The Dink Network

Bloop the Fish

Shark Guy
January 7th, 2010
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
custom_iplaydink.gif
iplaydink
Peasant Male Sweden steam
Hmm.. 
Bloop the Fish is an early dmod, as Paul noted probably the first 'Alternative Hero'-dmod.
I really like this dmod, it had it's own style and was unique of it's kind when it was released.
And this is why:

Story:
The story isn't the dmods strong point. A shark is threatening the ocean and bloop the Fish is supposed to kill it. There is no intro, so the player is introduced to this story when talking with another fish. Obviously the dmod would be a lot better with a better story and a intro. There isn't a real ending either... and it would be fun to have more fishes to talk to.

Graphics:
Almost all graphics in this dmod are new. They are simple paint drawings, but what they lack in quality they earn in something else... charm? You know what they say: "Less is more". Finally I understand that expression. The graphics create an atmosphere.

Music:
There is no music!
A short catchy midi really would improve this dmod. Maybe 'Under The Sea'?

Gameplay:
I really enjoyed playing this little dmod, as I said before, even though the gameplay is quite repetitive... It's screens filled with spiky under-watery things, which you kill with your deadly bubble blowing.

Overall:
This dmod is quite underestimated, it's fun and a big step in dmod history. It could easily be updated and get much better, but it's still a dmod every Dinker should play.

I'll give it a well-deserved 6.0 points.

April 6th, 2006
v1.00
Score : 1.8 horrible
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
This D-mod has a new premise and fun animation...if you have an extremely warped sense of humor! Of note and example is the art.

Bad:
-Terrible MSpaint art done by what I hope was a small child.
-Hardness errors of tsunami proportions!
-Very short...like the artists attention span!
-No real story.
-No music...they could have at least included the "Jaws" theme for fun.

Good:
-Fun to be a fish and shoot bubbles.
-Good theme even if the art was bad and no music was included.

Play it to parody or dont play it at all. Let it wash out with the tide as you dump this file in the ocean with all the rest of humanitys garbage.

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller
March 17th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 3.4 tolerable
peasantmg.gif
This Dmod just cracked me up! It was a classic, granted it had a horrible story, graphics and boss but it was so… so… COOL! Well not really, but it was so funny when I first played it, so pointless!

Story: You control a fish and kill big brown things while shooting bubbles, while It could be good with its concept It just wasn’t. But it was still an. Interesting Dmod

Gameplay: I Think my story review covers it.

Graphics: All new graphics! I mean they were poor but at least they were new. They suited the situation and were fun.

Music: I didn’t hear any, but mainly because I was listening to my own selection. From my memory of the time I last played it I remember there being no music, quiet sad really.

Final Thoughts: I had fun with this, granted it was corny but it was fun, and that’s all that counts. Granted it was a royal waste of time, but hey!

Good: Its fun, funny, short and corny. What more do you need?
Bad: Graphics, monsters and the way the concept was portrayed
December 23rd, 2004
v1.00
Score : 3.0 tolerable
spike.gif
scratcher
Bard Male Finland bloop
cigarette bonca 
This is a ROFL dmod. It's so bad that it's funny. Usually bad dmods could be better with a little adjustment... Bloop the Fish would need a total remake.
August 24th, 2003
v1.00
Score : 5.0 fair
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
Here is one weird DMOD – well, it’s not a DMOD. You are a fish swimming in the sea and you can eat worms, dodge spikey sea creatures and eventually meet a shark.

Graphics: New and very basic

Sounds: Not new, just borrowed and a fish making human sounds just didn’t work for me, nor the shark sounding like a dragon

Map: This is arcade style – boring to look at

Game play: Uninteresting

5 out of 10 – Download for curiosity’s sake, nothing more
December 28th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
wizardg.gif
Paul
Peasant Male United States
 
Okay, it's kind of dumb. It's a little buggy. It as invisible walls. It's a little large for how short it is.

But it's different. In fact it's the first ever "Alerative Hero" d-mod unless I'm mistaken. Certainly the first to use new graphics for the hero. Something that's never been done before, just for that I give it a 5. And it is a finishable d-mod (though the congratulations message is broken), which must be worth something, say 1.5? So I give it a 6.5 total.
September 26th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 0.1 horrible
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
I'm not sure how old insantile is, but this d-mod looks to be created by a 10 year old with ghetto MS-Paint skills. The fishs and sharks are poorly drawn, well, pretty much all the graphics are poorly drawn. But anyway, this d-mods is simple, move the little fish around the map (which has no borders and you are expected to know where to go), and defeat three really hard sharks. Basically this game sucks, the graphics is enough to kill you, not to mention the crappy, and rather hard gameplay, and to top if (if it wasn't bad enough), it is full of bugs. If you puch on a wall, the fish will turn into dink pushing, yay! If you are looking for a good 5 minuets of hell, download and play this.
August 18th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 2.5 horrible
dragon.gif
Violay
Peasant
 
Ok, this d-mod, is definitely not one of the greatest d-mods i've ever played. Infact, it's one of the worst. It has new graphics in it, which were terrible. They looked like a five year old had drawn them(no offence)

GRAPHICS: I will give a 2.00, for effort. They were actually kinda cute, but that's all. Also, i've never seen Dink turned into a fish before. I't's quite a novel idea. Actually, now that I think of it, the graphics for the attack, that was ok too.

SOUND: I will say this, there was NONE! Not a sound apart from when the weapon hit something.

PLOT: The plot of the game is basically to kill the shark. Sound quite easey, but I found that when you get to the end, and kill the shark, the screen doesn't unlocck.

TOTAL: I would not recommend downloading this game unless you were going to commit suicide straight after. Take it from me, this game was rubbish. Barely had a plot, rubbish, but cute graphics, and absolutely, NO SOUND!
July 11th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 1.8 horrible
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Bloop has to kill the Shark.

Storyline: There is none. This is a shoot 'm up game without an end.

Map and graphics: Although the designs are real simple, they've got all it need.

Good: It's fun playing for a couple of minutes something else than a Dink D-mod.

Not so good: I got a saved game with it and when I loaded that one I was several levels up. After killing some enemies, you don't get any more points for killing them, so you can't level up.

Overall: After all the real Dink designs, I thought it refreshing looking at a sea!

Fit for: If you want to have a few minutes of fun shooting at sea-stars with bubbles.
July 4th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 4.9 tolerable
goblins.gif
This Dmod is about some fish swimming around with no plot.

Goods: This Dmod had cute, but bad graphics.

Bads: The graphics looked like they were drawn by a seven-year-old. I didn't find out how to shoot a 'deadly' bubble at the sharks or the spikes.

Conclusion: *DO NOT DOWNLOAD* This Dmod proved confusing to me, and everyone elsewho saw me play it. I reccomend this Dmod to parents who need a punishment for their kids.
June 9th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 1.5 horrible
milder.gif
Vilius
Peasant
 
Well, you start as a nice big fish. You hunt worms, and for it you can buy deadly weapons. You can even kill sharks! Looks like a perfect game? But it is not! Lets try to give points to it:

Graphics:
well, everything is new, exept save machine and some monsters. but all graphics doesnt look "well". They are horrible

Plot:
Kill the shark, i guess... (but acctualy, it isnt shark(!)- its a dragon) (2.0)

Sounds:
What sounds? Oh, that shark <casts harm>....
(0.5)

Overall:
Well, i gave a little bit more points then I should. Because im generous, I will give 1.5, and there are some work puted in this "DMOD"
April 7th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 0.1 horrible
dinkdead.gif
I just have one thing to say... WHAT THE HELL WAS INSANTILE THINKING? I stopped playing this right after I saw the first three screens, and I still found it AWFUL! For one thing, The graphics look like they were drawn by a two year old (no offense Insantile, as you obviously used microsoft draw, which is a challenge in itself) and it already had some incredibly obvious bugs right from the word go. For one, I found it impossible to move after a while, as Bloop the (Incredibly badly drawn) fish kept stopping when there wasn't an obstacle in his way. Another was when you made him push against an obstacle, he turned into Dink and back to Bloop when you stopped. This doesn't deserve to have anything else written about it as I don't think this game even deserves my time. I'm being generous when I give this a 0.1
February 18th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 2.5 horrible
fish.gif
Since my nickname has fish in it, I had to download this dmod and try it out despite the horrible reviews people gave.

Well, it's different, but it's bad. Almost all graphics and tiles are different from Dink. You play a fish who can learn how to shoot a deadly bubble which can kill sharks and spikes. It's apparently that all new graphics were drawed bare-handed by the simple (and bad) MSpaint. There also a few bad scripting bugs, bad map hardness, and map glitches. Screenlock won't disappear after you kill a shark. I don't know if there is an ending or not.

Overall, if you like to see what you can do with the dink engine but not the advanced Dinkanoid and have a lot of free time, you could try this one out. But I'm not going to say anything else but give this one a 2.5...
January 28th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 3.9 tolerable
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
This game sucks. Is that okay to say that here? It's just the truth, like scratcher said, don't waste your memory for this junk. Well okay maybe for a good laugh (did I hear someone say Secret of Amehoela
GRAPHICS 5.5: Why a 5.5? you ask. Graphics were just plain bad. Yeah, but everything was new (Dink turned into a fish) and I thought it was pretty funny. I mean, 'Bloop the Fish'... That's funny! Well maybe not, but I give him a bonus because I know it isn't meant to be serious.
SOUND 2.0: Was there any? I don't think so.
GAMEPLAY 3.5: Pretty bad, nothing but fighting sharks. Boooooring! <yawn>
LASTING APPEAL 2.0: I quitted when I couldn't beat it.
TOTAL: 3.9