The Dink Network

Between the Shadows

September 30th, 2002
Intro
Score : 8.4 good
bonca.gif
Christiaan
Bard Netherlands xbox
Lazy bum 
This trailer offers super high quality grahics and excelent sound. The game has no midis, but instead only wavs. Also there are no original Dink-graphics in the game. Only VERY good looking BMP's. Too bad the game won't be released 'cause I'd really like to see what can be made out of this.
It looks and sounds all good (uhm... VERY good) and stuff, but there's a big downside to this trailer too. There's ABSOLUTELY NO story involved... that sucks a bit, but it's also cool in a way because it's more something of a mystery now.
GRAPHICS 9.6: In one word: FANTASTIC. Sometimes animations can be a little shocky, but everything looks so dang proffesional, I wish I could do that.
SOUND 9.6: Just as the graphics, almost perfectly done, no stupid midis anymore but super cool wave files. Aslo fits well with the graphics.
GAMEPLAY N/A (but still a) 7: I had complaints with my earlier done review of the Other World Trailer, N/A but still a? I mean sort of GAMEWATCH instead of gameplay, just to clear that up. Ok, now I know this game would rock if it'd come out, but I have absolutely no idea how the gameplay nor the story would be. There are scripts and no texts, so I'm kinda stumped. Fun to watch the great graphics though.
LASTING APPEAL 7.2: Not too long, but long enough though. The Other World Trailer was longer, but not nearly as beautiful as this one. If this trailer would be longer, I guess the size would be too big, so maybe it shouldn't be any longer.
TOTAL: 8.4
End comment: VERY proffesional done, download it and see how good this sounds/looks, you'll never believe this is under the Dink engine
June 30th, 2002
Intro
Score : 9.5 exceptional
old.gif
These graphics are excellent. No, better, OUTSTANDING. They are completly 3D and that's the strength of this intro. Silencer has worked hard to make this!

Strengths:
The HIGH quality graphics made by Silencer.
The 3D is well done too. This intro was worth my hd space. This is a MUST HAVE intro. This intro is the best of all. I wish I could
make such graphics. There was a little bug in the game. I wanna know what program Silencer used to make these graphics.

Weaknesses:
This intro was a little big. People with 56kb modems or such wouldnt download a gigantic file just to see a intro of a dmod that will never be released ( I think it will never be released ) Some graphics doesnt look smooth, you can see the lines. This intro didnt explain the storyline and thats what a intro should do.
Press the spacebar when playing. little bug.

Overall:
This is a very good intro indeed. A must have for all dinkers. Great job Silencer. I hope you will make that dmod someday...

Total - 9.5

DOWNLOAD THIS AND BE STUNNED!
June 29th, 2002
Intro
Score : 9.4 exceptional
peasantmp.gif
IceMan
Peasant Male
 
Wow! I've never seen graphics look this good! Totally 3D! This has to be the greatest intro I've seen! I'd never have thought the Dink engine could have done this. There are some bad points, so here's what I think the goods and the bads are about this stunning intro...

Strengths
---------

This really pushes what the Dink engine can do! Silencer has obviously put a lot of care and work into making this. The graphics here are totally 3D, and amazingly put together! This intro really shows the top quality work that our silencer can produce. The intro doesn't show much, but what it does show is 100% outstanding. A job well done Silencer, a job well done...

Weaknesses
---------

I felt that this intro didn't explain much about the storyline of Between The Shadows. It seems to be very "short" in length, although it is a massive download. There is no narration in it at all, which I think would greatly improve this intro. Looking at the graphics, there are many that have been duplicated. This simply makes the download size bigger, without doing anything. These weaknesses really show the downside of what is, really, a great introduction.

Overall
---------

I felt that the graphics shown here are really well done, but there is simply not enough here to reveal any of the storyline. This is bad, but also in many ways good. A great way to push the Dink engine to its limits. Spectacular, a great intro

Total - 9.4
Grade A

End Comment "Great, in fact, AMAZING intro. Totally 3D Graphics, Downlaod!"
July 19th, 2014
Intro
Score : 7.0 good
wizardg.gif
LEprOChaUN
Peasant Male Japan xbox steam bloop
Responsible for making things not look like ass 
This intro is insane. The models are ridiculously good to be used for Dink. The music and sounds used are simply amazing and do such a fantastic job setting an eerie mood. I got so excited watching this. I wanted to play it so bad. I didn't even realize this came out in 2000. Silencer's other Dmod, Sword of Paranor: Forgotten Realms isn't even close to this, and this is just an introduction. It's truly a shame that all this will ever be is just an introduction.

Surprisingly even with all the 3d models used in this introduction, the majority of the video consists of stills. Though perhaps I shouldn't really call it an intro as it doesn't really introduce anything. It's more of a really well made opening credits. Most of which credit Silencer himself.

These are the nicest opening credits you'll likely ever see used in Dink. For that you should probably watch this, at least once. After that I don't really care what you do with it.
March 30th, 2005
Intro
Score : 9.0 exceptional
goblinm.gif
I get the feeling that one would have to know the author in order to appreciate this file. Some points:

1. As far as I can tell, this intro does not show the "limits of the dink engine." It is most certainly not 3D Dink. Instead, it features some full screen animations (prerendered in gorgeous 3D), along with some neat panning effects, and excellent sequencing, sound, etc. If you open the graphics folder, you can essentially find every single frame of this dmod.

In my opinion, an animation like this (using only premade frames) is hardly an impressive use of the dink engine. It just turns Dink into Flash. Which is, come to think, pretty impressive. But nevermind that.

2. As art, this is brilliant, as an intro it's no good. As far as I can tell, it says nothing of the story, gameplay, or content of the dmod it was supposed to introduce.

Of course, you're missing out on an amazing visual (and auditory) experience if you don't download this, but it doesn't live up to the hype.
July 14th, 2002
Intro
Score : 6.0 fair
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
This is an introduction sequence/movie.
The graphics are very good and the music blends in perfectly.
But that's all you get. There is no D-mod and not even an explanation on what the story would/should be about. So, although the graphics and music are very good it wasn't satisfying at all, because you only wonder what the D-mod would or could have been like if there was one.
April 17th, 2002
Intro
Score : 9.9 exceptional
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
This is the intro to a d-mod, whihc in my opinion, will never be released. The overal file size is HUGE, even for a full blown d-mod, none less a intro. This intro does things that you would never believe the dink engine to do, TOTALLY 3D GRAPHICS! You have to see this, expecially if you have a fast connection speed. I give it a 9.9 based on the fact it's a intro, and it's the best a intro can get.
January 27th, 2002
Intro
Score : 8.4 good
fish.gif
You would be shocked by this dmod and never realize that it's under Dink engine. Great graphics. Excellent sound.

It's huge though. The title music is a 5.262 MB wav. It would take up 31.5 MB of your HD for this intro! And it's a 8.63 MB download from 3ddownload.

The shortcoming of this intro is that you can't really get clear ideas about how this game will be. Is it going to have a completely different gameplay? You might have some tiny ideas about the game story, but then again you don't know anything about it after the intro ends.

Even though the size of this intro might scare you off, it is still worth your effort to go through 3ddownload to get a peak of this excellent short film.
January 23rd, 2002
Intro
Score : 8.0 good
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
Yes, a complete departure from the standard DMOD. Pity it's never going to be released. Graphics are good, so is music. Just leaves you wanting more, and then you realise there never will be