The Dink Network

Old Hero New Thief

Secret or Start Somewhere else! Somewhere
May 28th, 2010
v1.00
Score : 2.0 horrible
girl.gif
yeoldetoast
Peasant Female Australia steam
discord.gg/Ukugfbh 
First of all, this a a modified version of GokuSSJ's Mod in which you're trapped in a house and have to escape. As such, it is very similar in gameplay... and spelling (though Goku is from Poland, English is not his first language). Goku seems to have released it under some sort of open source license meaning anyone can copy and modify it.

The gameplay is almost identical to "Trapped" but instead of breaking out of a house sealed by a dastardly real-estate agent, Dink decides to become a "theif". The concept is that Dink has a limited time to steal items to the value of 4000 Gold before "the time runs out" which for some reason involves Dink dying. In "Trapped" this was explained to be because Dink was dying of hunger, whereas no explanation is given in "theif" and Dink's health declines for no reason.

The graphics, if not from the original game, are Goku's, or in the case of the title screen, painted over.

It seems the author put very little effort into the modification of anything other than placing a few trees and editing the lines of dialogue. The graphics are uninspiring and the title screen is spelled wrong, the plot is incredibly mediocre, and the dialogue is horrendously written. There is no reason why the author could not have asked a beta tester to help correct some mistakes and bugs of which there are many. This is certainly not an improvement over the original "Trapped". The music doesn't fit the atmosphere of a heist (The Cheers theme...) though it doesn't detract from anything particular.

Overall, this is not fit for playing.
August 22nd, 2009
v1.00
Score : 7.9 good
fairy.gif
GlennGlenn
Peasant Male Norway steam
GlennGlenn doesn't want a custom title. 
This is the very first D-Mod created by our very own Zeddexx, and it was most anticipated as well.

Storyline:
Dink, being a very known hero in these lands are tired of doing good deeds for the kingdom and has suddenly decided to take up a few lessons on crime when he sees an advertisement for a guy who needs a thief to steal stuff from him.

Game-play
This D-Mod's game-play was based on GOKUSSJ6's D-Mod, Trapped. The concept is the same in both games, you have a certain amount of time to be in the house and to steal the stuff in the house. The life-bar is used as a countdown timer where you can determine how much time you've got left before the owners of the household comes home from their trip outside. This type of game-player mode actually has a lot of potential, but it wasn't used to the fullest in this D-Mod, but I wouldn't blame Zeddexx for that because it's probably hard to come up with ideas to expand such a D-Mod. The same goes for the D-mod Trapped. What could have been done better in the game-player mode would be to add a timer instead of using the life-bar, because the life-bar is sort of hard to follow with if you haven't got any numbers. I believe most people would prefer this because we're all depending on the time.

Music:
There we're a few music files that came with this D-Mod. To be honest, I actually got the urge to play more D-Mod's when I heard the theme-song from Cheers and I felt like that particular file fitted with the situation at the start of the game considering the fact that you start in a bar, which is probably meant to visualize the tavern in the popular American sitcom Cheers. The other music wasn't anything in particular, it wasn't bad, but not too good either. I didn't really pay any attention to that, so I guess it was okay.

Other:
Everything good about the D-Mod has been said above. When it came to the mapping of the D-Mod, it was pretty good I think. It was interesting with the floor pattern that was created in the top floor of the house you we're robbing, it was original. The mapping of the house was meant to be spread with tools and objects which you can steal and they are supposed to be hidden so it will be hard for you to find them, but they weren't really hidden and the game was easily beaten. The humor was pretty good in this D-Mod and it sort of compensated for the lack of storyline and time used to play the game.

[b]Last note to Zeddexx[b]
I think it was good that you created a D-Mod that was based from another one. It shows that you can create a brand new game using the same concept of another D-Mod. I would totally like to see a more advanced version of this game.
August 20th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 4.0 tolerable
custom_skull.gif
Skull
Peasant Male Finland bloop
"I'd like to be a tree..." 
Just got the change to play it through and decided to write a review. This time it's for a newcomer Zeddexx's D-Mod Old Hero New Thief.

While this is a good attempt for Zeddexx's first D-Mod, there were still a bunch of stuff that kept bothering me. One of those is, that it's been build on Gokussj6's Trapped. The only thing changed in the scripts were NPCs' text and the map only had minor changes.

Story:
The story is about Dink getting tired of being a hero. He finds a paper, that he gets a reward if he goes adn steals some stuff. So, he meets a guy who gives him some advises. When Dink has stolen all the stuff, the guy gets killed and Dink goes back to hero stuff.

This was a nice and original story. It's fun to have something different once in a while, than just Kind Dan or Martridge telling Dink to go on another quest.
8.5.

Map:
Well, as I said, the map is build on the D-Mod Trapped's map. There are only a very few changes. Mostly stuff has been moved from place to another or some other sprites added on the screen.
3.0.

Gameplay:
Gameplay works the same way as in Trapped. As in Trapped you would starve and your health lower every once in a while, it makes sense. This Mod works the same way aswell, but the starving thing has been turned into a simple timer. So that really doesn't make sense. It would have been much more sensible to use Sparrowhaw's count down timer.
So, you need to steal stuff in a small amount of time. it works the same way as Trapped: Pick up everything that's scripted, and make it to the door before the time is out. Only some stuff's scripts were changed, but they were mostly the same. It would also have been much better, if every object gave you only a small amount of gold so it would be harder to get the game through as now you can get it through in 5 minutes.
The scripting was also made on top of Trapped's scripts. Most stuff was awfully same, but there were some nice little changes.
4.0.

Graphics:
I didn't find any new ones.
5.0.

Music:
There were nice little tracks.
6.5.

Good:
The story is quite original and the music is nice.

Bad:
The whole game has basically been build on Trapped[/b]. Map and scripts were almost same. The idea/gameplay was about 98% same. The game also didn't have a proper timer, which would be very easy to put in your D-Mod.

Overall:
4.0.
It is worth a look, but it seems like Zeddexx really didn't put much time nor effort to it. I also don't like how it's build on [i]Trapped
, I hope you asked Gokuss about this.

Fit for:
Anyone who looks for a small 5 minute adventure with a cool storyline in it.

Final words:
A hint to Zeddexx: Next time don't build your Mod on top of another.
August 20th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
slimeg.gif
metatarasal
Bard Male Netherlands
I object 
This DMOD is probably the shortest DMOD I've ever liked. Not the shortest I've played, but the shortest I liked.

When you start the DMOD you get a nice, funny intro that tells you you're going to be a thief. Or perhaps a theif, the DMOD left me a bit in the dark about that. In practice this means you get an assignment to steal 4000 gold worth of stuff from a house when the tenants are away. There is a 'timer' (a slowly deteriorating health bar), so you'll have to steal all the stuff within a limited amount of time.

This idea is great, but unfortunately the execution is mediocre. First of all the house you need to rob is just three screens, this means there is not a lot of challenge involved, just talk to everything and you're very well on your way already. And the timer should certainly not give you any trouble, it's timed quite leniently.

Another thing that bothered me was that it's really only fun once. For such a small DMOD (we're talking less than five minutes!) I had kind of hoped for some sort of replayability. But the second time there's no challenge whatsoever left, as you know where to find everything.

The entire story is brought to you by cutscenes which were well made. Also there is some subtle humor that made me smile. The story is also exactly large enough and it makes sure that the game really feels finished when you're done. This really helps to make this DMOD enjoyable.

So this is a very short mediocre DMOD, but with a nice, satisfactory story and original gameplay. That earns it a 6.0 from me.
September 24th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
custom_iplaydink.gif
iplaydink
Peasant Male Sweden steam
Hmm.. 
I really liked this dmod!
The whole idea was interesting.
The game was short, you could make a longer game with this idea. (like add some houses to steal from)
I liked the music.
The gameplay was very entertaining.

7.0/10

August 24th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 8.0 good
dragon.gif
Patrunjelu
Peasant Male Romania xbox steam
Rawr! 
Simplicity at it's best. The thing is, this DMOD is so short that you can't even get bored playing it.
Basically, you just have to collect enough goods to hit the 4000 gold value goal from some house after deiciding to become a thief.
The trip was short but enjoyable.
8/10.
August 20th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 6.3 fair
wizardg.gif
schnapper
Peasant Male Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands
Let us save our effort and just lie down and die. 
Seeing as I can't upload screenshots, I'll write a third review.
Zeddex's first Dmod on TDN is, as the name suggests, Old Hero New Thief.
In this romp, Dink decides that he is sick of being the hero, and wants to be a petty-thief instead. He discovers a job application for a thief, and is soon on his merry way to pilfer a house. The timer in the game keeps you running and frantically hitting the "space" bar in search of booty.

What the simple story-line lacks is made up for by the humorous banter. I think this is a good D-mod for those who haven't much time and hopefully a harbinger of greater things to come from Zeddex.

PROS: Nice new music, Funny dialogue, Pretty maps, Some great books in-game, Nice and Short for those on a time budget, Great ending
CONS: Several spelling and grammar errors, Hardness error behind trees on greenhouse' right-side
August 19th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 5.9 fair
dragon.gif
Quiztis
Peasant Male Sweden steam bloop
Life? What's that? Can I download it?! 
Old Hero New Thief by Zeddexx.

This is a short DMOD. Dink hates being a hero and is now a thief (with no job). He finds an article where a thief is wanted. After the intro, which is rather funny, Dink meets Derk that'll assign him the job: Steal some valuables in a house. You win when you have stolen stuff worth 4000g. This is a very short DMOD and can be completed in 5 minutes. No revolutionary story or grammar in this one, but...

...I like the concept. Your healthbar is now a timer, and you die when the time's up. Of course you need to steal all the valuables before that occurs. This is an experimental DMOD, that can be further evolved. I enjoyed it. Perhaps the houseowners comes home when the time's up instead of Dink dying?

Overall: A cool, experimental DMOD, Zeddexx!

- Quiztis
August 19th, 2009
v1.00
Score : 6.6 fair
anon.gif
Skorn
Peasant Male
I Bring Tidings of Spam 
this is going to be a very short review seeing as how, the game is short. Jugding by the description you can easiliy tell you're gonna be stealing stuff. Dink has decided to quit being a hero, and now is a theif. This game was very good and the theft was plentifull, but nevertheless, this gamer was too short in my opinion.