The Dink Network

Kill the Hippies

Apparently these are hippies. From the COTPATD project.
November 7th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: The title covers it: kill the hippies and you have won the game.

Map and graphics: The map is small, but done nicely. The hippies are new, and they look funny, and resemble a hippie, though they are not human. The background is new too, as is the title screen; both look very good, and also very sixties.

Music: Suits the situation.

Good: Although there is not much of a story, the end is quite funny. There are some knights lying in ambush, some deadly mushrooms, and some shrubs in pots. Everything is real hippie like, which is good.

Not so good: There are no savebots. There should at least be one in the beginning. When using the TNT, before the end scene, you can not throw it, so it will explode while Dink holds it.

Overall: A funny little D-mod.

Fit for: Anyone who wants to play a fun little D-mod.
September 14th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 3.5 tolerable
farmer.gif
Stevian
Peasant
 
Well, this game had a good idea and one new graphic, but let me review it, ill give you the low down on the ordeal.

Strengths:
New hippie monster and smiley face (is a smiley face new?)and a nifty disco ball for saving, although you have to HIT the ball to save. Also, the music really fit the situation...

Weakness:
Ugh theres so many... The storyline was extremely weak and nothing you could really collect, there were no shops, nothing you would expect in a normal
Adventure/Roleplaying type game, no real new weapons.
There was speech! Only at the beginning and the end though, and you could kill the old guy in mid sentence, which was funny, but odd.
Starting out with a sword and nothing to notify that you had range weapons when you couldn't reach the hippies was a downside, so when you found out you could, it would take some practice to figure out which weapon was good for what situation.
The game was extremly short, and if you didn't know to shoot the smiley in the farm, you would have no life for the room full of the hippies, and die.
The ending was weak! It had no real ending, just a quick death.

Score: A weak 3.5 because, as I listed as above, the cons out go the pro's, and a game with so many cons is bad. On the contrary though, it IS worth downloading (it gave me an adrenaline rush, good music) and the new monsters are good, so if you don't mind short games this is...still boring!
December 18th, 2011
v1.00
Score : 2.2 horrible
wizardb.gif
bomberswarm2
Peasant Male Australia steam
bomberswarm2.boards.net 
This D-Mod is terrible. I just walked through the road without killing any of the things as i was looking for a hippy. why you made save-bots look like disco balls i will never know. then i just slaughtered the last room and then there was no boss. because i used ultimate cheat i was still alive at the end. a terrible d-mod. one good thing. the new models of charaters.
June 15th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 5.0 fair
pq_merm.gif
First there are some pros:
-New graphics for the hippies and savebots (discoballs). +3.0
-Sweet music for the opening screen. +3.0
-Smiley faces that hold prizes. +1.0

Then, there are the inevitable cons:
-The hippies didn't look like hippies, they looked like swingers from the 70's. -0.5
-Disco balls weren't related to the counterculture of the United States in the 1960's either, they were from the 70's. -0.5
-Besides these anachronisms, the game was kind of boring. -2.0

However, overall it looked good and there were no errors. +1.0

Total: 5.0, a fair dmod that you may want to download for a few moments amusement.
May 3rd, 2005
v1.00
Score : 0.3 horrible
peasantmg.gif
Kill The Hippies

One word… Bad

Story: You hat hippies, you want to kill hippies and thus you do. I hate this storyline, granted I am neither for nor against hippies but this story is just wrong…

Gameplay: Non existent… You run around shooting hippies with four different weapons. It is full of bugs, Hardness errors, getting stuck in walls and more will await you in Kill The Hippies…

Graphics: Lets see there were about three new graphics, a poor under decorated map and to top it all off poor placement of the items that were actually there!

Music: I heard some music but it was clouded out by the sounds of hippies dying, the music itself wasn’t suiting and I felt to be quite stupid for the Dmod…

Final Thoughts: Sorry I’m being so mean with the review of this one, but when I see something I hate well, lets just say I hate them. And when I see a Dmod with no redeeming features like this one well I go all out in my review.

Good: It was Short
Bad: The Story
July 29th, 2004
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
Interesting...interesting...

Good:
-Dynamite as a new weapon...even if you cant throw it it sure is fun to see Dink hold it!
-Scary weird Hippi's.
-Nicely decorated D-Mod with the Hippi hideout and the other screens.

Bad:
-Little story or development...it is a romp though so what can you expect.

Overall: Nice fun for a break with some new ideas.

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller
June 7th, 2003
v1.00
Score : 3.0 tolerable
pillbug.gif
Those hippies aren't the only thing from hell..

**GAMEPLAY**

This d-mod will make you throw up, then cough up bile. The hippies may be good graphics, but that doesn't save them from being too powerful, and too hard to kill. I found myself racing to the other end of the path, trying to avoid them, after trying unsuccesfully to fight them. When you use the dynamite you simply explode. This d-mod, having barely a plot, supports itself on gameplay. But, if the supports are cracked and old, chances are the buildings gonna fall.

SCORE: + 1

**STORY**

Kill the hippies from hell. Sounds funny, but that's it. No advancement, no nothing but, as the tile says, kill the hippies.

SCORE: + 1

**SOUND**

It's average, but heard a lot of cursing in the begining. (;

SCORE: + 1

**OVERALL**
3.0

Don't even download if you're a hippy hater, no matter what, you won't really like it.

May 13th, 2002
v1.00
Score : 7.5 good
milder.gif
Vilius
Peasant
 
Yeach, its cool game.And funny too. And it is not censored...

Strenghts: Its very funny game, and its not censored. when fust you start you heard words like fuc...(my intelect cant let me to write end of that word).You kill hippies from the hell.Only one weapon works when you want to kill hippie.It is throwing axe. There enought 3 axe hits to kill hippie (sometimes 4).

Weakness and overall: Well, its not long game, there is no boss, and hippies are shooting from strange magic or something.Those dang hippies are very powerfull, so better run from then to the final.There is cool dinamite explosion...