The Dink Network

Attack of the Army (The)

A dead wizard Visiting the king. The titular attack of the army. From the COTPATD project.
July 18th, 2014
1.0
Score : 4.4 tolerable
wizardg.gif
LEprOChaUN
Peasant Male Japan xbox steam bloop
Responsible for making things not look like ass 
The reviews for this dmod are really mixed. Ranging anywhere from 8.9 to 1.0 This game doesn't deserve either of those extremes. Glenn actually wrote a review for it giving it a 6.5, and said that he would update it. That was back in 2004 so that's probably not going to happen. It's an okay romp.

The story of this dmod - if you can make it out from the poor spelling and lacking grammar - is about some army that has apparently gone about killing people. It's not easy knowing how exactly to proceed and the island most of the game takes place on is pretty big. It can wind up being confusing trying to find what you're looking for.

The large map also ranges from nothing on a screen to being absolutely covered in trees. There's one secret area which I'm convinced is the sole purpose of finding the fireball spell. Because after you cross the bridge and attack the army it does absolutely nothing. That secret area is practically a requirement in order to beat the game too. Without it the first few knights you fight will be insanely difficult. The secret area isn't just like one or two potions, it's probably close to 30 stat potions. When a game requires you to up your stats by that much to proceed, it's not balanced very well in my mind. There's another room in the castle that also has about 30 stat potions. It's right before a room with like 20 knights to fight. But it becomes super easy when you have 85 strength, 65 defense, and over an entire bar of health. After that you fight the boss which doesn't take very long at all. After you defeat the boss you're teleported back to the castle to talk with the king and the game ends.

It's a very lackluster game and underserving of any praise. But it's also not something to just throw away into the pit of deplorable dmods.
February 15th, 2019
1.0
Score : 3.0 tolerable
death.gif
RangerLord
Peasant Male bloop
I'm here, just hidden in the shadows. 
Well, I can say that the game has an intro screen. But it's also very flawed. It's story is simple: you have to stop an army. What is this army and why they attacked? The D-Mod doesn't tell that. It also has bad grammar. The map is large, but mostly boring. There's one secret you have to get - otherwise the D-Mod would be impossibly difficult. The difficulty is not balanced at all. I had trouble with the first few guards, but after you get another boost the enemies including the final boss become super easy. I wouldn't recommend this D-Mod to anyone unless you ran out of D-Mods to play.
July 11th, 2011
1.0
Score : 7.5 good
duckdie.gif
Attack of the Army ... I like it. Its story is rather good. Story
The army starts killing people of a town, so Dink sets out to stop them. Classic story
Scored 7.0
Gameplay
Rather easy. Once you found where the secret stash of boosts was kept, you would feel brave throughout the whole mod and generally, the knights are so crowded that they keep hitting each other. Each time they die you get huge amounts of health boosts. A bit more innovative than your average kill-everything-yourself-because-it's-hopless.
Scored 8.75
Music
The midis were good, but too happy-sounding for the story.
Scored 6.0
Grammar and Punctuation
Terrible! None of the words at the start were capitalized, there were no commas, and many grammatical errors too. But not many people would mind this.
Scored 9.5 Fit For
People who want a small, nice D-Mod to play. Not too hard.

Overall : 7.5\9.9
March 19th, 2005
1.0
Score : 4.3 tolerable
peasantmg.gif
Storyline: An army attacks a island and you must go kill the leader of the army.

Gameplay: This Dmod takes no skill! You find potions everywhere and the puzzles are so easy its, well a word I cant say on the Dink Network. By the time you found the not so secret, secret you can kill all the monsters in one shot!

Graphics: Nothing new, and the set-up is poor by the end you could see the creator ran out of map design inspiration with a flurry of blank and boring screens

Music: None what so ever, even for the final battle.

Final Thoughts: This one is almost as bad as Bishops Quest 1! I hated it, but saying that I still had more fun with it than with Bishops Quest.
Good: Its Short, very, very short
Bad: Lack of music and graphics and the poor story
December 5th, 2004
1.0
Score : 6.5 fair
fairy.gif
glennglenn
Peasant Male Norway steam
GlennGlenn doesn't want a custom title. 
I decided to review my own d-mod "The attack of the army"

plot:kill the new leader of the army

graphics;Some new graphics.

midi:The midis sucked, or the midis were good, but didn`t fit the situation

bugs:Loads of bugs.

map;Too much trees, and no decoration on the ice island

overall:It can be better

last words:I will update it

6.5
March 22nd, 2004
1.0
Score : 8.9 good
maiden.gif
Connie
Peasant Female
 
I kind of liked this Dmod. The creator gave you a chance to walk around without getting into a battle right away or getting killed. There was not much to find on this romp but it was a lot when you did find it. The creator gave you enough tools to fight the good fight not like some mods where you get a short life span and die 100 times. Also you could gain your strength back by killing the pill bugs and get gold for killing the purple dragons. One thing though when you reach the screen lock after crossing the bridge do not go back or you will have to fight the same fight again. I got lost on the screen across the bridge and instead of going northwest to the next station I went east and then came back to the place where I came off the bridge and had to fight the same guard again- I got killed and did it over. I found the trick to kill this first guard was to stand by bridge and do my hits from there or they did not seem to affect the enemy guard. I am new at this but there are certain places in some of the mods that are easier on the screen to kill the enemy. I keep finding that out because I keep getting killed and I tried to find away around it. The scenery was not much but I enjoyed this one. ****One comment though on all DMods I will the creators would leave some quiet spots from the music. The music makes it interesting and lets you know if you are coming into a good or bad area sometime but most mods to not let up and the music becomes very annoying after awhile especially if the creator want to make a mark that the scene is intense. They have to know when to let up because no matter how good the game is the music takes away from it when it becomes a distraction instead of an enhancement to playing. I appreciate all the work they put into all these mods. It must takes a lot of time and talent and I just would like to thank them for offering it for free and this site for hosting them.
March 4th, 2004
1.0
Score : 5.0 fair
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: Dink has to kill the new leader of the army that has attacked and killed several people of Kingwill City.

Map and graphics: The map in the begin of the game is decorated nicely. The sign at the office of the leader is new, but just a simple drawing, as is the key graphic.

Music: Fair.

Good: The tables in the throne room are very nicely decorated. The story is fair, the gameplay too, although there is not really much to enjoy.

Not so good: The map is too big for the game; the story is only very small and the distances you have to walk are too long. You are thrown out of the game back to Windows when you walk to the second screen since there are too many sprites on that screen – which indicates that the author never actually played the game, otherwise he would have noticed this bug.

Overall: The bug is really serious since newbies can not play the game at all if they do not know how to use the editor. And that leaves only the more experienced people, and they have played much better D-mods.

Fit for: If you do not mind to fix the bug first.
August 24th, 2003
1.0
Score : 4.0 tolerable
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
Dink has to stop the army which has been killing people.

Okay this DMOD is pretty simple and straightforward. The map is straight forward and has some basic problems with depth bias. Not much detail, just lots of trees. Not much to do in this DMOD, find a blue key, rescue some guy with a mushroom and then find a secret area to stock up in so many potions and hearts just so you can fight more and more of the army.

There’s an iceland with no detail at all – not even a rock…

And that’s the point of it all which isn’t much fun and doesn’t last that long.

At first I did like the CCR music… but then walking around the mundane scenery listening to it endlessly was too much.

4.0 out of 10.
August 23rd, 2003
1.0
Score : 2.9 horrible
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Attack of the Army (The) 1.0 by GlennGlenn

Dink is sent by the King to Kill an Army

The Pro's: Well at least GlennGlenn doesn't give up trying.

The Con's: Though the spelling was getting better, I started making up my own dialogue throughout the game (wow, I can walk through a rock!). No new magic, One sword to work with with the same old scenery seen 1,000 times before, and hey let the knights kill each other (ouchie and doh were my remarks). Took me a few minutes to Kill the Head Knight and then I was bounced out of the game. (Something I said??).

Overall: Keep trying GlennGlenn, maybe sometime in the future, you'll be able to make a good dmod
August 22nd, 2003
1.0
Score : 7.5 good
knightgl.gif
The attack of the Army
By Glenn

Plot: Dink has to kill the leader of some army

Strenghts: Very balanced. A secret(not very well hidden though.) Nice decorated first island. MANY powerups. Music fitted the situation

Weaknesses: A bug made me edit the king screen so I could continue playing. Large open spots. Too easy

Overall: A nice piece of work worthy 15 min. playing.
August 22nd, 2003
1.0
Score : 1.0 horrible
stonegiant.gif
Worst Dmod Ever (The) 1.0 By GlennGlenn
well it should be called that
it crashes on some computers and works on others

Good
Hmmm a not to bad start screen
and theres a new graphic in graphics folder

Bad
Hmm hardness bugs everywhere a screen with screenlock and a monster to kill to unlock it
wait????? YOU CANT HURT HIM!!

Hmmm GlennGlenn used screenmatch on some screens but not on others
a ok sized world for a romp but wait???
his ice island has almost nothing on apart from a castle!!
it isnt hard to place monsters or rocks!!
and in the main city places have so many trees you cant see!
Spread It Out!!
monsters in a dungeon wait a second.....Oh Yes they kill you instantly and you cant hurt them hardly at all
and then lots of potions and hearts for the next room FILLED WITH SUPER STRONG MONSTERS!!
you cant kill them!! well not without cheating
and dinkmega beta tested this dmod but he didnt do a good job
i had to cheat to complete it and it has the most awful ending ever!!
also we can see that glennglenn swears
now he is 13 and i think he sweared to fit in with the older members here but that really dosent suit him also theres no real story
why is the army killing people? we dont know
maybe glennglenn should update this dmod and give it a better story or make a dmod set before it so we understand it better

good midis but ive hard most of them before
Lets go more deeper to the story folder
WOW Great!! some really exciting phrases such as
here are the army keep out and this man is dead
you see what i mean??
if there was a vote for the worst Dmod ever this would get my vote
sorry GlennGlenn but try harder next time
im sorry if i seem harsh its only to help you learn

Final Verdict
1.0-Horrible