. I had some trouble with DinkEdit in XP, but this took care of it.
January 28th, 2002
v1.06
Score : 9.9 exceptional
wizardb.gif
Phoenix
Peasant Male Norway steam
Back from the ashes 
This game is one of the best ever made. It is a bit out of date when it comes to graphics and sound, but there is just something about this game that makes you want to play it over and over. And when you've finally gotten tired of playing it, then you can get add-ons made by anyone to utilize the Dink Engine in whatever way they wanted and that leaves unlimited possibilities for unlimited playability.