The Dink Network

Search for Milli Vanilli (The)

Yay a Duck farm owned by MW. Wtf? Rob Pilatus is suicidal on the cliffs
June 8th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 4.6 tolerable
peasantmp.gif
IceMan
Peasant Male
 
Hmmm, The Search for Mili Vanili

I was making a game from scratch about a band I knew, and then I game across this D-MOD. Great a good d-mod to base my "Blues Brothers" game on. However, playing the game I was terrified! How could this ugly computer nerd, seth, make such a small game like this! I didn't know the answer, and still dont, but here is what I think...

Strengths
---------

Hmmm, strengths, thats a hard one, but I guess the MIDI's were pretty good. Also the story was short, but sweet. And I also thought that the way you can activate the CD and play it was a good laugh. (I replaced it with a .wav file, me belching into my mike) and had endless amount of fun. I think the idea behind the D-MOD was good, but not well planned, or put together. A few new graphics put my score up a small amount, but it dropped with the dismal weaknesses.

Weaknesses
----------

The amazingly small size of this D-MOD was dismal. I found the plot behind the whole D-MOD was terrifying, and that the small amount of NEW graphics to the game did not help. I will say the D-MOD had a storyline, but I think I should release a "Blues Brothers" D-MOD to cover up its bad points.

Overall
-------

If you want a good laugh, or just another D-MOD to add to your collection, yes go out and get it. However, for serious gamers, I would not recommend it. Please take my advise hear, you will benifit from it!

Total 4.6

Grade C

End comment "Beginner D-MOD authors? See how it's done, here"
December 27th, 2018
v1.00
Score : 5.9 fair
sob_scorpr.gif
Bouncycles
Peasant Male Germany
I've got no mouth 
This D-mod is obviously meant to be a joke (hopefully). You can play through it in 5 minutes and after you've finished it you wonder what you actually have played.
The story is quite simple: Search and reunite Milli Vanilli, so they can perform on stage. On your dangerous journey you'll also meet a young girl crying around until you reunited the band, a shop keeper from who you can buy one CD multiple times and some slow-walking slayers which you shouldnt fight until you've come to the glorious end of this D-mod (which doesn't take long, as said before) , at which your stats are raised pretty high.
The gameplay is mostly about walking around and talking to the characters introduced before. You also have to find 8 treasure chest to get enough money to buy the CD (after you bought it you even have one gold coin left!), but that shouldn't be a problem.
The CD is a pretty cool concept, you get it as magic, and the midi which plays, when you "shoot" the CD, is just as long as the magic needs to restore (if you have collected all the magic potions).
Even if gameplay and mapping aren't that good it's worth a play. You won't be smarter at the end, but at least a bit entertained and you had 5 minutes of life you weren't bored.

I give it a 5.9 out of 10

February 24th, 2010
v1.00
Score : 8.5 good
anon.gif
Skorn
Peasant Male
I Bring Tidings of Spam 
This review is on the Search for Milli Vanilli, another DMOD by Seth, and a really bad one, too.
Story
Dink visits a town where he plans to watch Milli Vanilli at concert. Unfortunately, Rob Pilatus is about to commit suicide because he thinks nobody loves him. Fabrice Morvan has already quit, and is now raising ducks. It's your job to get them back together and watch them "sing".
8/10
Sound
There are some new midis here, by the band, and have great quality for them being midis. I honestly had no idea that voices were possible with midis.
8/10
Mapping and Scripting
The Mapping: The full map for this game is really small, and has little going on. The upside, once again, is the little amount of hardness errors. There were some new graphics too, like the CD "magic" you can buy from a CD store. The heads are really creepy looking, and are a lot bigger than Dink, but you'll have to play this if you don't believe me.
The Scripting: the first time playing this, I ran into a freeze error. The moment I reached the duck farm with Fabrice Morvan, she spoke, and the game froze. Another problem with this game, is the intro doesn't freeze Dink's position, so you can walk around with the intro still playing. Aside from that stuff, this DMOD ran smoothly most of the time. I lked the fact that after beating this DMOD, you gain a lot of stats which will kinda help with killing the slayers, just for fun.
6/10
Re-playability
I played this game few times, and mainly because the humour was well written and had good timing.
6/10
Overall and Final Comments
Overall, this DMOD was very nicely done, and had a nice story put into it. I wouldn't actually recommend this game to any hard-core Dinker, or anyone who wants a lot of game-play, but I would recommend this, if you are bored, and want a DMOD was strange humour.
January 31st, 2007
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
spike.gif
scratcher
Bard Male Finland bloop
cigarette bonca 
This is the very first dmod ever publicly released. One of the shortest dmods, too. Even if you try to interact with everything and do what's possible, it's over in less than 10 minutes. The story is simple: A fan of Milli Vanilli wants to reunite them. Though it lacks anything really worth accomplishing, if there was much more there the quick end would be really disappointing. The story is also loosely based on what really happened to Milli Vanilli after they broke up.

There are a couple of (cool?) new graphics and sounds, all that got something to do with the band. The map has been done hastily and there are no details whatsoever. There are also some bugs. Dink wouldn't unfreeze once at the duck farm, and some lines are assigned to the wrong sprites. Because of the small size of the dmod this is quite upsetting, and really shows how fast it was put together.

The dmod is still worth playing, thanks to Seth's weird humour - just don't except too much of it.
February 28th, 2006
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
old.gif
jjohn
Peasant Male
 
This DMOD made me laugh out loud several times. Being both a fan of music and a hater of Milli Vanilli probably contributed to enjoyment of this farce. I remember playing the Journey game for Atari and Seth's DMOD is at least as good as that.

The gameplay is simple, and yet there is just enough complication in the quest to make you think for a second. Where is Rob? How can you get save him from despair?

Just like the Silmarillion, the creative power of music saves the world.

This DMOD reminds of almost every teen flick from the 80s, which all seemed obligated to end with a terrible musical number.

Strengths:
It makes fun of two twits. It's short.

Weaknesses:
It ran out of twits to make fun of.

There's nothing wrong a very short romps, as long as you weren't expecting an epic.
August 21st, 2003
v1.00
Score : 5.5 fair
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
Umm, mildly funny. Just an exercise to show how to make a small DMOD. Over far too quickly with no plot points.

Graphics: These pictures of manufactured pop stars and a CD item

Very short DMOD. Play it if you've nothing else to do.
July 5th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 1.0 horrible
dragon.gif
Violay
Peasant
 
My sister and I both played this game and we decided to make our opinions loud and clear.

Strengths:
The strengths are very few. There were some great midis, and some, and I quote, "some", ok graphics.

Weaknesses:
The weaknesse are in great numbers. It was too short, too easy and it didn't have much of a storyline. You couldn't really do much in it, and it didn't make much sense.

Overall:
Overall, it was a very poor game and I think that if more time had been spent on it, it might have been more adventurous.
July 3rd, 2002
v1.00
Score : 2.0 horrible
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Dink has to reunite Milli Vanilli.

I didn't like this D-mod, although I do like the music. It is too easy, too short and it didn't make any sense to me.
After finishing the game all your levels go up, but, when you then kill the slayer, you die.
If you like Milli Vanilli, I guess it could be worth the download. Otherwise, don't bother.
January 27th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
fish.gif
I don't find this dmod very funny.Since I'm not a Milli Vanilli fan, I guess that explains a lot. The basic idea is fine, and there is a tiny plot in this short dmod. The huge heads of Milli Vanilli are... well... Seth-like. It's kind of funny silly, although I did not find it very appealing.
I believed this is one of the earliest dmod creation (even earlier than Mystery Island I suppose). So it just shows how you can create a completely different plot from Dink.

Music is nice although I don't really like it.