The Dink Network

Knight's Tale (A)

Jarvis tells you who he is and what he's here to say. From the COTPATD project.
September 11th, 2002
1.00
Score : 8.2 good
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Jarvis the Knight has to free the land from peril.

Storyline: Quite good for a romp: Jarvis has to free the land from monsters and defeat the magician Grell. Since Dink Smallwood, the regular hero, is tied up somewhere else doing some heroic stuff, Jarvis is brought back to life to take his place. Although it is quite short (both the storyline and the D-mod; it is a romp) it is well worked out.

Map and Graphics: The only new graphics are the ones in the title screen and right at the beginning (which are not that good - but the author states that too in the read.me file). The buttons from SuperWolfman's Button Pack really fit in well. There are several graphics from Warcraft. The first time I saw Jarvis, I thought: "What a nice little bloke!" I am sure the author did not meant his hero to be called that, but I think he is. He is swift and agile, moves quickly, which is nice playing, and he is really fun looking at. He is smaller then the other moving sprites; he is even smaller then a pillbug! That gives you the feeling that you are really fighting big, bad, ugly monsters. The dragon is also from Warcraft, but he resembles the original Dink Dragon a lot. At first I even thought it was an adjusted dragon. Both the sprites of Jarvis and the dragon, as do the other ones from Warcraft, really fit in with the Dink world. Jarvis attacks a bit different then I am used to, but you get used to that real quick. Some graphics are used in a new way, like the fallen trees; very good. But the map is a bit empty.

Music: Outstanding music, but what else can you expect from Warcraft?

Good: The humour is good, and makes this D-mod come alive since the story is not that long to have any subquests. The author makes advertisements for his D-mod Cloud Castle, which is quite funny to see, and 'commercial' too! The Pond Lady is done nicely; and the songs are real funny.

Not so good: Some hardness errors with trees and houses, and I could not pick up the potion. The gameplay is real easy, perhaps too easy. I finished this D-mod really fast. Although I do not like very tough monsters, the monsters in this D-mod could have been a bit thougher.

Overall: A good D-mod, with loads of humour in it. It is indeed, as the author states 'a fun, silly romp'.

Fit for: I you want to play a humorous, easy D-mod.
August 6th, 2002
1.00
Score : 6.8 fair
peasantmp.gif
IceMan
Peasant Male
 
Wow! Great title! A Knights Tale! Let's download it I thought... Well, let's see now, new graphics taken from warcraft, and some shabby ones that the Trout himself made (Heh, figures). Now, I'm not a mean person, or at least I don't try to be, but I don't think this D-MOD is too brilliant. Now I know it's a romp, but the author says that "This maybe a romp, but it's a great romp" or something like that. This, however, is not true. This is not a great D-MOD in any way, and I have reasons for this. Yes this is a 'good' D-MOD, but great does certainly NOT fit the description. Here's the goods, and the bads, about this Trout's D-MOD - A Knights Tale.

Strengths
---------

New graphics, some here are very good, some here are good, and some here are crapper than crap. By saying that I'm talking about SabreTrout's graphics, sorry dude, my opinion! I have noticed that the scripting is pretty good, but not brilliant in any way as no new ground is broken in this D-MOD in the scripting catagory. There is a very good storyline to this D-MOD. Jarvis is the night that when really bad things happen, re-awakes from his frozen state and goes out to stop the evil. A typical storyline for lots of D-MODS, but the way this has been done is very good indeed! The way the warcraft 2 graphics have been taken and mixed with the Dink graphics has been done well, but is not always the best way to use Warcraft 2 graphics in a D-MOD. It may sometimes have bad effects and may not look right, but Sabre has done this very well. Now, the downside of this romp... the weaknesses...

Weaknesses
----------

Well, quite a few weaknesses here... A big one I found was the fact that these are not SabreTrouts graphics, they have been taken from another game made by a proffesional games design team. I know Sabre did give proper credit to Blizzard and RedInk1 etc. but I really think using other peoples graphics rather than using your own is kind of... cheating. I know it sounds wrong to say that but Sabre gets added credits for including very cool warcraft 2 graphics in his D-MOD. He gets credit and is allowed to use the graphics in his D-MOD because he wrote a little note in the readme.txt saying thanks. My opinion once again but still. I found quite a few hardness errors, ones like when you can go from quite an early stage, float across the water and end up at the final boss section of the D-MOD. Not exactly good, another example is near this part where you can escape into the trees and view all the screens without killing monsters by simply floating through the trees. I found that the little rock that Jarvis stands on at the very beginning of the game is very cheaply done and not worth credit. On a final note I would like to say that this D-MOD is simply far too easy to beat, meaning no fun whatsoever.

Overall
-------

A good D-MOD here, using Warcraft 2 graphics along with the original Dink graphics, some cheap graphics and bad music, some good parts and funny people, overall just an average D-MOD.

Total 6.8
Grade C (Only just passing)

End Comment "Go on, download this if you haven't read my review..."
May 3rd, 2009
1.00
Score : 7.9 good
custom_skull.gif
skull
Peasant Male Finland bloop
"I'd like to be a tree..." 
This D-Mod really catches you.

Story: You play as about half-sized of human sized knight named Jarvis. Jarvis has been waked up from his long sleep to defeat evil rock monster Grell, while Dink is on... doing something.

A very standard plot, but it's good for so small romp.

7.0.

Map: Map is nice as in every SabreTrout's D-Mod.
6.0.

Graphics: The troll is cool, Jarvis looks cool. The dragons are the only thing that I find looking odd. But that's ok, since there are only 2 of them in the whole game, and you don't have to fight them at all.
7.5.

Gameplay: There are some goodies and secrets. Pond Lady's signing secret was really cool. One thing, though, is that I don't see the point of creating a village. The wizard was needed, but he could have lived somewhere else, as there is nothing more to do in the village than talk to people and progress the story with the wizard.

Aswell, some beginner might like this game and truly WANTS to play it, but the boss might be a little bit too strong for beginners.
7.0.

Good: Good story for so small D-Mod. Standard map. Funny humour, and (some of) the graphics look great.

Bad: Maybe too hard boss fight for beginners. And the dragond look odd/strange, but that is only my opinion.

Overall: 7.9. A good romp made in so short time. Definitely you should play it.

Fit for: Anyone who looks for a little bit challenging humorous and VERY short adventures.
November 24th, 2004
1.00
Score : 8.7 good
wizardg.gif
Chaotic
Peasant Male
 
I like this Dmod, it inspired me to make my own hero. Before i played it i started Dmods and then got bored with them, they now rest in my Dink directory. I think its nice to have your own hero, you control his fate! Mwahahahahaha.

The good:

Some humour.
Jarvis's attitude
No hardness errors
No bugs (Or at least none that i found)

The bad:

Not many weapons (2)
No magic (0)
Grell was hard, i had to create pillbugs to kill while fighting him to recharge my Health.
The dragon's Gfx didn't have the end of it's wings

Overall: Good dmod, keep it up Saber!
July 27th, 2004
1.00
Score : 8.1 good
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
Great job Sabretrout!

Good: New graphics taken from Warcraft two that fit perfectly in the Dink world! You get a spiffy little, character named Jarvis who mouths off at everyone. Nice story set-up.

Bad: Short, but thats understandable for a romp. Also, I couldnt pick up the defense potion in the corner of town for some reason.

Overall: Great fun!

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller
April 12th, 2004
1.00
Score : 7.5 good
pig.gif
sjoerdje
Peasant Male Netherlands
Lava pig to the rescue! 
Let's get straight to the point:

Good: It's great fun to play a warcraft dude! Also, the lyrics from the songs are great. Also, if you attack villagers, their reaction is fun too!
Dragon and 2headed Ogre are cool too!!

Bad:
I got stuck at many places such as the border from water to land. That gave me the ability to walk on water(cool!) but I couldn't go back.
A funny bug is to try and push something, your little knight will transfer in the big and mighty Dink Smallwood!! Funny, but not on it's place..(Summoning!!)

Overall:
It's a funny game which you could rush and beat. Some less bugs would have made it a better game though. Gotte try part 2
March 28th, 2004
1.00
Score : 7.0 good
spike.gif
A knight's tale relies on humour and attitude, but doesn't have much else. It has a fun story and not too many bugs, but no depth or good graphics, sounds whatsoever. Midis were good except for the one (from the original Dink) that was playing on the island with the boss guy. It didn't fit with anything else in the dmod.
March 12th, 2004
1.00
Score : 8.8 good
slayer.gif
Isac92
Peasant Male
 
A knights tale 1 is the second dmod I beat and played. The different charatar was a good change and the dragons. The story very short and to the point. The pondlady was interesting and the different songs. Overall I give it a 8.8
March 10th, 2004
1.00
Score : 8.1 good
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
A Knight's Tale 1.00 by SabreTrout

The Good: Spiffy little character named Jarvis, who has an attitude.
Nice scenery and music (while it lasted), nice array of monsters, townspeople and all were helpful, had a chuckle at the singing.

The Bad: Not enough save bots, a few small hardness errors, but nothing of importance (and what do I do with all this money?) I hate the end boss, and Jarvis did alot of zipping around trying to kill it.

Overall: A nice dmod romp, good for a chuckle.

Note: Before submitting this, I noticed some reviewers made a reference to "Warcraft". Having never heard of the game, it made playing Jarvis all the more fun.
February 22nd, 2004
1.00
Score : 8.9 good
maiden.gif
Connie
Peasant Female
 
I enjoyed this game very much. The only thing I would have like to see was a way to get a magic fireball to help fight Gell, I think that is the monsters name. The graphics where nice. The gray bugs were not hard to kill. I acquired a lot of gold but nothing to spend it on. You can only get on a higher level by killing the monsters and bugs. The game had some humor like the death guy making up a song for our hero to sing and then later on in the game the knight sings "Billie Jean" where the Lakelady is.
Nice to finish one of this DMods in a day. Also I wish these DMod makers would tame down the music. It is too nerveracking, no quiet spots.This DMod could have used a little quieter tone.
August 8th, 2003
1.00
Score : 9.0 exceptional
goblinh.gif
Xanthos
Peasant Male
 
Jarvis the Knight has to free the land from peril.

Story and Plot: Jaris is awakened form an 100 year old slumber to help defeat a new evil because Dink is unavailable. For some strange reason though, Jarvis knows who Dink is. Jarvis must go and defeat Grell the wizard/stonegiant.

Graphics: New Warcraft sprites, buttons at start screen were from wolfman's gfx pack. New hero, Jarvis. Unfortuantly if you ever push into anything Jarvis turns into Dink. New dragon that fits in less then Jarvis does.

Music: Great music, fits in good, doesn't distract.

Good: Great Humor. Death's song is really funny.

Bad: A little to easy.

Overall: A outstanding romp that is fun to play through once.
June 27th, 2003
1.00
Score : 9.2 exceptional
farmer.gif
With all considerations, this romp is great. It had several minor bugs and a few graphical glitches, but I really enjoyed it, even though it took longer to download it than it did to beat it But that's okay, because it was still really cool. It featured mew graphics like a dragon and some kind of weird troll thing and the knight from warcraft 2, so that's a big plus, and as for the plot, it was short and sweet, got straight to the point with no big distractions. The thing that bugged me the most about this d-mod is the hardness errors i encountered several times where i would walk off into the water and not be able to get back out. Had this d-mod been made in any more than 3 days, my score would probably be considerably lower, but good job, sabretrout
April 11th, 2003
1.00
Score : 8.2 good
duckdie.gif
STORY : Very fun, with a lot of humor. You are Jarvis the knight and you must find and kill an evil mage.

MUSICS : Good.I first thought they were average, but I changed my opinion after playing Dry.

GRAPHICS : Some graphics from Warcraft 2 and one by SabreTrout.

DIFFICULTY : Easy.

GAMEPLAY : No magic. There are some minor bugs, like a defense potion you can't pick up.

OVERALL : 8,1. A short but fun DMOD.
February 24th, 2003
1.00
Score : 8.2 good
knights.gif
gustav
Peasant Male
 
In Knight's Tale, you play Jarvis The Knight, a footman from Warcraft 2

Story:
----------
Dink is busy, so Jarvis has to save the world.
Jarvis has been in suspended animation for several milenia. He comes back to life to do Dink's job.

Bugs:
-------
Didn't find any.

Good:
---------
Warcraft 2 character graphics.

Bad:
------
Far too easy.

Overall, I think this would be a good game for Warcraft and young Dink fans.
December 23rd, 2002
1.00
Score : 7.9 good
pig.gif
This is a Very short DMOD.But it's fun to play with a little freak instead of dink.I finished the game in about 15 mins. But it's very simple.Or maybe too simple. Go kill the bad-guy and save the day. That's about all that is to the Dmod. There are some new graphics.
About the graphics:
yes they are good.I can't say nothing about it. BUT.In my oppinion those graphic are not dink type. Original dink graphics have a hidden dot texture,wich makes them diffrent. The war craft graphics are very SMOOTH they don't have that specific dot texture and they fall out of the main wiev.
Music: some of the midi's were just great. but most of them were too fast and loud. music's part in a game is to make the audio background not for listening to it. ( I think the best music is in fiat)
So in conclusion: a short simple dmod.With nothing special. [exept those little freaks]

July 30th, 2002
1.00
Score : 8.5 good
pillbug.gif
NamH666
Peasant Male United States
 
It was very enjoyable dmod. It had some weaknesses though. Such as some hardness errors (were you can walk on top of trees) and that when you learn some new songs they replace old ones so that you cant try it for the Lake Lady, but you can always restart and try other song =. Strenths are that its was (at some parts) funny. Overall a great d-mod.
July 29th, 2002
1.00
Score : 8.4 good
sob_scorpb.gif
Another DMOD that has been produced in three days (The Creeping Sands being the other). This is a short romp where you play as Jarvis the Knight rather than Dink. No Dink in this one, the main character is a small dude that looks (sort of) like a knight. Another interesting character is a colorful enemy that looks like a cross between a small dragon and a butterfly...kind of cool though, and has the fighting attributes of a dragon.

The plot is simple yet plenty for a romp, the objective being seeking out evil and crushing it. The map is well decorated and easy to navigate. The music acceptable and not annoying.
The difficulty level is very well balanced, and leveling up is both needed and fairly easy.

Plenty of houses to explore, and folks to talk to, but most don't have much to reveal. The very best part of this dmod, and something that most dmod's lack is humor. Sabre sprinkled it through-out the romp, including some singing, and this reviewer appreciates it.

Being that Knight's Tale is a romp, it doesn't take long to get to the boss, and in this case the boss wasn't terribly difficult to kill, but neither was it a pushover.

Overall, I enjoyed this short but sweet game. Add in the fact that it was completed in 6-9 hours, and you realize that it packs a pretty good punch for it smallish size. Well Done...
July 29th, 2002
1.00
Score : 8.0 good
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
Well it's a nice little romp. New graphics (well, kinda). Best thing is the humour. And you'd have to have it with the little guy who's the main hero. Watching him waddle around is interesting.

New weapons: I didn't find any. The lady in the lake didn't appear to me. I think she's meant to give Excalibur

New Magic: I didn't find any magic

New Sounds: two? new midis which suited the piece, although not to my taste.

Mapping: good for one done in such a short time. A few hardness errors with trees and some in the houses (innkeeper) Couldn't pick up the defense potion. Mountains screen match was off a little

Bonuses: I think there's meant to be singing, but I didn't find that.

Bug free: hardness (minor), graphical glitches with end boss. Nothing that froze me though which is good.

Gameplay: Very easy, too easy for my tastes. I didn't die once.

Overall a very quick DMOD to play which doesn't get boring, has a good amount of humour, with very easy gameplay.

Overall 8 out of 10