The Dink Network

Search for the Green Mushroom (The)

June 13th, 2003
1.0
Score : 7.0 good
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
Search for the Green Mushroom
Let's take a look at the other reviews first. Glenn doesn't get very high ratings... but why? Because nobody likes him? No. Because this is a very average dmod. And people hold dmods like PQ and PotA as standard lately. This really isn't a bad dmod, and you should hold in mind that this is Glenn's very first dmod. C'mon Kat, worst dmod of the year? give the guy a break. Everyone probably reads the score first and then the review, so I'll say that this dmod might not be worth an actual 7, but lately it seems that if a newby releases an average dmod it gets screwed in the butt right away. So I give the dmod a 6, +0,5 because it's his first dmod, and +0,5 as a little encouragement.

Now, for the actual review

The story is simple though kinda funny. Dink has to find some green mushroom (Dink on drugs?) that will make him irrestible to girls again. In the end it appears to be a joke.

Good stuff: It's dang simple. Yes, that's a plus, because I've seen dmods that try to be more than they are, and fail to be so. This dmod is just how it's meant to be. Despite some bugs maybe. And the dmod has humour. I like humour. Humour is good.

Bad stuff: Most of all, the hardness bugs. The game has poor spelling and grammar, but I can't blame him. He lives in Norway, and is a mere 13 years old. It is kinda anoying though, and if Glenn had contacted a tester, he/she might be able to correct the spelling.

GRAPHICS 7: Nothing really new here, but no real screw ups either.
SOUND N/A: My soundcard has died. So I can't tell.
GAMEPLAY 6.5: Not the most playable game around, but it's not nearly bad for a dude's first dmod
LASTING APPEAL 5: Not really big or replayable. But then again, it doesn't try to be

OVERAL: 7
Download it if you feel like a quicky. A quick dmod I mean, fool!
June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 4.0 tolerable
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: A friend of Dink’s tells him to go search for a certain mushroom since it is supposed to attract girls. Since Dink has nothing better to do, he accepts this miniquest – and only finds out at the end what the real reason was his friend wanted him to search for it.

Map and graphics: The map is small, but suits the length of the adventure. The map has enough details, but is not very interesting.

Music: There is no music to this D-mod.

Good: The pond is done nicely, as are the grey trees near the house since they give the house a certain 'dark' look.

Not so good: One of the trees has got the hammer script too, so when you walk over it, the tree disappears, which looks funny, but I guess it was not intended that way. All sprites are stamped without screen match. The houses do not have any hardness.

Remark: I will not hold it against the author, but the lack of comma’s, capitals and decent sentences was quite evident in this D-mod – and Dink searches for a 'mushrom' instead of a mushroom.

Overall: A 3-minute walk-through-D-mod: very easy and not very satisfying since you only have to talk to a couple of people, and find a hammer.

Fit for: If you want to play a short and easy D-mod.
August 4th, 2003
1.0
Score : 6.5 fair
goblinh.gif
xanthos
Peasant Male
 
Plot and Storyline: Dink goes on a quest to attract girls by eating a mushroom. Good story for a game such as Dink, and reflects Dink's character as well.

Graphics: The hammer on the ground is modded from the original dink. Very good map despite all it's errors. Interesting outside. The inside of the dungeon is not as detailed.

Music and Sound: Just a few regular dink sounds.

Good: Good Humor. It's really short, so that is good if you want a short D-Mod. It is also not overly drawn out.

Bad: No Screenmatch, a lot of hardness bugs. Well bugs isn't the right word because really there is no hardness on some of the buildings.

Overall: Very short D-Mod that is a great first effort. Play it if you want to have some fun with Dink, but for only a few minutes. For a first time D-Mod and taking the author's age and linguistal capabities I think it is a great first attempt.

To the Author: Please at least have one peron beta test you D-Mod next time.
June 17th, 2003
1.0
Score : 6.0 fair
knightgl.gif
Ok, here it goes. I downloaded this DMOD and had a good time. Really.

Good: Simple (I like simple DMOD`s) It was Glenn`s first DMOD, and finally, a nice pond.

Not good: Hardness bugs, BAD grammar and a huge amount of other bugs.

Overall: I give this DMOD a 6 bechause it`s Glenn`s first DMOD and I too kinda screwed up the grammar the first time. A little practising and beta testing will do the trick. I have my friend to test my games. Keep up the good work!
June 14th, 2003
1.0
Score : 2.5 horrible
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
I think this mod could have some potential, but in it's current state, it is practically worthless.

Pros: The d-mod has a simple plot which with alittle effort it could be greatly expanded on. The gameplay is very easy and makes for a relaxing mod, that is if there was something to acctually do in this mod. Lastly, it did have some humor, even though it wasn't good, it was a decent attempt.

Cons: Hardness errors, no weapons/magic (acctually, in this mod the inventory is useless), no music, no real gameplay. I hate to say this, but it is hardly a game, if you take the few NPC's away, it is just a map.

Overall: This mod has great potential to be build on and I believe it can be done, but right now it is poorly built. Don't give up Glen.
June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 4.9 tolerable
duck.gif
bdjnk
Peasant Male
 
Lets break it down.

Story: Dink sets out on a quest for a green mushroom which attracts girls but, as said above, it end up being a fake. The whole plot is incredibly pointless but it interested me because I wanted to know how the person who made the strange map design and dialog would end the story.

Graphics: No new graphics but the map design was so fascinatingly different that I was powered through the game by desire to see the rest of the map, even though it was very small. Quite a few hardness mistakes littered the map but oddly, it didn't bother me at all.

Sound: No music whatsoever.

Dialog: horrible spelling, awful grammar, and most of the dialog was obviously in the game only to give reasons for the senseless quest, but strangely enough, all this seemed very amusing when I played.

Good: Fascinating map layout, and if you share my sense of humor, funny dialog.

bad: The music wasn't bad because it was nonexistent, the story was pitiful, and the game took me less then 10 minutes.

Conclusion: Don't bother unless you want to see what I mean about the landscape and atrocious dialog, or you are really really bored.
June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 5.5 fair
pq_rabbit.gif
Bunny
Peasant Female
 
This is my first review!

This d-mod was short. Real short. It took me less than ten minutes to finish it.

Good: There were few if any map errors that I noticed. The baddies were a little tough for a guy with zero defence points, which made for pretty okay gameplay.

Bad:There were no midis at all that I could tell, but I don't know, sometimes my computer messes up sound. Uh, grammar and spelling errors, but who cares about grammar and spelling, you know? Just, you know, very short with hardly any plot. Still, I thought it was a major improvement over Glenn's 1st dmod, which froze my computer every time I tried to play it.

So, there ya go! My first review!
June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 3.0 tolerable
duckdie.gif
Story : Indeed, there is a story. You must find a green mushroom which is supposed to be magical, but it's just a joke. As in glenn's first dmod, there are a lot of grammatical and vocabulary errors and there is almost no punctuation. There is some humor... as in most of the dmods, in fact. You must talk to two men.

Music : No music. Too bad.

Graphics : No new graphics.

Difficulty : Easy, I think.

Gameplay : No magic, no weapons, one item you must pick up but it doesn't appear in your inventory. There is one maze, where you have to avoid (or kill) some pillbugs. There is no end boss. By the way, contary to what says the readme, I finished this dmod in five minutes.

Bugs : A few hardness errors.

Overall : 3,0. Too bad there is no music in this game, I would have put it a higher score.

June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 5.0 fair
knight.gif
Vortex
Peasant Male United States
It rubs the lotion on its skin... 
Dink is sent by a guy to go find a mushroom and it turns out it was all a joke.

It did a have a story involved, though it was short. Very few hardness errors. Though Glenn may want to check the script for the save machine. No new graphics, but it did have a side quest, with some humor. Not much fighting involved, though I just dodged around what was there. Due to its shortness and lack of story line I can't give it a high rating but it is definately something someone who is begining would want to check out.
June 12th, 2003
1.0
Score : 2.0 horrible
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Dink must find a green mushroom that will make him *irrestible* to girls.

The Good: Quick to download, quick to finish. Nice pond.

The Bad: Bugs galore...walking into walls, hammer goes missing soon as you step on it, but the guy in the other house thanks you for it. No music (or could be my speakers) no new enemies...just the pillbugs. Bad, bad spelling and grammar, did no one beta test this? What kind of dmod is this, pointless...very pointless.

Overall: My dog tried it and beat my time. Very humourless and deserves the worst dmod of the year award.