The Dink Network

Prophecy of the Ancients

February 10th, 2012
v2.03
Score : 9.0 exceptional
custom_skull.gif
Skull
Peasant Male Finland bloop
"I'd like to be a tree..." 
Prophecy of the Ancients is the first and oldest Epic D-Mod to be created and one of the first, if not the first, really good D-Mod out there. It was created over a decade ago, celebrating its 13th birthday this year. So this review is definitely late, but hey, better late than never. Gary and Tony Hertel were pretty humble and never seemed to take too much credit for their creation. No matter if they did, Prophecy of the Ancients will forever be one the most legendary D-Mods to exist. After all this time, it still manages to entertain with its storyline, length, music and its impressive coding and ideas that most D-Mod authors still can't match 'till this day. And oh yeah, it will always give me those goosebumps. This review will be from the point of view of that time mixed with the point of view from today.

Story:
This D-Mod takes place in a different timeline to the original game, and apparently to most D-Mods. Dink must go back in time (in this D-Mod's timeline, which obviously has a different history to the original game) and fix the terrible doom that is threatening his time. During the game, there are many interesting quests, side-quests and plot twists that keep you interested in the game. You'll just have to keep playing to find out what happens next.

For D-Mods, the time travel idea wasn't really used much around that time, and really still isn't. In fact, this is the only D-Mod still today, that I can remember from the top of my head, using this idea. For movies, books and games it is usually a pretty common idea and sort of a cliché. However, during the game you'll easily forget the whole timeline thing, and it isn't but in the beginning that it is really brought in. And of course, in the end you are reminded of it again. By the way, the ending is kinda disappointing and sad, because after all you have done, you know Dink can't return to his normal life. Anyway, back to the point. The side-storylines and -quests are really great and put your mind off the timeline stuff and main quests really good. Basically, without them, this D-Mod would be half the fun and just couldn't possibly be an Epic.

Gameplay:
The gameplay is decent. For that time, the length and the very innovative ideas were probably from out of this world. Nobody believed a D-Mod with such length and brilliant ideas could be done. And on top of that to have a great storyline and overally be fun. It must have been amazing. As of today, there are things that still make your head spin and just seem amazing. How could you say it? First, you're amazed these things could be done back then. Then, you're amazed these things could be done even today. The ice spell for one, is one of these things. If this D-Mod's authors hadn't made it up, I doubt no D-Mod today would still have it.

Sadly, there are some downfalls with the gameplay. The fighting is way too easy, and you can basically kill the end boss with very little effort. Or actually, no effort. The map is fairly large and there's lots of walking back and forward, which means it's a pain in the ass without Herb Boots. And since there aren't any, the only thing that makes you want to walk this much, is to see the story unfold. Thankfully, there are a few teleports here and there to make the trips shorter. However, if you aren't necessarily familiar that there even is a teleport. Unless you read the walkthrough or burn every pine (green tree) in the game (which I admit most Dinkers do) then there's no way you are going to know about this teleport, and you'll find yourself endlessly walking back and forward.

Map:
Ah, the map. My worst enemy in reviews. Simply cause for most D-Mods there isn't much to say about it. In Prophecy of the Ancients, the map is good. There are interesting screens and every screen seems to have some meaning. You know, to contain something in it. However, the overall mapping isn't anything amazing. There are a few hardness/depth que errors, which aren't uncommon even today. However, if you find these absolutely horrible, then remember that back then they didn't have such fancy editors, so it took a lot more effort to create the map, so it's not that bad at all.

Music:
The music is very common D-Mod music from then. Some of it is from other RPGs, some of it is from other D-Mods and the original Dink Smallwood. Then there's some calm music and some disco stuff. Overall, the music on this one is which gives me goosebumps and makes me remember all the cool stuff about Dink from back then. The music isn't necessarily always very fitting, but most of the time it is. And the music itself is very good. And I'm afraid my goosebumps will stab me if I don't praise the music.

Good:
Most of the stuff about everything. The storyline is interesting, the gameplay is fun most of the time and travels well hand-in-hand with the storyline. Many innovative ideas. The mapping isn't perfect but is mostly good. Music is awesome, just cause my goosebumps say so. And yep, mostly everything is good.

Bad:
The storyline may be a lil' cliché. The map has some small errors. Fighting is way too easy and doesn't create that much excitement in fights and the gameplay and whole D-Mod suffers from the lack of Herb Boots. That's about it.

Overall:
This D-Mod will always remain awesome and will forever be the legend that it was the moment it was released upon us Dinkers. It deserves a whoppin' 9.0. score from me.

Fit for:
To everybody. Especially those who want to experience what being a ture OG Dinker back then was like.

Oh yeah, and the music is awesome!
August 4th, 2006
v2.03
Score : 9.2 exceptional
custom_striker.gif
Striker
Noble United States steam
Daniel, there are clowns. 
This used to be my favorite dmod of all time, even surpassing the original Dink. After recently playing through it a third time, I have decided to write down this review.

Story:
Dink's (from an alternate future) world is suddenly destroyed, complete with a bunch of cool scripted sequences. He sent back into the past, to the time of the Goblin Wars, to stop the destruction of the future.

The dialog and plot is decent, but nothing spectacular... and not nearly as good as I remember it being. I guess it shows my growing sophistication.

Anyway, the story is still well above average and manages to get in bits of genuine humor (though falling behind the wit of the original Dink) mixed in with some excellent plot twists.

There are a couple of plot holes and disjointed scenes that I noticed on this runthrough, where you have to suspend your sense of disbelief, but overall, they're forgivable.

And for such a long epic, I am glad to say that the ending gives a full sense of completion for all your efforts.

Gameplay:
The combination of story, gameplay, (and to a lesser degree) music is what makes this dmod shine the most. During the game, you'll receive some really powerful, fun, and novel spells. Magic is very important in this game, so keep that in mind when you're leveling up.

You won't find much of a challenge or any particularly unique battles here, but you'll enjoy them none-the-less.

Look for plenty of new and unique scripting here that was revolutionary back in the days when Dink still had to be bought and played with a CD.

The terrain map is quite large and can be confusing if you don't know it as there is no ingame map in POTA. Thankfully, there is a hidden warp granting you fast travel between two far away places to shorten some of your long hikes.

Graphics:
This was one of the first dmods (aside from a few of Mike Snyder's) that showcased a myriad of new graphics. For it's time, this dmod had a lot of quality stuff.

Sound/Music:
This is another area this dmod shines. There are plenty of new sounds to be found here, and the music tracks are quite good for the most part, even if they are mostly pop tunes. They might not always fit the mood of the area, but at least they keep you grooving enough to stave off boredom during some of the long treks.

Overall:
While not nearly as polished and fun as I used to think, it's still very much a quality epic that's loads of fun.
January 12th, 2003
v2.03
Score : 9.6 exceptional
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: Dink is married to Libby. One day, Dink wants to check on Milder, and so he does. Only this time Milder is the pig farmer and Dink plays the role of Milder. But they end up in a world that is torn apart and Milder dies. Dink is transported to a place where a wizard tells him that the ancients spoke about what had happened a long time ago. And also about a hero. That hero is Dink of course, and he has to save the world.

Map and graphics: Although the map is huge, it is nicely detailed everywhere, it does not have any open spaces and it never gets boring – something that is quite unique. There are many new graphics, such as the runes, and the robots. Some are done real good, others a bit less, but they all are quite realistic.

Music: The music is outstanding.

Good: This is quite an impressive D-mod! There is really good humour in it, such as the scene with the goblins who kill each other in search of a traitor. But also scenes where you can choose what to do, such as where you can lay down the sword on the knight’s grave – or not. And some things I have never seen done before in a D-mod, such as the scene with the river, which is really impressive. And it has a real good storyline, as well as good gameplay and you can do some real nice adventuring.

Not so good: I could not get passed the rock: it turned out I had to morph into a slime, but I morphed into a bonca. The game is real tough in the beginning, although later on, when you levelled up, it gets easier. I could not get some of the magic to work at first, such as the freeze magic, and had to replay that part.

Overall: A very good D-mod.

Fit for: Everyone who wants to play a good adventure.
June 16th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
This d-mod has it all! Game play, sounds, new spells and weapons, a huge map, and humor. The story behind this d-mods start from the begining. Dink's world is being torn apart and he must go back in time to fix everything. From this point on you will be wandering around a highly detailed map and facing origional quests that will challenege you and keep you interested. The plot in this game is relaxed in the begining sorta like a nice quest but then it accelerates into a all out epic d-mod.

Plot: Great plot for a epic d-mod, reminds me of games such as Zelda

Sound: Plenty of new sounds and music, fits every scene and mood.

Graphics: New graphics for weapons and intergaceable sprites in the game.

Weapons/Spells: New weapons and spells that a very origional (even though they have been copied in newer d-mods)

Map: dang good map. Takes almost all the hard file and is very detailed.

next I would like to point out the cut sceens in this d-mods are very well scripted and are very interesting and help the lot in the d-mod well.

I give this d-mod a 9.9 for being the first epic d-mod that no other d-mod can compare to.
February 28th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 7.8 good
duckdie.gif
Matthew
Peasant
 
This game is fairly fun, and has some exceptional strengths, but it is way, way, way too easy and you can’t interact with it enough. I am going to break down the game by categories and give letter grades to it in each category.
Music--A-minus. The music in this game was much better than the original Dink or SOB (the other epic-length Dink boards that I have played), but the Barbie music was weird and a few of the sound tracks were too short and repetitive. Overall, this was a major strength, though.
Sound effects--A. I usually don't notice the sound effects much, but there were quite a few appropriate and interesting ones in this game.
Graphics--B-plus. There were a lot of new graphics; enemies, trees, and rocks varied in size; the magic hammer animation was fabulous. However, it appeared possible to interact with many objects that I couldn't actually interact with, particularly some barrels and crates that were arbitrarily unbreakable.
Difficulty--D-minus. For most of the game, all of the enemies did only one damage. I killed every boss on my first try, usually without taking much damage; I took three damage from the final boss. Puzzles were easy and repetitive, although they got better as the game progressed. I missed some secrets, but they wouldn't have been useful because I was so strong already. Other secrets required patience to find (like walking everywhere and burning down lots of trees), but no skill. The lack of difficulty made much of the game boring.
Plot--B. There was fabulous plot development and detail at the beginning and near the end, but most of the game consisted of killing random easy bosses with no personalities for reasons that were rather vague. I never really needed gold. On the plus side, you could also explore the world to an extent rather than being forced to go to places in a certain order, which was nice. The plot encouraged genocide, which was quite repulsive.
Originality--A. Very, very cool magic made up for a lack of items. Gold hearts and levels up healed me all of the way, which was cool. See my earlier comments on graphics and music, too.
Gameplay--C. There were a number of annoying bugs, including one place where the game tended to crash, but these weren't too bad. There were a lot of pointless screens and walking around in circles. You couldn't hit most people or objects, which was really boring and made the game less believable; the humor was good, but much too infrequent.
November 14th, 2006
v2.03
Score : 9.9 exceptional
duckdie.gif
ChayZee
Peasant
 
One Question, Wheres the perfect 10 rating on this site? Cause Thats Exactly what I'd give this D-Mod, Heres my analysis on the game.

Graphics:10/10
What can I say Obviously they arent amazing graphics considering this game doesnt have that, But for dink smallwood these graphics are superb, with all of the animations it has succeeded greatly in this part.

Storyline:10/10
Probably The Most important thing about a game is its storyline, POA delivers a wonderful story with the perfect balance of humor, drama, action, and adventure elements, yes saving the world.... again, its dink smallwood in Prophecy Of The Ancients.

Music & Sound:10/10
The Exqusite music of this game will leave you with memories of the past, those good old adventure games, And the sound effects are near perfect as well, yes yet another 10/10 from me.

Gameplay:10/10
Well it plays pretty much the same as any other dink smallwood game, which is great and theres no reason to change that, because the gameplay of dink smallwood is something completely different from any other game, leaving you with a satisfied feeling after you complete the game......4 or 5 times.

Overall:10/10
Ok Maybe too you guys I overrated this game, but then again what are the flaws in this game? I myself found none, The graphics arent the greatest and so on, But this is what he was trying to create and he did a dang good job of it, therfore it is unflawless, I give Prophecy Of The Ancients A perfect 10, Great Job Gary!
September 20th, 2006
v2.03
Score : 7.5 good
death.gif
dinkmaster11
Peasant Male China
wasabiwaffles 
this is my second review.

Dink Master11 Presents A Review On Phrophecy Of the ancients

The storyline for the game is not that good in fact it barely has a storyline at all because there is no explantion for almost anything like looking for the fountain of chronos the guy tells you to look in the forest which forest?

But the spells are good ,But I think that the ice spell is a bit cheap though because its basically an instant death.

but the runes and transformations were a nice touch though.

The music was also good except its quite repetitive though.

storyline 8.0

style 8.0

music 9.0

length 5.5

overall..................................

7777777777 55555555555
7 5 555
7 5 5 5
7 55555555555
7 5555
7 . ... 555
7 ..... 555555555555
7 ..... 55555555555555
May 10th, 2006
v2.03
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knights.gif
DinkKiller
Peasant Male United States xbox steam
The world could always use more heroes 
Story: The future, Dink's time, is in peril. A wizard sends him into the past to try and correct the evil trying to destroy the present. Stop the evil that is behind the events that destroy the future.

This is one of the best D-Mods I've played. It's really long: longer than the original game. It has a really good storyline, really good graphics, exellent new magic such as the Iceball spell and transform spell and Atomic Spell. Good music that goes with the story and situations well. It's also quite difficult.

Plot 9.9
Graphics 9.9
Storyline 9.9
Spells 9.9
MIDI's 9.9
Cutscenes 9.9
Lasting Appeal 9.9
Overall 9.9

This is a great D-Mod and i recommend it to any dinkers that like nice long D-Mods. It will keep you hooked till the end. But A good guy was behind the evil all along.
July 27th, 2005
v2.03
Score : 8.9 good
duckdie.gif
i think this is a great game it has good music plenty of monsters good music
cool new magic and its plenty hard too but its not as good as the dink main game that is one game that no dink can ever live up to
April 20th, 2005
v2.03
Score : 9.9 exceptional
boncap.gif
This game is awesome!
New spells, new weapons, etc. My favorite spell is the fanta morph thingy which lets you change into creatures. This game is very funny. (I'll spoil the humor if I told you my favorite part.) This game is very tricky... and I like tricky! Makes you want to play more!

Thanks to Gary Hertel for creating this game!
(Big map too!)

March 20th, 2005
v2.03
Score : 8.5 good
duckdie.gif
kvn8907
Peasant
 
I think it's overrated, especaially playing it for a second time. Sure there's lots of good music (midi 15 made me feel nostalgic actually), and cool new spells, but the storyline was unclear and overused (like in Star Trek where they keep using the Borg over and over again, so too is the whole goblin invasion thing getting tiresome). Some bugs. Last but not least, in this D-Mod Dink was one of the biggest jerks in any D-Mod ever. He calls ladies she doges, and yells and swears at people. And there's no way around it. And I never did find that blacksmith's tools. It's a long and epic mod, but doesn't deserve a 9.9.
December 19th, 2004
v2.03
Score : 9.4 exceptional
goblinm.gif
Hmm... this is actually a tricky file to review. Some real strengths and a certain dullness.

Gameplay: 8
When I first played this game, I thought it suitably difficult, but coming back, the fighting seems way too easy. The new spells are cool, and extremely powerful, but the battles never get tough enough for the true strength of the orbs to be displayed. The adventuring bit isn't bad, though there isn't quite enough of it for my taste.

Style: 10
Some of the music was classic; most was not to my taste. The decoration was largely excellent, and certain places had good amounts of interaction; for example, there were a lot of burnable trees, moveable rocks, some choppable grass etc. The graphics were beautiful, although they were simply tintings of the original. But something annoyed me about the dialogue...

Story: 10
Good enough for me.

Overall: 9.4
There's something really epic about this game(+.1), but it evidently lacks the replay value of FIAT. I came back to FIAT, and it was still cool; I came back to POTA, and it was a little flat.
May 10th, 2004
v2.03
Score : 9.2 exceptional
dragon.gif
hello , i have played this dmod and i think it is pretty good , as "wc" says it has gameplay , sounds , new spells , humor maps and weapons... but a problem is that you have to run around so much and it is only bonca's as enemies...

but the story is exeptional!
so ill give it an 9,2 as the score

\dinkdragon
February 20th, 2004
v2.03
Score : 9.5 exceptional
peasantmb.gif
Lunacre
Peasant Male Finland
 
This is really good D-Mod. I just hated one thing in it. I think ending is too hard, because there is Dragon Statues. And they shoot with hellfire!
Map: Well, I guess I have nothing bad to say about this...
Storyline: I liked it, because I always knew what I have to do.
Graphics:Well, I saw only runes and weapons were new. Nothing else I guess.
Sound: I didn´t hear anything new.
Music: Some new musics.
January 10th, 2004
v2.03
Score : 7.5 good
wizard.gif
matrice
Peasant
 
Good epic story, but the raving reviews about it are hard to understand.

Yes, the music is good, yes, the maps are well worked out, yes, I like the new way the spells are being used including the new spell.

No, the main storyline is quite unclear, no, it's not always clear what to do next, you may have to tramp up and back again over the whole map and talk to everyone again before you find out, no, you only have magic and/weapons for limited times, no, you'll have to like fighting as you'll have to do loads as you kep tramping up and back and the monsters you killed have all been sprung back to life, no, not all bugs have been fixed yet (got thrown back to windows at least 3 times + freezes at places too + hardness bugs).

So yes, it's a good game and enjoyable to play, but exceptional... not to me.
June 25th, 2003
v2.03
Score : 9.8 exceptional
death.gif
Very nice d-mod pretty good, better then others iv played, exceptionaly better.The plot was better then others, more unique, creative.The game was fun also with the creative little morphing capability was dang GOOD dang GOOD, hah.THis is one of the most creative d-mods ive ever seen so far, if you got more ideas work on em your ideas are great so Keep up the good work i hope u come up with more soon.

~_^
April 20th, 2003
v2.03
Score : 9.9 exceptional
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Prophecy of the Ancients v2.03 by Gary Hertel

The Good: This was the very first Dmod I played after beating Dink Smallwood, and I downloaded it because it was BIG (in those days that was big) and POA lived up to it's reputation. I have played this game over and over when we are Dmod dry, and it still never fails to excite me. It was the first time to morph (thanks to Dukie who explained all that to me). It made me laugh, scenery is in abundance, Dink goes everywhere and in various morphing bodies. good music 9when my speakers were working) and tons of mini adventures, so many that after awhile I forgot what I was suppose to be doing. Weapons and magic galore, and just when you think you finished the game, another quest comes along. Literally, hours of fun.

The Bad: A few small freezes and don't I always get stuck in a tree and at the time I thought, could anyone make a game more complex than this one?

Overall: A great way to start playing Dmods, this is the first of it's kind that mixed humour and adventure. This is the one I reccommend to people to try first, after they have beaten Dink Smallwood. A Great Dmod.
October 25th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 9.5 exceptional
duckdie.gif
I admit to being new to this... I downloaded Dink a few weeks ago and since then am hooked.. They have the ability to make you laugh and make you scream (the latter being more often)but they do make you use your mind a lot. Anyway I found Prophecies of the Ancients to be one I really enjoyed although I do admit to using the walk through a couple of times. It was just that bit different to the other ones I have done so far and really tortured me as to bits I must have missed. I hope there are more like this in the Dink Network
September 25th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 9.5 exceptional
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
This is truely one of the great DMODs. Lots of innovation with gameplay. Great new spells. Great use of graphics, and sound. My only critcism is I got bored towards the last 2 thirds. I lost interest in finishing after disguising myself as a goblin, and just went thru the motions. If it wasn't for this I would give it 9.9.

To balance up my declining standards of reviewing this is definetly a 9.5. It has the edge over FIAT.
June 20th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 9.0 exceptional
sob_scorpbr.gif
Well, this is one epic piece of work. Lots of innovation - especially the approach to magic. Liked the 2D Lara Croft rip off of the spinning inventory. Shame it couldn't have been 3D. Cut scenes were a treat. A little boring here and there map wise, but with a DMOD this size I kinda expect it. Which brother did which bit of this DMOD, I wonder.

What I felt it missed was more completely new graphics. (Maybe SOB spoilt me for graphics as I played that first) Although the changing ground and the frozen dudes were excellent.

Music didn't do much for me, but didn't distract for the fun of it.

So...

Graphics 8.5
Gameplay 9.5
Maps 9.0
Sound 9.0

Total: 9.0

PS This DMOD has almost everything you could want (except Dink getting it on with some nakkid women, he he he )
May 28th, 2002
v2.03
Score : 9.8 exceptional
farmer.gif
This the BEST d-mod I have ever played in my life. Humour was infrequent, but I had a good laugh when Dink tricks the goblins. I'll review it piece by piece.

Storyline- The world is facing armageddon, and Dink is transported to the age of the Great Goblin War to find the cause of these happenings.

music- The music fit the cut-scenes pretty well. Especially when Dink dries out the river.

Graphics- Proffessionaly done and well made. Neat what quality can be shown when exported as .BMPs!

Gameplay- Fun, and even funner to morph! He did some neat things with .c, but there are better scripts out there. Also, the final boss was way too easy Excellent, though.

BUGS- Only 1 I found. During a goblin cut-scene, I exited to close to the wall, so I was walking on the wall and couldn't get off! Natuarally, I went up, and I found the final cut-scene after you beat the game. So the ending was spoiled for me . Otherwise an awesome game! Download right now!!
December 23rd, 2001
v2.03
Score : 9.6 exceptional
peasantf.gif
grrl
Peasant
 
This was the best DMOD ever, until SOB, (and probably FIAT). Lots of great stuff here. Cool new magic, great story and very funny. Nice new graphics and sounds. Hours and Hours of gameplay. With a great repeat game playing. New magic was very cool, especially the ice magic. The hammer is great new weapon. Way to go! If you want to play a DMOD that’ll keep you going for hours and you haven’t played POTA yet, stop what you’re doing right now and download this at once. 9.6
December 6th, 2001
v2.03
Score : 9.8 exceptional
sob_scorpb.gif
Can you say "better than the original". POTA was and is the best DMOD ever released. Yes, it is even better the original Dink (sorry seth). In POTA you find new inovative ideas, and some things taken from the origial, but done better. The music is perfect. The difficulty is challanging (I always say, if it makes you use profane words, than it was done right). The quests were original and really forced you to think them through and listen to what everyone had to tell Dink. Anyone making a DMOD would to well to learn from this. Gary, we want more! I can't give this a 9.9, because that would mean nobody could ever surpass it, but I'll give the next best rating.
December 5th, 2001
v2.03
Score : 9.8 exceptional
fish.gif
This is THE dmod!
It's more than 3 years old, but still one of the greatest (if not THE greatest) dmods that has ever been made.
I rocked Dink universe completely. This dmod exceeds the original Dink game in many ways.
The story lines are excellent, twisted, yet very classic. Very cool new graphics and animation. New magic system. Extremely great morph options. They coorporated with the story very well. Some nice Dink humors are blended well with the dramatic scenes.
Only a few small bugs I know of. You can walk on water (where you shouldn't) in a few places. Morphy magic sometimes would alter Dink's statistics.
If you just finish the original Dink and want something great, this is the best way to start to see how a dmod can be great.
If you think the original Dink is lack of something, you must play this one. You'll see, in dmod, everything is possible. (Well, maybe not everything, but you know what I mean.)