The Dink Network

Friends Beyond 3: Legend of Tenjin

A flower loving bonca. Let's bash him over the head with a sword! This is HALF of the game. From the COTPATD project.
June 3rd, 2007
v2.00
Score : 9.6 exceptional
dinkdead.gif
The Legend of Smallwood…
This must be one of the best D-Mods I’ve played. The storyline, map, music, gameplay are all well laid out so all parts being good makes it a great game.

Right from the start you can tell it’s something different: the loading and title screens are excellently done and the music starts at exactly the right moment.

There is no Dink humour, but then it’s not that type of story - it doesn’t need humour. It has a more serious and true epic feel to it than most D-Mods so not being funny does not detract from it in any way, rather it adds to the atmosphere (or whatever the right word is ).

The storyline itself I think is very good, it can be hard to know what to do next sometimes, especially in the first map, but that I suppose is only because Dink is wandering around trying to find some way/where to live so there really is no purpose to what he is doing at first.

The map is huge but well laid out and nice looking. Because it is so big there is a lot of walking to do with not much point in exploring other than to level up, so it does get a little annoying at times (like going backwards and forwards in the first map). The second map is not so big but is full of underground caves which do get somewhat boring. Huge sprawling mazes with nothing to look at but slimes and boncas everywhere, although the slimes are good for levelling up as they are easy to beat and give lots of experience.

Talking of experience, I liked the levelling up system. It made it easier to balance out the stats and worked well.

Music is very well done, always fits the situation and most of it is new stuff (as far as I know).

My favourite parts: The endings probably. I didn’t see all of them (there are 3) but the 2 I did were excellent. Another favourite bit is just before the boss at ending no. 3 (the good one). It really adds a twist and is so well done, with the music and the slow-motion… I won’t say any more!

Bits I didn’t like: The caves (as I mentioned above).
Some things seemed strange in the story, for example I never found out about the Pandoras Sword - what was it? Why? How? Who?
Also as Dink became so strong and powerful neither he nor anyone else commented on this. You’d think that certain people not having seen him for three years would say something other than “Oh hi, nice to meet you again” or something similar
And where did his mother get the Masamune from? Etc etc…

Overall: Brilliant! One I will definitely replay at some point even though it’s so big!
August 2nd, 2004
v2.00
Score : 9.3 exceptional
goblinm.gif
Definitely not my type of Dmod, but it still managed to instill a pleasant emotional potpourri of enthrallment, frustration, and maniac rage.

Style: 8
I hate to give this rating, because I think the author achieves exactly the style he intends, it has a very "Square" flavor (having only played FFVII, I'm not quite sure about that classification). But the problem is, I really don't like this style, even if it is done fairly well here. I liked FFVII because it had a huge amount of stuff, and there was always more magic to learn. But if you took an isolated segment of it, it would probably be boring. I certainly wouldn't call LOT3 boring, but puts the above-mentioned style into a poor context. And the whole fruit mixing thing was... well I quote (loosely) from Dukies shooting gallery: "I have to find the magic pebbles... what did he call them again? Oh yeah, FRUITY PEBBLES."

Gameplay: 10
Truly awesome. With flaws, as mentioned above, but the fighting is carefully balanced. Hard (in the second map, especially when you first get there) but not impossible. This makes gaining levels intensely rewarding. The stat system owned, too. Some of the stuff you have to do to proceed is kind of... meh, especially the dungeon at the end of the first map, where you have to sneak past (what looks like) a solid wall, but once you get onto the second map, all of the quests are excellent (even if I couldn't figure 'em out)

Story: 10
A whole bunch of stories wrapped into one, very much in the "square" style. And they are all quite nice. The protagonist's story makes much more sense than other people have suggested: he gets exiled from his home town, and wanders the earth as events unfold around him. I hate Stephen Crane as much as the next guy, but the "realism" (read: lack of overriding plot) of the first map is refreshing.

Overall: 9.3
Y'know, I have to agree, just a little, with Scratcher: sometimes big isn't good. This game wouldn't be better if it were smaller, but the size somehow makes you want more from it.
June 12th, 2003
v2.00
Score : 8.0 good
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: This is part 3 of the Friends Beyond Trilogy. As with the other two parts, I found the lack of storyline irritating. You do things without even knowing why you should do it.

Map and graphics: There are two maps to this D-mod, which is quite amazing; not only make the maps this D-mod the largest ever in mapsize, but it is also the only D-mod that has two maps. The statusbar is new; it looks good, but somehow it distracts your attention from the game – perhaps because I am so used to the old statusbar. There are some other new graphics too, such as the gate and the magic, which look good. The introscreen is very good – in fact, it is the best one I have ever seen!

Music: The music is fair. It gets a bit boring after a while since the tunes sounds very common.

Good: The intro is done nicely; you see several snapshots of the previous D-mods as well some of this one. Although there is not very much humour in this game, the race was quite funny, especially the fact that Dink could not walk very fast while carrying the rock. There are three endings to this game, depending on how many points you have earned and you will get the points by doing miniquests. There is a new level up system: you can not choose which one you want to increase, but you get a random amount of points.

Not so good: As the former two parts, there is not much excitement going on when playing this game. Perhaps it is because you do not know what to do, or perhaps it is the huge map which makes you walk a lot without seeing anything interesting. Although this D-mod features two maps, I think the game would have been better of with just one map. The map looks all right, but it is way too huge to keep it interesting since not that much is happening. You have to walk from one place to another one and all you can do at those spots is very little – and after having done that, you wonder why there was any need for doing it. The caves are way too big too – it seems the author’s main focus was to have two maps instead of a thrilling adventure on one small map.

Overall: Very big D-mod in map size, adventure wise it is a bit disappointing.

Fit for: If you have played the other two parts, you should play this one too. This is the best part of the Trilogy.
January 27th, 2003
v2.00
Score : 9.6 exceptional
duckdie.gif
This is the biggest D-Mod ever, and every true dinker should really download it. Legend of Tenjin has 2 map files (1536 screens!) and it takes lot of time to get through. This is D-Mod that everyone should play. Only there is barely any Dink humor. (!!!) The game gets really frustating towards the end, and it's harder. It took quite small time to get through map1, (I didn't use walkthrough!) and the Boss was ridiculous. No bugs or hardness errors so far. Keep up good work!
*****
Plot:
*****
Hero Dink Smallwood defeated Tenjin, but only it's psychical presence. Now Tenjin has found replacement, and Dink's grandson must stop her. There is lot of other too. Plot is great in this dmod. *Average: 9.8*
*********
Graphics:
*********
There is lot of new graphics, but the best is new interface. Textures look little different. Graphically more advanced than original Dink. *Average: 9.4*
*******
Sounds:
*******
Midis were taken mostly of FB1 and FB2, some new midis, and some taken from Chrono Trigger. Midis usually fit the scene, and it gave just the right mood. Grimm Cave has midi from FIAT's Odvi. That is great midi. I usually don't recognize new sounds, so they don't usually matter for me. *Average: 9.7*
*********
Gameplay:
*********
Map1: Map1 was big, but some screens were quite empty and some screens looked same. There was lots of walking like back and forth Gem with tied in a job. Story was good in map1, though. "Meanwhile" should be unlocked always, as it tells story quite much. Race was great addition to map1.
Map2: It was quite boring after map1, but still somehow, it kept you playing. Caves were nice, and quests weren't all pointless. Some of the quests were hard to beat. The way you get to Sid and beat him is boring. No plot and story. *Average: 9.1*
******
Other:
******
Fruit-mixing game is great, but not an necessary add to game, becouse the odds to mix the greatest potion are low. Quest finding 30 coins is tough. (Haven't found all even myself!) Best ending takes time to get, and the worst ending is funny!
*********************
Final Decision... 9.6
*********************
May 5th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 8.5 good
fairy.gif
Arik
Peasant Male
 
I feel my original review was barely a review at all, so here's a more in-depth look at the game.

Legend of Tenjin is nominally a sequel to the friends beyond games, however at time the game felt like it was attempting to shy away from it's heritage. Presumably the author wanted to distance himself from his earlier work as much as possible. You will hear about Tenjin during the game, but she really isn't the focus, even if her image briefly appears in the end.

A lot of detail has been invested in the D-Mod, including dream sequences and "meanwhile" scenes, however I can't help but feel that these should have been as standard, rather than as unlockable obscurities. The maps, like in the previous games, are probably a little too big, but this never really becomes as annoying as in the other two games - exploring is a pleasure in Legend of Tenjin. The music and scenery establish a comfortable and absorbing atmosphere throughout.

The first half of the game is a comfortable, linear progression - you meander from town to town, exploring and performing quests. It helps a lot for story progession if the meanwhile sequences are switched on, I feel, as they help to create a background tension for the game, and prevent the main villain from being a complete surprise at the end of part one. Because, at that point, the game goes all Final Fantasy 6 (if you've played it, you'll know what I mean). The second half involves exploring much smaller areas, and is all the better for it – it is much more compact and refined.

Perhaps my biggest problem with Legend of Tenjin is the cave areas, which are huge and sprawling. Secret areas are there to be found, but punching your way through room after room of slimes can be monotonous. The "bosses" are frequent and would be dull if it wasn't for the always excellent music.

Fun rarely comes into the game - FB3 feels epic and absorbing. But once Dink has Holy magic, the Masamune and permanent speed the final areas are an absolute blast, extremely enjoyable, as Dink races through the area carving up enemies in frantic combat.

Overall, Legend of Tenjin falls short of the magic 9 score in my book - it fails to pull on my strings like Quest for Cheese, Arithia 3 or the game that LOT wants to emulate, FF6. There is one moment, right at the end, which does shock... but I won't spoil it. Legend of Tenjin is a competent and enjoyable old-school, full of secrets, spells and dialogue, that everyone can enjoy.
February 19th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 9.3 exceptional
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
First off, I have to say that I think this is the MOST fun and proffesional Dmod ever made (until LOTE comes out, that is heheh).

I think FIAT and Stone of Balance are better Dmods, but I had more fun playing LOT. It just has that special RPG-feeling. That's because of the excelent sound tracks and good mapdesign. Okay there aren't a lot of details, but I think it looks nice enough as it is, and the way the maps are designed are PERFECT. I even like the conversations. Most people are after the Dink-humour, or after long conversations. I like the 'people talk and Dink listen' conversations. Games like Final Fantasy and Secret of Mana have that kind of conversations too. Speaking about Secret of Mana, LOT reminds a lot of this great RPG. Maybe that's why I like it so much...

Also the fruit-mixing mini game is great! You can mix different kinds of fruits to make potions, and you can even practice with the included mini-mod. It really gives a nice touch.

Look at the size of this review, it's quite long, I even like to write a review or this game, it's that good!

GRAPHICS 9.0: Very good mapdesign, although not many details. New interface looks great, better than the original one. Other new graphics also very nifty.

SOUND 9.6: Absolutely PERFECT midis, reminds me of all that nice 16 BIT Snes RPG's. Sound effects are also pretty good.

GAMEPLAY 9.2: I'll devide the gameplay in two parts, map 1 and map 2.

MAP 1: I give a 9.6 for the first map, it's really well made, and the story is very good. Also the mystery about the pyramid and Sid; perfect! I like the race by the way.

MAP 2: I give a 9.0 for the second map. It's a bit of a dissapointment after playing through the first map, but it's still nice enough, and I like the caves.

ENDING: I don't like the way how the game is beaten. I don't mean the actual ending(s) but the way you get to Sid and beat him. No plot, no story, quite frankly, it sucks. This was the only downside of the game. Too bad. Or else I'd give it a 9.4.

LASTING APPEAL 9.3: It is absolutely BIG (two maps = 1536 screens = biggest Dmod ever!), and it has multiple endings. Really worth the time you play this game. EXCELENT!!
TOTAL: 9.3
February 25th, 2006
v2.00
Score : 8.0 good
slayer.gif
Vukodlak
Peasant Male Finland
This is all you're getting me to say. 
A pretty good D-Mod, though it can be VERY confusing sometimes- if not always.

Graphics. The screen dialog is new and very changed. Then there's items. Many new item/magic pictures. I can't imagine any other graphics.

MIDI(music). Wesley- why not become a composer? The music was REALLY good! So good I entered the Mount just to hear the music. Well, there's a plenty of more good music, such as in the title, but I'm too lazy to explain them all.

Story. Zzzz ... confusing. And, naturally, that makes it a little boring.

Gameplay. A new level-up system. I didn't understand it immidiately, but later on, I did. I 'd rate the difficulty 'hard', mainly because the opponents have many hitpoints and you have to struggle. Maybe.

Humour. Absent... but it rages on towards the end.

Map. Not recommended for people who just have to explore every place. The map is Huge with a big H. Just don't get lost. The word 'lost' reminds me of the large, labyrinth-like caves with numerous slimes. I would say that they were too big- at least half of the whole D-Mod must be underground.

Sounds. Such as with some of the boncas, the sounds are new. To say the least.

Overal. A confusing --> ?_? D-Mod.

Total score. I'm bad at rating, so I gave it 8.
December 16th, 2004
v2.00
Score : 9.7 exceptional
pillbug.gif
The best D-mod I ever played! Btw that's just why i decided to write my first review

Story- 10/10 The best story I ever saw in a d-mod, very long, with three diferent endings and two diferent maps.

Graphics- 10/10 Also, very well done, many new fraphics fit perfectly, I only didn't like the sword graphics.

Sound- N/A Well for some strange reason, when I play d-mods I can't hear any music, only normal sounds so I can't say anything about this.

Gameplay- 8/10 A very long story, probably the longest d-mod I played. Well anyway it's almost perfect but a little too hard, like I spent hours of trying to find some things in the game like the the knight from kingdom smile in the forest.

Bugs- 6/10 The worst part of the game. In many places, like in caves you can walk on the walls or sometimes you can just walk up a cliff, I even found a place where I can walk on water! Also at first I couldn't get the matsamune sword because I went to the place where i found dinks mum again and she was there once more, so I lost my healing magic and i could no longer talk to Dinks mother!

Specials- 10/10 Just perfect! The fruit mixing was an interesting thing but not really nececery, but I really enjoyed the new magic in this d-mod. (Meteor ownz!)

Overall- 9/7 As I said, the best d-mod ever! TWO huge and nicely decorated maps, many new magic, a very long and interesting storyline with THREE diferent endings! So if you don't mind the bugs and the dificulty it's the best d-mod ever (I just can't stop saying that
September 18th, 2004
v2.00
Score : 9.7 exceptional
death.gif
wolf321
Peasant Male
 
It's a very good D-MOD and very big (two map files!).
In "first world" (map) we can play very much and long.
In "second world" (map) we can't "tour" map too much. We have only 30 teleports at start, becaouse must save the people... We get points for each "job" are we complete. We can also kill "boss" at start second world, but we don't win!! We must get all points and kill "boss" to win.

There are funny fruit mixing and funny inventory (graphic). There are funny music too!
If you don't know what to play - DOWNLOAD THIS MAP!
January 14th, 2004
v2.00
Score : 8.5 good
duckdie.gif
Vice
Peasant
 
The story is one tipical Dink's Adventure, someone idiot goal and in the end Dink will save the world one more time.
In this dmod we can say dink change his personality, he use to be a 'good guy', he is gentile and nice with all. He is no longer that mad that we are accustumed to see in the other dmods. Thats make the game not that funny, but a good choice if you are wanting a tipical rpg.
The gameplay is well done, much worked in, the battles are not that easy and not that hard, its makes the player wants kill more and more monsters.
The maps well made, no ground fails like we can see in other dmods, the dmod have some new graphics, well made too. This dmod could be a good choice if you are looking for a dmod without much issues and cool battles.
June 1st, 2003
v2.00
Score : 9.8 exceptional
wizard.gif
Bonkite
Peasant Female
 
My absolute favorite of the dmods. Though, to be frank, I haven't played very many of them, yet. I'm not even that much of a gamer. But I was entertained by this game. I enjoyed the writing and the 'plot' way more than I expected to. And I must admit to forming attachments to mere computer sprites!

The story and characters are a bit lacking in humor, but you could tell this wasn't the creator's focus. If it were anything but a Dink Dmod, I'm sure it could stand strongly on it's own.

Good graphics. Good story. Good game. I marvel at how wes organized and planned it all in his head. The maps and mazes are great. My attention got a little muddled with all the side-quests. Not being a gamer, I have no idea if all the errands are the norm with games? Get this shard, find this box, blahblah blah. It was worth it in the end, though.

Three alternate endings! Nice. The "worst" ending, imo is the most humorous. See, Wes can be funny when he wants to.

And what the heck happened to Jenai and Geno???? (Sorry, my irrational attachments are sprouting up again.)
December 17th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 9.5 exceptional
goblins.gif
Mach
Peasant
 
What can I say, a great Dmod! This is a short review but basically the story line at the beginning kinda reminded me of Secret of Mana. Once this game got off though I really enjoyed it. I loved some of the ideas such as fruit mixing and your swords and magics. I feel that there were a couple bugs here and there seeing that at times I could sell like 4 short swords when I only bought 1 and then the game would crash. Just remember if you play this mod, dont try to cheat it out and sell more of one item that you do not have in the first place. Other than that this is a awesome D-mod and I would insist everyone to play it.
October 12th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 9.5 exceptional
farmer.gif
This DMOD would be #4 in my "top 5 favorite DMODS" list. I played through it happy or sad (it can get dramatic) face, but always enjoyed playing it. For one thing, there's the new interface the other reviews are talking about. It's very good, as are the icons. I liked the leveling-up system. When you gain certain status, like 3 magic and 1 defense, you can learn fireball. The graphics on Sid were excellent, but the game's more than just pretty NPC's and doo-dads. The plot is an extremely strong point in this DMOD. Wesley did very well on storyline, and I can't wait to see her next DMOD. A lot of the midis were from Chrono Trigger, but I can live with it if they really set the mood. With two maps, Wesley showed Dinkers that they could make their map as big as they want. I found this was a great inspiration for new authors. I enjoyed this DMOD, and you will too.
June 26th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 7.8 good
sob_scorpbr.gif
Well, a very interesting DMOD - a lot of innovation, but generally boring in its very large map work and in the scripting and interaction. Now to break it down.

Graphics: New stuff here, from the screen to doors etc. Pretty much well done over all. 9 out of 10. Having some cool new nifty enemies would have given it 10 out of 10.

Sounds: Not much new (at least memorable in a good way) sounds. I didn't like the midis at all. Heard them before in other games... so boring.
8 out of 10.

Mapping: The biggest map made. It's 2 maps! But its that old, here is new world, then here is world after descruction. Deatil in the mapping is minimal, with a few hardness errors. I was hoping for a lot more given some of the reviews.
7 out of 10.

Gameplay: Well it's pretty solid, but it lacks one important Dink element - humour! Conversation with the characters is minimal and Dink doesn't sound like Dink. Does have multiple endings with one of them actually the funniest thing in the whole DMOD so score: 7 out of 10.

Specials: New inventory, new leveling up, fruit mixing. The ideas behind this stuff is great, but not finding out how to mix fruits easily is extremely frustrating. Score 8 out 10.

Overal - a big DMOD, fun at times, boring at others.

Total 7.8
March 11th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 9.3 exceptional
duckdie.gif
Matthew
Peasant
 
This is a fabulous DMOD, which is well worth the considerable time that it takes to play it. The plot is interesting with a few exceptions (although a bit cliched), the music is the best ever in a DMOD, and the screen has been revamped. There is a modestly new leveling system that introduces randomness, you learn spells from levels up, and the secrets are hard to find. Battles are fairly hard but not unreasonable throughout the game, the quests are challenging but not impossible, and the debugging is among the best in any DMOD. There are three endings (I only had the patience to get the easiest one, which is quite humorous) and a plot that is nonlinear (on the second map) with complex interconnections between different places. This DMOD makes you think, this DMOD makes you fight, and this DMOD revolutionizes the game system.
There are a few problem areas, of course. The plot line is confusing on the second map (what the heck is up with the random machines missing parts, the crystal missing a part, and the guy with a magic box?). There are some bugs, one of which froze the game and another of which costed me 90 minutes because I missed part of the plot. There are too many blank screens, which discouraged exploration, especially on the first map. Still, this one is worth your time.
February 15th, 2002
v2.00
Score : 9.9 exceptional
ecko419
 
It's quite simple. This is the best d-mod ever made. The freinds beyond series really influenced me the most ot start working on my own d-mod. There are so many new improvements and changes from the original dink. First of all is the fact that it has two maps. This is an easy idea to double the length of the mod. To get all of the endings, it takes a LONG time. It gets very difficult too. Then there is the well developed, complex plot. There are many twists and complications. The new graphics in this mod are outstanding. I highly recommend this d-mod to anybody who likes dink!
December 11th, 2001
v2.00
Score : 8.7 good
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
This is the biggest DMOD to date. 2 maps which in itself is quite an achievment. There is also new graphics which are well done. New sounds. New weapons. New magic. And a new levelling up system. It's downside is the repetition factor. Most maps squares seem very similar. Most of the dialogue is very sparse. And if you're after the humour of the original, there is not that much of it here. That aside, if you are looking for a good long DMOD then give this one a go. After all it has 3 endings depending upon what you do in the DMOD. I loved the first the most (because it was funny!).