The Dink Network

Dry

March 7th, 2003
v1.2
Score : 7.4 good
duckdie.gif
Dry is very strange d-mod. It has simple plot, and lot of humor (atleast supposed to be . It is stupid d-mod, but funny too. You will hate the Crazy Portal, you will hate very long cutscenes, you will hate all the walking, but you will enjoy some humor, punching stuff, talking to anybody, etc. etc. Quite nice quest, worth download.

PLOT: Dink is visiting his friend Dry. They had a good time that night, but next morning, Dry sends Dink to get some water. Plot is simple, but to get water in desert can be quite hard. First it seems there is water everywhere, but that is just illusion. However, it seems good plot for funny d-mod like this. *Score: 9.5*

GRAPHICS: All graphics were modified from old ones, original Dink Smallwood graphics. Very good, stuff like pink pigs, red pillars and red caves. Only new graphic is trilobite, wich isn't very impressive, but modified graphics were good. *Score: 8.5*

SOUND: First thing that annoys me, is that the midis were so short. Almost all were 10-20 seconds long, and the midis were not that great after all. New sounds include girl screaming (singing and knock the door (atleast!) There might have been more, but I don't remember them. *Score: 7.9*

END COMMENT: Just complicated: plot is good, graphics were good and sounds sucked. Puzzle solving is not so hard, but there are people who are good at fighting and not so good at puzzles, and there are people who are good in puzzles, but not so good in fighting. This d-mod has lots of puzzles, not very hard ones. Download, worth of it. *Average Score: 7.5*
June 3rd, 2007
v1.2
Score : 9.0 exceptional
dinkdead.gif
Maybe I just have a strange sense of humour but I found this hilarious!

Great fun to play, it is very weird and makes your head spin at times (talk to Howard ) but it never seems stupid because it is so obviously meant to be that way. There are a lot of very long dialogues but I never found them boring because they are funny and in a way are the whole point of the D-Mod; it wouldnít be much without them.

The gameplay is fairly simple and the story very much so: find some water. It has a lot of ďgo here go there do this do thatĒ etc. but thatís part of the fun, visiting the same person 5 times
What fighting there is I found easy.

The music isnít anything amazing, most of the MIDIs are very short but seeing as every other screen seems to have itís own music this doesnít always matter.

I never found out what the rocks with letters said, nor did I get through the Crazy Portal, but then I was warned!

One part I didnít like so much was the ending, it was good, it just seemed to fall a bit flat for some reason.

Overall, with all itís faults, I really think this gets a 9 (at least!), I enjoyed it so much.
January 29th, 2006
v1.2
Score : 8.5 good
duckdie.gif
In my humble opinion you are all being too hard on poor Binirit. Just because it's crazy, and some may find it too weird, nothing ever good can come out of criticising something just because it is different. I enjoyed it a lot, but agree with the other reviewers the cutscenes were a bit too long.
August 6th, 2004
v1.2
Score : 4.0 tolerable
pq_skull.gif
I didn't like this d-mod one bit. I found the long dialogue very irritating (which I skipped anyway) and found the d-mod too weird for my liking (Nearly everything was talking and I couldn't really find the quests). I did not like the graphics which were the original graphics but a tone lighter.
Overall I do not think that this d-mod is worth downloading.
March 14th, 2004
v1.2
Score : 8.0 good
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Dry v1.2 by Binirit

The Good: Lots of new colours added, plenty of save boots, and Dink seems to be able to talk to everything in this strange land of Dry. No hardness errors, that I could find. Lots of monsters (in certain spots) available to be killed, and cool, I got to walk on *water*

The Bad: Confusion, if you happen to go the wrong way, or speak to someone out of turn, I had to refer to the walkthrough a few times, as I was off on another adventure. Had some trouble with the boomerang, as it did not always come back, but the fire spell worked just as well. There seemed to be a lot of mini quests, not to be done in this dmod, and they only added to my confusion. A lot of walking back and forth (I did discover the herb boots, but it was to late)

Overall: A rather clever dmod, good for those who enjoy the challenge.
October 25th, 2003
v1.2
Score : 6.5 fair
wizard.gif
matrice
Peasant
 
Without repeating all that has been said before:

Original storyline, original conversation and scripting of items, a lot of which is funny, though sometimes too long to hold my interest, good use of existing graphics.

Very linear story, you have to do one thing after another, little deviation possible and not much help if you're "stuck": basically to know what to do next there's normally one person in the game who will give you a fairly obvious instruction, not much guesswork involved, though that wouldn't really be possible anyway as you don't get any clues from any of the other characters.

Hardly any fighting to do and the "real" fighting you could do can still be avoided in two ways.
** BACKWARD SPOILER **
gnihcuot diova dna tsaf klaw tub tuctrohs a ekat ro htap eht wollof rehtiE
.meht thgif ot deen eht tuohtiw hguorht teg yllamron uoy ,sekips eht
** END OF SPOILER **

Funny and weird, IMHO not a balanced gameplay, nice concept with potential for a lot more then the current release has given us.
August 24th, 2003
v1.2
Score : 7.9 good
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
One strange DMOD. A quest of sorts for water for Dinkís friend Dry. But nothing in this DMOD behaves the way it normally would. Ultimately itís too weird.

Thereís new tiles and modified original graphics, new sounds and new midis.

The map is strange as is the game play.

Fun at times, tedious and boring at others, generally the humour is momentary, and the boredom more ubiquitous. I crashed out when I touched a pig and couldnít be bothered playing this weird thing again.

7.9 out of 10
March 6th, 2003
v1.2
Score : 7.0 good
old.gif
So, im the first one who will review this dmod. Lets begin:

Dry v1.2 by Binirit.

Graphics: No new ones but the dance scenes were funny but it took too long. 6

Story: The story is simple, find some water. In a desert? 8

Music: Good music. 7

Its a very strange but funny dmod. And I *HATE* the portal who teleports you to NO-MANS-LAND ( Its funny but, it will give you head-aches )
It takes months to find the exit. And when you do, you can try to find another exit... And another one. The hate the hearts screen the most.

Nice game. So download it!