The Dink Network

As Good As Eternity

Massive amounts of gore and ducks
June 6th, 2008
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
knight.gif
This dmod has a nice epic feel to it, and when I first downloaded and installed it, it was an instant hit, although when looking back at it I have some things to praise about it and point out some things that made the game somewhat mediocre.

Graphics: were somewhat improved, but much of it was slightly tweaked, already existing midi's. However, they stood out nonetheless. Some of the graphics got in the way and cluttered sight of some of the screens, but most of it was non-interfering.
8.9

Storyline: While it was pretty basic, there were a lot of side quests that one could embark on, and often one could take a break from the main quest (like trying to kill the weird town that just wanted to die of starvation anyway). If you just wanted to beat the game, however, one would just find themselves trying to find the temple of light for an extremely long while, and when you get to see the end screen, I personally found it a dissapointment that I couldn't go back, tell the King, and continue to do random stuff, instantly killing the replay value (which really wasn't that much anyways...)
8.5

Gameplay: somewhat imbalanced. I found myself fighting to suvive when I first embarked south of the bridge, but later when I fought the boss, it was complete easy sauce, it took virtually no amount of skill to beat him (although I had my stats up ridiculously high because of the CD, and I've read recently that the boss'level depended on your stats). I've never experienced the bad ending, but at least the good ending has a nice heartwarming aspect to it, which I felt redempt the storyline a bit.
9.0

Music: Since my computer is a bit weird, I didn't have the ability to listen to it except at a friend's house, so what little I could hear I felt fit into each screen really well
9.5

New features: The were a lot of new aspects, to the game, like new swords and magic spells, (although there were a surprising lack of bows)and additional sprites for characters. Overall, the new features were just enough to keep me playing.
9.5

As a leaving note, this games has more of a relaxed pace to it, and overall the author has worked hard on creating this exceptional dmod. Anybody who likes a good epic story should give this a try.
August 16th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.8 exceptional
duckdie.gif
Davyd
Peasant
 
This is the first review I've ever written, but not the first D-Mod I've ever played. (Played 7 or so before this one, I'll get around to reviewing those later)

This so far took the shortest D-Mod timewise for me to complete, (but considering I've only played Epics, it's not saying much). Of course I didn't unlock all the features, I never did figure out how to get past those talking trees or find my way into that mine. (I used ultimate cheat when I got tired of looking, but eventually I'll replay and try to find everything legit).

Ok, here we go...

Sound: This was only the 3'rd D-Mod I was able to play with sound, but it by far had the best sounds. It's been a long time since I've played the original game, so I don't exactly remember all of the music, but what I heard in AGAE was completely new, I especially liked the X-File theme on the hidden island, very well placed

Score: 9.9

Graphics: Some of the best new graphics I've ever seen, especially the final weapons, (the axe and the sword), not to mention the rainbow spell, one of the best looking spells I've used, (Even if it is just a different colour hellfire), and the final boss. The people in front of the comps looked a little weird, but I'm assuming that was done on purpose

Score: 9.8

Map: The map is by far the best looking I've seen. Although it does get a little cluttered at some times, and often trees are blocking out the ground, so you kind of have to blindly walk around. Sometimes I came across some minor errors in the map where you would see a line or such, but no big deal. Just one suggestion: Don't make so many burnable trees! I must have spent 3 hours going through the game burning trees trying to find out secrets and such! One more thing: It took me a good hour or two to figure out how to cross the river to get to the Temple of Light...I was just about to use a cheat to cross the water and try and find the entrance from the other side...but then I finally stumbled through those very closely placed trees and made it to the other side.

Score: 9.7

Playability: Pretty good, although I did get stuck a lot in mountains, on cliffs, in trees, in the water, etc. I also found one cockroach (those blue bug things), that I couldn't kill...it was walking over the screen...just as normal...but it wouldn't take damage nor deal damage to me, so I thought best to leave it alone Other than getting stuck and having to warp out (yes I'm a cheater I warp out of hardness errors), the playability was fine.

Score: 9.7

Overall Score: 9.8

Keep up the good work =)
June 14th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.8 exceptional
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: Dink has to revenge his mother and father.

Map and graphics: The map is just beautiful. It is interesting, loaded with sprites that are used in an original, practical or new way and it never gets boring. The author of AGAE spent a lot of time in decorating the map and she did a very good job. It is the most beautiful map I have ever seen.
There are some new graphics, as the piano player, the Dinkers behind their computer, the wizard in the temple and the house, the end-boss and some item icons which all look not very good, but sure good enough.

Music: The music is sometimes good, and sometimes excellent (in the temple) but mostly not that well chosen to fit the situation. The music that plays when fighting or when some other action is going on, is well chosen, but the music for the more quiet parts is not that good, even a bit boring.

Good: The gameplay is outstanding, the story is really interesting, but, most important, you really get that ‘good old Dink’ feeling when playing this game. There are many, many things to discover and find such as the treepass, the different weapons, tons of goodies and all different kind of magic. There is also a lot to do besides the main quest. I especially liked the very beginning of the game: the map is beautifully decorated and there are lots of things to do in a relatively small area. I also loved the fact that every building has a human sprite in it who all have information to share, or from whom you can buy something or learn something or just chat with.
The two computer guys playing Dink are plain hilarious, especially the guy which the stereo tower that blasts music! A clever use of old graphics too, such as the blocked off bridge in the beginning of the game, and the storage in one of the houses on Turtle Beach. This D-mod is made with an eye for detail. Not only the many details on the map, but also with an eye for the things that the people who live in Dink’s world would need or like, such as the museum with the trophies or the benches near the river. The map split in three parts is a clever finding. The endscene with the falling fence is cool, and the reunion is a real nice ending.

Not so good: I encountered lots and lots of hardness errors and got stuck in all kind of sprites such as boxes, chests, humans, trees, fences and houses – you name it, I got stuck in it! - as on borders and such. I do not think I got stuck so many times in any D-mod. A lot of tiles are not stamped correctly, so you can see the edges.

Overall: An extremely good D-mod.

Fit for: Anyone who wants to have a blast of an adventure!
April 18th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
boncag.gif
The DMod As Good As Eternity is a long and well built epic DMod. You must play if you like a good long story about N-th world saving.

The storyline is very good, non-linear to an extent. You don't have to do everything possible to finish the game. Sometimes it's better to leave people alone, as with the Refuge village. There are some funny characters (pianist, programmers). Those sidekicks give it a feeling of living in the game, not just doing so and so. You gather the scrolls of magic and may read them.

The gameplay is well balanced, I found it quite easy. A lot of secrets, a lot of gold and special places you may spend it, like buying golden apples (it adds strength) or game hints. Some useful items you may buy early in the game, if you meet a man who sells them.

The end boss is strong, but his stats depend on Dink's, so that he is not too easy for a good player, and not impossible to beat for anyone (or almost anyone). Two possible endings after defeating the boss.

Map is huge and deliberately worked out. Tyrsis made a good try at decorating it, and the player may find (get) even 3 maps. Some areas underground maze tiling isn't so good, but all places look different, a lot of landmarks.

Some new items added, with graphics for them. The enchanted weapons and magic in the end, also water magic filling the dry lake with water, live and dead water, CD.

Graphics for the end boss are good, he moves well, and sings(!). Some characters (programmers, wizards) are done in a simple way (minimum frames), but most of them look OK in the game. A lot of details added (computers, windows, etc). Some are old Dink graphics modified (Rainbow magic, dragon).

Sounds are choosen well, most of them are once popular songs. Some new sounds (e.g. blade wheel hit sound).

Strengths: The good storyline, large map, new graphics, some humor, balanced gameplay, bugless. The endings are well done and not too long.
Drawbacks: Some areas of the map might have much less sprites on them.

So I won't kill the pianist. He (or rather she, and russian too!) did a very good job. I think it deserves 9,5. You must download it if you like a good epic.
April 4th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.9 good
custom_simon.gif
SimonK
Peasant Male Australia
 
This is a large DMOD, and well done over all, but there were a number of things which detracts from its playability.

The first is the Map. I found a number of screens too cluttered. Tiling, when done properly should be pretty much seemless, maybe using a few sprites here and there to get around joins you just can't hide. I found the map tiling obvious and out of whack more often than not, especially in the underground maps. It is the attention to this sort of detail which seperates the great DMODs from the good ones.

Story and Plot I thought were good, although I would have liked to have been reminded why I was going to the Temple of Light, to prepare for the final battle instead of just must go there. The collection of nine pages I thought was a nice new variation on the quest for objects theme. Having pages to read I liked too.

New items and modified magic, nice. Graphics - a nice lot of new ones, the nerd and pianist for example are welcome additions. Not to mention the end boss. Windows in houses etc, all very nice.

Some midis were nice, but a lot were based on songs, and I detest that. The midis towards the end, and around the Temple of Light were suitable though.

Easy of play? Too easy in some regards, too much money to find, get the claw sword just for talking to a guy who wasn't hard to find. Too obscure in others such as overall point. The end boss is fast and deadly.

Herb boots I felt should have been earlier, as there is a lot of walking in this DMOD.

Overall, a good DMOD. Play it if you have played the other epics.
February 18th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.5 good
fish.gif
I was probably one of the very few Dinkers that finished this dmod before any patch file was released. Considering the size of this dmod, it is quite amazing that there was no life-threatening bug in this Tyrsis's first dmod.

However, after a few patch releases, I still couldn't bring myself back to play it all over again, because this dmod is not so great that I would like to spend another 10 hours to go through it again.

Overall, the storyline is pretty good. Starting at a rather simple way as the original Dink was, Dink then found out his mom (and dad) did not die accidentally and his step mom is part of the evils who are responsible for his mom's death... (This dmod did mess up with some other dmod's timeline, but since most of Dinkers probably do not care that much.) You need to go to Temple of Light to face the great evil. Along the way you need to gather your lost letters. It's straightforward, but most of the quests are not very original and not necessarily related to Dink's parents. I believe the two different endings are determined if Dink collected all letters or not. That's quite nice, but unless you did get all letters and have the good ending, you don't really know if you miss any letters or not.

Although there is no big bug in the game, there are still quite a few bugs and annoying glitches throughout the game. In addition t what Simon and Dethlord mentioned in their reviews, I found the scripts about the final boss are buggy. It seems to me that Tyrsis had a script to check Dink's strength to decide the final boss's defense (as an anti-cheat, I believe). If Dink's strength is too low, she would increase Dink's strength by 90, but armed Dink with a sword! So if you decided to change your weapon, your extra strength would disappear. If you came in the final screen armed with bare fist, you would find the final boss was not that hard...

A few repeated secrets (talk to the trees with a tree pass). In fact, you can remove the hardness of the block pine trees by trying to burn them with fireballs, and you don't really need the tree pass at all.

I don't know if I can have other options to help the people in Refuge without killing them all, although the idea of finishing a quest that will end up hurting the people is a great idea.

There are quite a few new graphics. Some humor here and there.

Overall, this is a decent dmod and worth your time to play it at least once.
April 24th, 2014
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.9 good
duckdie.gif
Hi, guys. I'm new here and I played this D-mod twice. For the first time I played I got the bad ending, so I didn't understand why I got that awful ending, I didn't want my character to die and etc...
I got pretty frustrated, because I thought it didn't work good for me because I forgot to take the CD, then I played again got the CD and it was pretty hard to kill the boss again. Then I had a bad ending, again.

So I searched a lot why I got the bad ending and the reason was because I forgot to talk to the teacher before going to that cave/underground place. And finally I got the good ending! (thank god!).

It was pretty good to play this D-mod because the graphics are better than others I played, the story line is nice, I also liked the quests and characters. And the secret places are really nice!
When I did everything right, it was easy to kill the boss. When I played wrong it was very hard to kill it! But with a little help of the CD I could kill him slowly.
I loved the new elements and the jokes. It seemed that Dink could interact with us through the creator of the D-mod (the nerd character).

The bad points are just that I got stuck in some points of the forest and I had to restart the game. I had some bugs too: when I got the magic sword it appeared twice in the inventory.

That's it! I had a good experience!
February 25th, 2008
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
knight.gif
This particular dmod was one of the best i've ever played...The graphics were pretty solid, gameplay was nice (although some glitches like walking on water and not being able to get back on land or something like that) New sword, axe and magic feature gave a nice twist compared some other dmods. The amount of burnable trees in the game was somewhat annoying as it was quite hard to find secret holes and the such. Getting to the temple of light was somewhat of an annoyance when you acutally had to travel there, but had a nice level of having to think about some riddles before actually getting to the boss (which I must note that it was extremely easy because meeting a four wizards and that progamming disk made the silver sword ridiculously powerful). My only complaint is never getting the chance to go back (I wanted to do a whole lot more after the game was finished instead of looking at an end screen). All in all, this was a great dmod that everybody should have a chance to play.
June 18th, 2007
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.0 exceptional
pq_skull.gif
ansem
Peasant Male
 
hi there this si my first review i've ever written and also 1 of the first DMod's i've ever played,
i was impressed by the large map and decoration, altough some places could have been a bit better decorated.
The map as very large but sometimes there was too much space between towns and city's.
There were plenty of side-quests i saw some graphics i did'nt see in the original game.
Overal a very good DMod and a good story but not very suprising.
October 24th, 2006
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 6.7 fair
slayer.gif
dutch2k
Peasant Male
 
Not a bad D-mod i must say.it was one of the first i ever played and not too bad.there room for improvement tho too much walking around realy even with herb boots!!

pros:fairly good story line love the part with piano play doing like what was that betovan or whatever hes called wish u played that instead of the stuff he was playing.took too long to get all the spells in my opinion.
BUT you made a new spell and sword not bad if i do say so myself.

cons:WAY TOO MUCH GROUND TOO COVER!!not tooo many new things realy and it got boring quickly.very dull experience sorta on my part...

music:7 u put some good stuff in there like that we will we will ROCK YOU!
song very nice.

enemies:7.3
same old same old as far as i recall except for the last boss i think or u simply changed some npcs and monster sizes.

gameplay:5.3
sorry but too much ground to cover and was kinda boring realy.

overall:6.7
this is one of my slightly favorites but it has room for improvement realy sorry.
September 11th, 2006
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.0 good
death.gif
dinkmaster11
Peasant Male China
wasabiwaffles 
its a pretty good dmod with a pretty good storyline and stuff but this is one of the shortest dmods I ever played so it loses a point on length the music is excellent and it is well chosen to fit the places and the weapon design is extremely good the map is pretty big and its not diffcult enough to meet my standards though so it loses yet another point but overall it is extremely good so i gave it an 8.0 This is my first review so I hope I did good
April 30th, 2006
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.7 good
pq_skull.gif
dinkme
Peasant Male India
 
As Good as Eternity Final+(Rev 8) by Tyrsis
An epic D-Mod with plenty of pro's and some con's. To start with:

Map: The map is just beautiful, well decorated with sprites with plenty of trees used in a decorative and clever manner. This is a huge plus for AGAE which adds a lot to the overall look of the game. I liked the way turtle lake was made. The tiles, I belive could have been more better.
Score: 9.7

Graphics: Some new graphics such as the piano player and dinker's on their computer. Old ones such as lantern graphics have been used. Rainbow Fireball was cool.
Score:8.8

Gameplay: The Gameplay was ok with plenty of fighting to do. Many secrets and other stuff to be found. Thanks to the splendid mapwork I never found walking from screen to screen boring. Some new weapons and spells are available. The storyline is good. I liked the ending and the boss fight was well staged. There were a quite a large amont of hardness errors even in the newer version. That is big downside to the DMod
Score:8.7

Sound: The sound is fair. Only once or twice the music really matches with the environment. Some like in the temple is good while at other places it is bad.
Score: 6.5

Overall: A very good D-Mod and if you are searching for some good D-Mods I would recomend you to play this one.


October 30th, 2005
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
pq_rabbit.gif
This game is GREAT! it's the best dmod ive ever played, and the boss at the end was pretty hard,But it had alot of secrets( i like the secret island and the story was pretty good(why does he have to go to the temple of light?) but overall, this is a great dmod. Hooray!
September 25th, 2005
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.2 exceptional
eye.gif
This game was a lot of fun. The graphics were great and the map was sufficiently large enough to include a rich storyline. The only difficult part was the final boss. It was extremely difficult, way too difficult in my opinion. The only way I could beat it without dying was to download the ultimate cheat and raise my stats sufficiently. Other than that, it was a great game.
March 31st, 2005
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.9 exceptional
death.gif
JJJ
Peasant Male
 
This game is fully sick! It's like a drug it makes you high and light headed and it's addictive!

The sprite hardeness is way better than most d-mods.
It's music actually fits in with what you are doing rather than having really evil music when you are just talking to the trader person, and having a flute play happy music when your fighting a boss.

It has quite a few new midi sound files and a few new graphics. The maps are acurate.
I would highly reccomend this game.
December 2nd, 2004
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
milder.gif
This was the best dmod I've played and finished.

Good things:

The story: That has a nice following order and you can upgrade your self enough. ANd I like the way the story develops.
The graphics:They were good as always. Nice Twin Springs. And kill with live water that was good thinking.
Weapons: THe new kind of weapons rainbow sword and rainbow axe that was original. But the weapons who you can get always where also in the game. So you could kill your enemy's in various ways.
The items: Magical fruit that was a nice thing during playing the dmod. Not strong enough go buy your strenght.

I liked the way there was a God into the game. Because everyone has a kind of God they believe in and it was in the game I like.
Even in the Dinkworld there must be a good.

Bad things: When you haven't got a good defense and you haven't enough money to buy some at the end> And if you haven't save more then once on particular points then you will not be able to finish the game. Because you can't go back to the maze and back to the temple of light.
Also when I was playing the dmod. It kind of freezes sometimes. Not on the same screen.
And I didn't like the cd in the game. I saw that item as unusefull.

It is a big dmod but nice from the beginning till the end.
September 13th, 2004
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.0 exceptional
sob_scorpy.gif
First, I should say, the music, by the pianist, is kind of **original** so I like that but some pieces of music didn't fit the area around. There wasn't much humor in it, mostly serious stuff... and, oh yes, the final boss was very difficult to whack because he kept moving around and it seemed as if I took a long while just to inflict -1 on him. The story was great! You had to collect some old geezer's pages to release the boss.
July 9th, 2004
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.5 good
goblinm.gif
This game is designed to get people to look at the scenery. There are very few hints about what to do, and the routes between towns are unneccesarily long, so you pretty much have to walk around a huge map talking to people. This would be fine if the countryside were truly interesting, either visually or gameplaywise (i.e. fighting or secrets, like PotA) but most of the detail and scripting has been put into the numerous villages. There are a number of very, very innovative new items, perhaps the best of ANY mod. The gameplay is kind of dull but it is certainly worth the download just for the weapons, people, and decoration.
June 17th, 2004
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.0 exceptional
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
Everything is comparable to the original except for being a little harder to follow. Also the endgame enemies were near way harder than they should have been. The final boss does 40 damage which is at least 30 too much.

I really loved the different MIDI's. You can even recognize some great music in there including the Sailor Moon theme song. XD

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller
March 13th, 2004
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.0 exceptional
maiden.gif
Connie
Peasant Female
 
I like this DMod I thought the graphics where exceptional. There were lots of ways to get gold to do what you had to do.

It was not as gory and bloody as some of the mods.

There are lots of places on the map and I got confused as to where to go to do what.

Go for a walk in this mod the graphics are great. It is like being in a lush garden with pumpkins and flowers and all kinds of vegetation and cottages, so cool.
November 16th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.4 good
burntree.gif
4or
Peasant Male
 
this is another one of those well done dmods. It uses an exceptional amount of sprites while still keeping the game fast paced fun! The plot was ok, there wasnt very much humor involved, but it was still a very good game to play.
October 8th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.6 exceptional
slayer.gif
Cutter
Peasant Male
 
This was the first D-Mod I have played after playing through the origial game, so I am an noob in Dink. This is an great game and there were fine things and new graphics and spells, atleast I think soo.
Graphics ne word:Cool.
Gameplay retty fine, but some hardness errors, like I got too near to the shore and got stuck.
Sounds:Really great!

Overall:This was an great game, and challenging. And very long.
September 11th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
duckdie.gif
yill
Peasant
 
Awsome...
Really a great game,amazing huge world and funny caracters you meet in the game.Loved playing it.Afcourse I'm done now...but some questions raise my mind.

Why did I never found the guy that I was supposed to bring the CD to?
Why did I never found the awakening spell?
Could'nt make the trees move for me?(That was supposed to happen right?)

So I feel although I have defeted the big boss, I didnt quite finished the game.And theres no returning!

Anyway, is was great to play this game and it came very close to my expectations of a good Dink Smallwood followup.Midi was sometimes a bit anoying but a great big thum up fot Tyrsis!

Well done.

Yill
July 19th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.9 exceptional
peasantm.gif
hance
Peasant Male
 
Being a newbie to Dink and their Dmods I found that Agea Eternity just
blow me away. It showed that anything is just about possible in
creation. Myself, personally do not like a whole lot of fighting.
It took a bit of work to get by the stepmother butI did accomphish it.
The story line is very compulsive. I like the idea of twist, turns,
and unexpected events. I never did get to find the guy to buy the Meat.
Major, I think His name was. There is a lot of exploring, walking, and
talking. I agree with most other reviewers, that when going into each
house their was someone new to talk too. I took a lot of notes, as I
went along the path to find the pages. I was glad to find the Warps
in the Gnome Village. Had a heck of a time to find the Lantern.
But eventually did. Never was able to kill the dragon. But I was
awarded as a Hero anyways for clearing out the Monsters.
I especially Like the graphics. Peaceful and relaxing. I think I used
most of the save lines in this game. It is addictive.
The ending and temple sequences where outstanding.
I have nothing to say to the negitive. I found it an inspirational
tool, and completed the motivation in Me to Begin My Creative Mode.
Tyris, Thank you for That. I want to Thank Tyrsis for the Many Ideas,
some graphics, and scripts that are I used to help Me complete My
First Dmod Demo of Bishop Quest.

Look for Bishop Quest coming Out in Late August.
May 12th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.6 exceptional
duckdie.gif
A very good D-mod! I loved it!! Only thing I didnt like was Dink dies. But then he meets his parents thats good!! it is dang loooong but it is worth it.
Weapons : New weapons & magic( Best is the throwing axe & sword from the temple & rainbow magic it is more powerful than hell fire)
Bad things : Dink gets a lot of potions thats bad as u can defeat enemies very easily but the boss is pretty tough(I advice people who r new 2 this game use Ultimate cheat or some cheat)!!
March 6th, 2003
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.5 exceptional
duckdie.gif
Dink must save the world from the great evil, using his fathers spells and unlock the power of the Mysteriouys mirror....

- - Stregnths - -
Great gameplay, took a while. Maps and blockoffs were done nicely. Monster placements were good. Superb spells & scroll idea, i would've never thought of it.

- - Weaknesses - -
The mother at the beginning had too many dang hit points

Overall: 9.5
October 30th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.2 exceptional
sob_scorpb.gif
Eclipse
Peasant Male
 
Ths is a wonderful d-mod indeed!
It has many good points : It is a good length, a strong storyline, some excellent new weapons ans spells, and some great new graphics (though not many). The main problems I encountered were a slight lack of direction of times (not being sure of what to do) and one or two places can be pretty hard : But that is just a personal opinion, and others may not have found that. Overall, a fantastic d-mod for the first attempt...I only hope my first effort will be this good...
July 15th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.6 exceptional
sob_scorpy.gif
Tyrsis
Peasant Female Russia
 
When I released As Good As Eternity there were quite a lot of reviews, so it may seem strange that I write this now. But some old reviews, written for the old version of the game, may mislead a person who reads them. Especially mimifish’s, who regretfully couldn’t find some time to reconsider what he wrote about the earlier one.
First of all, the story. I think it is good, as anybody agree. I’d like to write something with some plot twist, but alas, nothing of the kind came to my mind. So it is just good. It has two endings, which have nothing to do with number of letters gathered (you won’t be able to proceed till you have all needed, mimifish is wrong here).
The gameplay. Some people may think it’s too easy, but it is a game, not real war, it’s a relaxation. Hence a lot of secrets, gold to find (and to spend). Even the end boss is scripted so that virtually any player can defeat him. His (not Dink’s, mimifish!) stats are defined by Dink’s, and regardless of the weapon armed (alas, mimifish, you are wrong again!).
The landscape. I can agree to some extent with SimonK. I tried to make it beautiful, but somewhere it could be less stuffed with sprites. There are a lot of landmarks, so you may be able to play even if you don’t have a map, but there are 3 of them.
Graphics. There are some new. Personally I like the end boss most. Other graphics are worked out considering their usage, so not all usual sequences are present, just needed in the game. New characters, new interior elements, new (modified) magic and weapons.
Sound was selected carefully; I tried to make midis go well with the gameline.
Some humor, some classic poetry (has anybody noticed it, I wonder?).
There are no puzzles to get stuck, and talking to everybody you may always find out what to do. If you like a game to relax, not a hard challenge - this Dmod is for you.
In the whole it is a good achievement for the beginner. Maybe it is not so great as POTA with its twisted plot, not so innovative as SOB, but you will spend some pleasant hours.

April 11th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 8.9 good
goblinh.gif
Angel
Peasant
 
This d-mod is probably best,but it's hard.
TRY TO GET TO THE F****** TEMPLE OF LIGHT.I simply move 2 firs.And TRY to kill the boss.

It sometimes hard,but it's cool game I adviced you to download it.
The coolest weapon I've ever see is throwing axes from temple.Rainbow Magic have not difference with Hellfire,but it's more powerful
New Music,some new graphics.
Cool game like POTA
April 4th, 2002
Final+ (Rev 8)
Score : 9.0 exceptional
stonegiant.gif
An excellent D-MOD, it is long and it must have taken a while to make.

MUSIC: Interesting use of X-files intro music and Queen's 'We will rock you' Very good.

GRAPHICS: Nothing that except for a guy playing a piano and one playing a computer.

GAMEPLAY: Sometimes slow and you often cant figure out what to do. One bug: Sometimes when you are too close to the water, you'll cross the hardness line and cant get out again. Cool new spells and weapons.

SOUNDS: Nothing differnt really.

OVERALL: Very good game and not boring.