The Dink Network

Mayhem

May 12th, 2013
v1.00
Score : 8.5 good
fairy.gif
Spinnerweb
Peasant Male Pakistan steam
Scream Aim Fire 
People get the most twisted ideas randomly. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre's director, for example, got the idea of a chainsaw as a weapon while wanting to rush his way through a crowd. Of course, playing such games as Dink Smallwood means that Dinkers' ideas are more twisted than usual, and Paul Pliska's Mayhem is proof of that.

What happens when the people of a kingdom protest having to give all but a few dimes of their earning in taxes? Anything but justice. Hey, you're the bad guy. You're not supposed to help those peasants. You're supposed to kill everyone you see and get back into the castle before time runs out - yes, there is a time limit; it depends on the midi you choose at the title screen. I enjoyed the We Will Rock You midi. Mummer's Dance is the longest at six minutes, so it allows for the most destruction.

The title screen is well-made; you can mouse over a person to get info on them such as how many points you get for killing them. Dink Smallwood and the Golden Knight are there to try to kill you. They appear randomly if you get a little too happy in beating up a pedestrian. Dink can't be killed, so when you see him you better scram!

You can also get points by destroying objects in the environment, and you'll want to play more than once since there is always something you haven't destroyed or killed yet. The only thing to complain about is that when you open the inventory, the timer stops but the music keeps on playing which causes the midi to end prematurely.

It's a short D-Mod, but it's a very entertaining one and it's the kind that meant to be played over and over again.
February 25th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 8.5 good
burntree.gif
jane
Peasant Female
 
Mayhem is a fun little dmod where you basically try to destroy as much as possible before the time runs out.

pros:
brilliant idea - you get to kill the people, destroy barrels, windows, torches, trees, pretty much everything! For everything you destroy, you get a certain number of points. It's small size also means it doesn't take forever to load. The new scream sounds were fun to listen to

Cons: time! The game is over in 6 mins, and that's only if you're playing the long version. And you only find out your score at the end, which is frustrating if you die before the end (in which case you never know your score). Some of the people were also very difficult to kill, and I found myself frequently dying from their attacks :/

Overall: A great, fun game which is good if you need to kill some time. I highly recommend it, at least for a change from the usual hum-drum romps.
June 20th, 2003
v1.00
Score : 9.4 exceptional
pillbug.gif
Finally! A wicked d-mod allowing you to kill everyone! Including little girls and grannies! This d-mod is not for the weak hearted.

Great:
Amazing gameplay is what makes this game pure fun! Apparently, some rebels have tried to take over the kingdom and the government. Your job is to, well, stop them by any means possible, (in other words, just slaughter em all) The peasents you can kill are: Men, Woman, Little girls (heh), Girls, Rebels, A knight traitor, old women, and finally the rebel leader. The more people you kill, the more points you rack in to determine your score at the end of the game. Once in a while though, Dink will appear with a longsword and fireball magic and the supreme leader of justice to stop you. They are impossible to kill, so you have to run away when you see them. Little touches also improve the game's great gameplay. Sometimes, you'll see torches that when you hit, send a fireball in whatever direction you position.You can burn houses, trees, and people. Also, when along the bar you can hit the windows to create cracks in them and get more points. Another detail, are the bottles you can hit in the bar. The sounds that people make when you hit them are gruesemly funny, oh, and did I mention the huge carefully detailed map? I had my friend over when we played this, and we each played to get the most points. Pity there isn't a score board, but I guess that is almost impossible.

Flaws:

Probably the only major flaws were that there were no scoreboards and extremely miniscule hardness errors, I could walk on one lake. I don't think there's much to criticise here..

Conclusion:

Stop reading this, just download it already!

August 29th, 2012
v1.00
Score : 6.9 fair
knightg.gif
DackFight
Peasant Male United States
Making Topics off-track faster then you can say it 
Plot: The thing is you have to kill everyone and everything in the time alloted which allows you to have some fun before the king chooses to leave you to your death
Music: You could choose some different types of, but the thing is the music you choose makes an amount of time which hurts the rating a little
Time: It takes about the amount of time it takes for the music to finish so it's not so great
Personal: I think it was preety good, but it could use a game choice to let you play forever or till death, but it was still good.Also I would like it if you could have a way to also allow heros or not
Sword's rating: He didn't get to see it
Bugs: I didn't encouter any
Recommdation: It should be for those who like be evil, knights, or like to kill and have fun in a set amount of time.
April 17th, 2008
v1.00
Score : 9.4 exceptional
farmer.gif
soulman
Peasant Male Bulgaria steam
I don't break rules.I bend them. 
I fell in love with this d-mod the first time i played it.

First reason:You play as an evil knight,you kill people,score points,burn houses,break furniture and avoid the good guys - super evil fun!

Second reason:This was the first d-mod that i saw Dink as my worst enemy.The bad thing is that he is a little too strong,but no matter.

Third reason:You have time limit.How many d-mods have that?And you can choose between different time limits.The bad thing is that the maximum limit is 6 min.It is just not enough

In the end i would like to say that this d-mod is awesome and everyone should try it.Nice job Paul!
March 19th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 9.5 exceptional
duckdie.gif
I think this DMOD is great as it allows you to destroy everything. Unlike previous reviews, I think the time limit adds to the urge to destroy everything (and everyone) fast. Great for stress relief. I highly reccomend it.
March 17th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 9.4 exceptional
peasantmg.gif
I never really thought a game where you went killing innocent people for no reason but to cause Mayhem would be bad, but I was wrong, this was a cool, short fun Dmod.

Story: Although it really doesn’t have one the Dmod turned out brilliant! Who would think that killing people blindly could actually be fun! The maker managed to turn a bad concept into a good game.

Game play: Fun, Fast and Repayable. With the variety of things to kill, do and discover this Dmod has a great replayabilty factor. You can Challenge your friends to beat your score and you can have surprising fun and, best of all there are no real errors in it.

Graphics: This Dmod was set up really nicely, although only having a few new graphics this game looks great.

Music: It suits the situation while still keeping it fun, using the music as a time limit is a great idea, and the fact there are four tracks you can choose that equates to four difficulties.

Final Thoughts: This game is cool, short and fun. It would be nice if there were more towns to choose from but that’s just my opinion. This is a good ‘Weird’ Type Dmod and the maker must of put a lot of work into the finished copy.
Good: The Replayabilty and amount of screens to kill in, it really can release some stress.
Bad: No noticeable gameplay bad points
January 14th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 9.7 exceptional
pq_water.gif
flood
Peasant Male New Zealand steam
 
this is a great dmod for those of you who like games where you run around killing everything in sight although the heal house with the fireplace inside kept on lighting on fire sometimes before i even went inside.

I liked it how you can blow holes in the walls of a couple of buildings.

It really made the game a challenge when dink and that other gold knight of justice came along but i think you should be able to kill them like everyone else in the game.

the time was a little too short to kill everything but i stumbled across the / key whick made the time equal to 10 seconds.

overall I found this game very amusing and time wasting fun .
October 4th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 8.5 good
pq_skull.gif
I have to say... THIS D-MOD RULES!! There so many people to kill! Theres a Woman, Girl, Little girl, Man, Rebels, Old woman, Knight traitor, Rebel leader, Then theres Dink and a Gold Knight but you cant kill them.

GOODS
-----
You can kill people and destroy almost everything!

BADS
----
You have a vary little bit of time to beat this game!
You cant kill Dink or the Gold Knight!
Theres no score board!
Theres hardness errors

I only gave this D-Mod 8.5 cuz of the time but other than that this was a great D-Mod. Everyone that likes a good D-Mod to play a few times get this!

July 25th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 9.3 exceptional
goblinm.gif
A true piece of quality entertainment! Nothing but fast-paced arcade mayhem, good for honing your Dink skills. Oh yeah, some other reviewers did not notice that your points are recorded in the experience counter. So you CAN see your score if you die!

Style: 9
The intro screen was impressive, and there was a general sense of... mayhem to the game, largely created by the sounds and effects (breaking windows, burning houses). I don't know how it could have been better in this respect, but some places were a little sterile, and the midis hardly fit. The map was nicely filled, it just lacked character in some places.

Gameplay: 10
Really an 11. Classic Dink hack and slash, coupled with a good deal of strategy in terms of enemy selection. Also some neat tactics (explosive barrels, fireballing torches). Just amazingly fun.

Story: 9
Hey, the story doesn't tangle the gameplay. Paul's blurb, though mildly confusing, is about all you need. A good story would definitely drag this game down, because you'd end up caring about completing the story instead of getting a good score.

Overall: 9.3
Basically a must-download. It doesn't quite have the replay value you'd expect, but it is still tremendously entertaining.
May 12th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 8.0 good
pillbug.gif
Hmm for some reason I never downloaded any of the Evil Hero d-mods So i passed this dmod up. I saw a screen shot of it today and clicked on it cause it looked sweet. After unzipping it and starting it up I was already amazed by how awesomely well done the Title screen was. Way more orginal than your average one.
The Dmod its self is not your standard dmod. It is hardcore arcade style. This is great and creates a truly unique dmod atmosphere. It is quite addictive trying to destroy as much stuff as you can with in the time limit. The mapping for this dmod is amazing. It packs so much detail in to a limtied amount of space. It is loaded with tons of new eddited graphics which look awesome, i had to stop killing stuff to check out sprites in the background. The music in the game is set to fit with the time constraint you get when you play, i wish there would have been some better songs.
With all this awesomeness packed in to one dmod its a shame that I have to write this next part. The dmod has no real sense of fulfillment. By this I mean you start it up and are thrown in to the action and it ends in a blink of an eye. This could be easily solved if a Short intro were added to get a little background info on why you are destroying everything or who the black knight is. Also it is not very rewarding. If you run out of time, or die, there is no difference from leaving before the time is up, except that then you get to see your score. If some reward system was setup for getting highscores, or doing special stuff in the round (like freeing the boncas, breaking the dink stone, killing the captian, etc). This game would kick alot more ass. So basically this dmod would be flawless and probably one of the best dmods of all time if it had these features: Intro, On screen score, Rewards. Paul if you ever get bored you should think about those.
March 4th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 9.0 exceptional
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
This D-mod is one of the five entries in the Evil Hero D-mod Contest (the other ones are Beginning of Evil, Computer Virus, Rascal and Twins).

Storyline: In this arcade style D-mod you play a Black Knight who has to kill peasants since they do not like to pay the taxes.

Map and graphics: The title screen is done nicely. The title itself has blood dripping from the letters: cool! Also on the title screen are the peasants. If you hover your mouse over them, you see a short description and the points you earn when you kil them.

Music: You can choose between four midi’s that differ in length; when the music stops, the game is over.

Good: The D-mod takes place in a castle. The map is done nicely and you can also go inside the houses to kill the peasants that are inside. You can find potions and smash barrels to get small hearts.
Dink is also in this D-mod. He is the good guy, he follows you and tries to kill you and save the peasants. very nicely done and funny to see!

Not so good: You can only play for a certain periode of time. After that it is game over!

Overall: Very funny game.

Fit for: If you want to hack and slash on everything you can not touch in a normal D-mod.
January 23rd, 2004
v1.00
Score : 9.7 exceptional
sob_scorpy.gif
Alhaitu
Peasant Male
 
GOOD:You can break windows,potions,barrels and you can kill people.

BAD:TIME!!
August 4th, 2003
v1.00
Score : 9.5 exceptional
goblinh.gif
xanthos
Peasant Male
 
Plot and Storyline: The Black Knight (you) mus tput down a revolt that Rebels started, Dink is your greatst threat as is hellfire can kill you in one shot.

New Graphics: New death frames for some of the people, blood dripping on the menu, Redone drawbridge that I applaude because you could never use it in any D-Mod witout it looking mad glitchy.

New Music and Sound: Screams, music that sets the pace of each level.

Good: Breakable and killable everything, you can break most every cup, plate, potion, barrel, crate, and even windows. The length is determined by which music, awesome idea. Everything is well executed.

Bad: Nothing, besides a few minor hardness bugs. There is one glitcy screen on the left wall that flickers.

Overall: Great fun when your tired of worn out Dink adventures.
June 18th, 2003
v1.00
Score : 9.1 exceptional
knight.gif
RedSun3
Peasant Male
 
In this D-MOD, you play a knight who's job is to kill and destroy as much as possible in the given time limit. This ranges from 1-6 minutes.

The Good: Pure, mindless mayhem! A great time killer that's fun to play and one that doesn't get boring too fast. Its great to finally go against all those people you usually save. Great original idea.

The Bad: Pure, mindless mayhem! I'm not really sure if there is really a point to this D-MOD other than killing as much as you can until your time runs out. After a while it gets a little monotonous.

Overall: A fun and exciting D-MOD that is great for killing time. It may not be the greatest D-MOD, but it is definitley worth trying. Now if you excuse me, I must get my revenge on that golden knight!