The Dink Network

Revenge of the Pigs

June 13th, 2003
1.5
Score : 4.7 tolerable
fish.gif
Simeon
Peasant Male Netherlands
Any fool can use a computer. Many do. 
Story: In this short D-Mod, the player controls a level 2 pig called Kirg and he has to learn some magic to kill the slaughterer before it's too late.

Map: The map is small and doesn't really have any details but it's more diverse than Glenn's first D-Mod, Search for the Green Mushroom (The). There are some errors like sprites that didn't line up on the other screens, no sprites at the edge of a screen (once) and some hardness errors - you can walk down onto the hill and the hardness of the trees isn't right.

Music & Sound: The author added a new sound, used for the pig. No music.

Graphics & Tiles: A new tileset from Paul Pliska's Lyna's Story and the default added new tileset. No new graphics.

Other bugs: It looks like you can't finish the D-Mod as I couldn't talk to the wizard who's supposed to learn you some magic. There's lack of capitals and comma's, poor spelling and grammar. Oh, and there's not much to do, except walking around and finding those secret potions.

Overall: A short D-Mod which doesn't really provide anything so it's probably only interesting when you're bored.
October 17th, 2003
1.5
Score : 4.5 tolerable
peasantmg.gif
Raven
Peasant Male Sweden
 
I have played version 1.3

Story: The slaughter have slain almost every pig on the island where the pig named Kirg (the player) lives. Kirg's father sends his son on a quest to kill the slaughter.

Good: Even though it's only a romp it has an intro- and an end-cutsceen
and you can finish the game. The map is ok. The game has a story and it's easy to understand.

Bad: It's to short! It's not much to do, and the gameplay is straightforward.

Bugs: I only found one bug (Kirg still talks about going east and slay the pillbug, even after he killed it).

Conclusion: The game is OK, but to short. If Glenn had made just 3-4 more puzzles and/or added some more people to talk to and/or some more monster to kill or just anything more I had given it a higher score.

Score: 4.5
June 28th, 2003
1.5
Score : 5.1 fair
pillbug.gif
Because of Glenn's changes to his d-mod, I decided to update my review.

Great:

Well, this is certainly an average job on a pretty average first d-mod. Some features I liked were the oinky weapon that replaced the fist, the hero being a pig, and the intro movie at the beginning. When using the 'weapon' you heard an oink sound which was funny. The intro is good, because it's there. Most first d-mods usually don't have ones and the ones that do don't really have great scripting. +7

Flaws:

After talking to the wizard, I was automatically directed to the pillbug which I had to kill to continue the story. Unfortunately, whenever I entered the screen again that first directed me, it led me to the same area. The grammar was certainly atrocious, but I personally feel that really doesn't impact the gameplay or story. The map was empty in screens and somewhat full in others.

- 1.9

Outcome:

An interesting little d-mod to download if you're board or if you feel like playing a short one. A few words of advice to the author, be sure to get your d-mod tested, I would've given a larger score if there were less bugs
June 18th, 2003
1.5
Score : 0.1 horrible
dragon.gif
eug1404
Peasant Male New Zealand
 
Tis a sad sad day for us all when this is the best designers can come up with.

THE GOOD:The pigs weapon is funny and there is ONE new sound

THE BAD: The wizard (second main character who progresses the game) won't talk to anyone who doesn't know how to use dinkedit .
The plot sucked and none of the doors in the slaughterers house would open, heck one even dissappeared!!.No music at all.Good if you just felt like dissing something.

OVERALL: Glen gets a .1 for the brilliant plot innovation of the wizard who will only talk to you if you can use dinkedit bit.
I hope Glen does us all a favour and gets his next "D-MOD" *SHUDDER* beta-tested before realising another monstrousity.
June 16th, 2003
1.5
Score : 0.1 horrible
maidenp.gif
The Revenge of the Pigs 1.0 by Glenn ???
What revenge ?
Did anyone who played this "thing" actually got some revenge ?

Story : 0,02
Kirg takes revenge ! (eventually he will not get his revenge, but I suppose you already know why)

Gameplay : 0,00
Reason for the low score : gameplay is "non-existant"
You can't give points for nothing, can you ?

Sound : 0.02
One new sound, good job !

Music : 0,00
Nevermind, I know it's difficult finding midis these days...

Effort : 0,02
I suppose he was just testing windinkedit, but at least he managed to put some sprites on screen.

Courage : 0,02
You need a lot of courage to release something like this, so another 0,02 for the risk of losing your dignity. (and believe me...you lost it)

Scripting : 0,02
Yes yes I like that intro movie you scripted, sounds like the beginning of a whole new saga. (hope not)

Final score : 0,1
I really think you deserved the score, but hey it's just your firs...erm third d-mod, so don't worry, you'll get there, one day you'll release something that is worth playing !!

but for now,
you wasted 2 valuable minutes of my life, dang you !!

ps: you can always ask for "beta-testers" if you want to.
(you need them, believe me)
June 14th, 2003
1.5
Score : 2.0 horrible
knightg.gif
WC
Peasant Male United States
Destroying noobs since 1999. 
I wasn't sure if it was me untill I read the reviews and saw no one else could finish this mod either. Basically a simple plot, it would make for a good romp/quest if worked properly. To tell you the truth, I can not accurately review this d-mod because it was so bug infested that I couldn't finish it. The other bad thing is that the grammer was bad, very bad, and I could hardly understand the plot.

Sorry, but I would not reccommend anyone downloading this d-mod (expeccially 56ker's), it's a waste of bandwidth.
June 14th, 2003
1.5
Score : 0.1 horrible
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
It is very nice to release two D-mods in one day (the other one being The Search for the Green Mushroom), but it would be even nicer to actually read what reviewers think is not so good or just plain bad about a D-mod so you can improve your next D-mods.

This is just a very bad D-mod. No borders, incorrect hardness, no sprites are screenmatched, and most important, no story nor any idea what or who this slaughter is and why you must seek him.
June 13th, 2003
1.5
Score : 3.0 tolerable
pq_water.gif
Blue
Peasant Male
 
Well.. i didnt understand it.... when you mee t the wisard, you cant t alk to it... i had to use dinkedit to fix it. after geting potion from secret i came to the slaughters house... doors didnt open... also, when you oush something pig turn to dink again. I guess Glenn Should fix this dmod, because now i can onkly give 3 points for it.
June 13th, 2003
1.5
Score : 2.0 horrible
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
The Revenge of the Pigs...by Glen

The Good: Pig makes a sound. Very short dmod.

The Bad: What was the point of this dmod?? I couldn't talk to the wizard, ended walking on tree's through houses and up the cliff.
Lots of bugs and nothing much to do.

Overall: Put this dmod into the *Hall of Shame*, as it took longer to download it, than to play it.