The Dink Network

Explorations: redink1's Basement

April 6th, 2006
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
This is an exhiliratingly exciting D-Mod...well in an interesting and innovative way! What it is is a collage of screenshots taken from the basement of one of the most important and well-known figures here at The Dink Network none other than Redink1 himself! You explore the basement via clicking with the mouse...no gameplay or puzzles. Mind you this is no game and cant be rated as such, but I'll try and explain some points.

-It is a very amazing use of the Dink Engine both in that it lets you use a mouse and lets you explore a real area.
-It has a "plot" in the sense that you can click on and get descriptions of various things you see each having its own heroic backstory.
-There are some unique things here...Redink1 has a classic old-fashioned Pepsi vending machine!
-Naked Tal chained to a wall!*

If you love The Dink Network (You know you do!) check out Redink1's neat hideaway and send him your regards in a PM! Even if your not a part of TDN you'll marvel at the hidden pleasures of "Explorations: Redink1's Basement!"

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller

*Pictures of such were later removed from the mod after an FCC complaint forced Redink1 to comply with "Entertainment Decency" laws.
August 18th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 9.2 exceptional
peasantmg.gif
Explorations: Redink1's Basement

Now this was interesting And with the right programming and an inventory could lead to a dink point and click adventure game. Its Novel idea astounds me I Think it would be cool if every Dmod posting Dinker would make one of these to show of their, Rich Fulfilling Lives...

(I did have 'these to show into their little insignificant lives' But Redink said in the grand scheme of things, everyones life is insingificant then he started to cry.)

Story: None, you are a visitor exploring Redink's Lair With Redinks Narration'.

Gameplay: None really it just shows a new way a Dmod could turn, A very, by the looks of this Dmod, a very stable way to turn since I saw no real errors.

Graphics: Pictures from Redink1's room, a new taskbar, and curser. Thats all this Dmod has in it

Music: None, unless you turn on the speakers however

Final Thoughts: An interesting way a Dmod could turn. Too bad there isnt much to say about this type of Dmod
Good: Good Novel new concept
Bad: No real story, although it was intentional in future Dmods like this it would be fun to see a story of some such
September 14th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 1.4 horrible
sob_scorpy.gif
Well, it's kind of nice seeing Mr Walma's basement, but there are only two screens to show. The rest are enlarged stuff. The Pepsi Machine is what I quite like, but wouldn't it get all dusty and full of cobwebs? It would be useless then. Oh yes, there is Warcraft Music or some other music I think once you click "action" on the speakers, and you can switch off the monitor. It's nice to know that there are quite a lot of game discs, but there's not enough screens to see. I expected the basement to be nicer.
March 12th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
custom_fish.png
SabreTrout
Noble Male United Kingdom
Tigertigertiger. 
Ingenious use of the Dink engine, but is it all worhtwhile? Well, it's not up to much as a d-mod, but that isn't really this files main goal. Not much of playable adventure, but more of a.. well... an exploration of Redink's basement!
This isn't the best file to download if you want an enjoyable adventure, but is nice for getting a bit of background on the Lord, King and ruler of the Network. It could also be useful for d-mod authors, as the the source can provide some useful knowlede; though most source pack would be a better option.
August 21st, 2003
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
A new variation. But it's just a test and that's it.

There is no story, no achieving a goal as such that gives any reward, but still very creative use of DinkC. Explore a screen image to find things.

It seems no-one has bothered to implement this point and click style in a full DMOD, although I remember the Prophet saying he was.
July 31st, 2003
v1.00
Score : 6.3 fair
duck.gif
It's nice to see people approaching thins on different ways. This one shows you how you can work with a mouse to explore. Redinks basement was a good idea and interesting to see. Like the Pepsi Machine. It's pretty unique to see something like that( I'm a bit jealous, but not with the capital j)
click and have it a go if you're curious or want to see the technique!
September 11th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Redink1's basement is exactly what it says; you have the opportunity to visit Redink1's basement. It is no D-mod, nor does it have any gameplay; you point and click to zoom in or out or to get a description of what is in the basement. This type of adventure play can however be used to create a D-mod that does have gameplay. This D-mod comes with not compiled code so you can see how to create your own. Therefore I would say this is somewhat more a tutorial then a D-mod.
August 9th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
wizardb.gif
Kyle
Peasant Male Belgium
 
Exceptionally original idea and worth playing just to see what can be done with the Dink Engine. Well, playing isn't exactly how you can call it. More like going through a technology test, which is also worth doing. It shows how an adventure type of d-mod could be made by pasting large bmps on the screen and how you can interact with stuff on it via the mouse.
Also a great look into Redink1's basement
June 21st, 2002
v1.00
Score : 9.9 exceptional
goblins.gif
This Dmod shows you a basement of someone I've never heard of before. It's not really an action Dmod, but a point-and-click tour.

Goods: Warcraft music is n this Dmod, I found it not bad, and I love the old Pepsi machichine, because who wouldn't like a Pepsi machine in their basement?

Bads: There's no game to this Dmod.

Conclusion: If you like to see a basement exploration, download this, but if you like Dmods with Dink fighting in them, don't download it.
April 17th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 5.0 fair
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
This D-mod is one of a kind, even though it is more a waste of hard drive space then anything. This is exactly what the other reviews says, a simple point and click adventure where you look at stuff in RedInk's nappy basement. It's amusing to click on things and see what happens and what is said, I found it funny when I saw what acctually was in his basement.
January 28th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 6.1 fair
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
This is, like Dinkanoid, a competely different Dmod, only with not-so-good gameplay. Try it out though, you will be amazed...
GRAPHICS 9.4: I don't agree with mimifish here, the graphics are great! You say the pictures were poor, and that's true, but it's 3D!! Besides, the pictures aren't that bad, and I liked to take a look in Redink1's basement
SOUND 5: 1 average midi if I remember right. Soundeffects... just okay.
Gameplay 4.3: Absolutely original, tho' hardly enjoyable. All you can do is put a monitor on, and listen to some WarCraft music. booooring.
LASTING APPEAL 2: There isn't any lasting appeal.
TOTAL: 6.1 (because of the very good scripting)
January 25th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 5.0 fair
fish.gif
It's worth to download this if you want to see redink1's basement.
Graphics is not so good. I guess they were probably poor scans from normal-sized photos. [Note from redink1, actually really bad digital camera pics]

Nothing can be done, but you can learn something new by reading the scripts and some redink1's personal things (if you are interested). But if you are just trying to find something to play, this would not be your choice for certain.
January 22nd, 2002
v1.00
Score : 4.2 tolerable
custom_king.png
redink1
King Male United States xbox steam bloop
A mother ducking wizard 
A technology test of creating a point-and-click adventure in Dink Smallwood seemed like a good idea. However, while the idea and technique used for this are quite good, there just isn't much to do. Indeed, this is probably the only D-Mod I've released where I absolutely knew it was bad (but I had to release it just because of the technical side of it).

There isn't much to do... click, click click, wait, click click, read, click...

No plot, no puzzles. There is only one action you can do, and that is to turn on the speakers to play some WarCraft music. Woohoo.

However, it did succeed in having the mouse do multiple things... when Dink is in mouse mode, it will only recognize the left mouse button. No keyboard commands (besides Alt-F4) or any other mouse buttons are recognized. This was technique was later used in Exterminator, in how you switch weapons.

So, good for a tech test, bad for a game.