The Dink Network

Green Voice in my Head (The) - Part 1 - Hangover & Agony

HellFire Bonus!
May 9th, 2006
v3.0
Score : 9.0 exceptional
custom_coco.gif
cocomonkey
Bard Male United States
Please Cindy, say the whole name each time. 
This was a very good DMOD, one of the best I've ever played. Here is a game that shows that hilarious and very silly humor can coexist with a moderately deep plot.

What really intrigued me about the gameplay was how gold was used as the limiting factor for everything - and man, you have to scrape for all of it you can find, too. It's excellently managed throughout the module, and it's mindless fun to collect heaping enormous piles of gold. The barrel-smashing gimmick added a bit of fun as well. Another thing I enjoyed about the gameplay was how it took advantage of the fact that, in Dink Smallwood, monsters can hit one another; this was taken advantage of to great effect in "The forest of very mad slayers."

The only thing I didn't like about this DMOD was that there are many ways to make it impossible to win anymore, quite a few of which are not obvious at all when you are doing them. The structure really should have been loosened up a little to give the player more room for trial and error. For example, if you go back through the portal from the desert town too soon, there's no way to go to the desert again. Why is this? The DMOD would have been improved by simply leaving a way to get back to Niv.

This mod had some intriguing gameplay concepts, a solid design, and it made me laugh a lot. I reccomend it highly.
October 13th, 2003
v3.0
Score : 9.0 exceptional
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
The Green Voice in my Head - Part 1 - Hangover & Agony v1.2 by Raven

Proís: Part 1 of a 3-part epic. Lots of familiar monsters, with money to be earned. Plenty of save bots (which I am grateful for). Lots of secrets to be solved. Midiís. sorry my speakers went out. Dink has a voice in his head(?? I thought we all had one. ), that sometimes argues/agrees/or just gives us a laugh. The scenery looked familiar, but when playing a difficult game, sometimes scenery is good. The dmod took us from town to town to town, and I know I likely forgot to do something. But since I was able to beat that Flux guy, I figure everything was OK. A lot of work and thought went into this dmod, which considering itís Ravensí first, it was a great job.

Conís: In this dmod, everything must be done in the correct order, so saving in different spots is very important. There were a few hardness errors, where I walked right of the screen. The dmod would shut down at different moments. I restarted the dmod several times because of an axe problem. No clues were given, so you had to make up your own mind, whether to pick something up, or not. After abit it got confusing, with the same people saying the same things, until you found/did/said something different, then the game kept on moving. A small question arose, that if Dink was an old boozer as the intro suggestedÖwhy did he look the same?

Overall: A very good dmod for the authorís first attempt. A must for those who like a challenging dmod.
October 8th, 2003
v3.0
Score : 8.7 good
death.gif
This was quite an interesting game that makes you use your brain. This is not an easy game and it's not so hard you can't finish it. However if you are new to rpg's, start with an easier game to learn how they work before you tackle this one. Remember, everybody gets stuck. In this game, the player must talk to certain people several times and in the right order and after certain goals are attained. I like a challenging game and felt that this one was just right. The fighting scenes were just right also tho later in the game they definitely got tougher. But you have to fight if you want to build your stats up. Also the monsters were generous with the gold and you will need it to buy spells. The scenery was decorated nicely tho I didn't see anything really new. Flowers, trees, rocks, etc filled in each screen. It was basically same-oh same-oh. Same with the midi's. I wasn't impressed at all tho I did like the theme song from Raiders of the Lost Ark. Mostly, the music was irritating and not varied. It seems like we've heard this stuff too many times-it bored me too pieces. Gameplay was pretty straight forward except for a few times that I wandered around going 'duh, now what'. As I said, it's not the easiest game in the world. (Don't try to pick up certain items with your speed boots on cuz you will be going too fast and it won't pick them up) I did get frustrated at times because of not doing something in the proper order and I would have to start over from a saved point. Forunately, there were plenty of save bots scattered around. Better remember to use them. The potions were plentiful too which was great. And later in the game you will find lots of money. This game has an unusual feature in that Dink has a talking Id that is very opinionated, cranky, and funny at times. One part that tickled the funny bone was when Dink is looking at a book about pigs and his "other" voice told him to hurry and drop it. Then Dink picked up another book about light swords that really made me laugh. I liked that voice in dinks head. It's a fresh and innovative idea in a dmod. Good going, Raven. We will be waiting on that sequel that will tell us why dink has the 'voice in his head'. This is a 3 part story so there is more fun to come.
There were not any different monsters or unusual scenery or anything really catchy (other than the voice) in this game which lowers the rating of it somewhat. It was actually kind of bland what with the music and all. The fight with Erling was a letdown. There was not any sense of victory or accomplishment that would justify the hard work it took to get to that point. This was intentional on the author's part but left a bad taste in my mouth. Also you could not finish gathering the scattered parts of the staff so you got no satisfaction in this first part of the 3 part story. All in all this player was left hanging at the end of the game. Disappointing!
My favorite type of game is one that makes me think and there are plenty of serious head-scratching quests in this game. I really liked this part of the game. There were not very many bugs but the patch took care of the main one. So download this game and play it. It's really worth it and you will while away a couple/few hours in Raven's intricate imagination.
January 30th, 2010
v3.0
Score : 9.8 exceptional
death.gif
EvilEarl
Peasant Male United States
In memory of Skull. 
Absolutely great.

Story: I like how Raven took Dink's drinking habits to the extreme, and the inexplicable green voice is an interesting character. As epic as can be. I'm just saddened that it's only the first part and it's been 7 years already, which does not bode well for the sequels.

Graphics: Good use of existing ones, and some pretty interesting new ones.

Music: A couple tracks seemed to fit the setting but could have been chosen to fit better,

Gameplay: Very good.

Humor: Best of them all.

Good: All around awesome.

Bad: It's cruel to have such an awesome cliffhangar and follow through on it, and I can still hear the the sound of collecting gold ringing in my ears.

Conclusion: PLAY IT NOW!!

Fit for: If you're here, then you'll like it.

9.8 as the gold sound was the only bad thing in the dmod that I could think of.
October 30th, 2007
v3.0
Score : 9.0 exceptional
knightgl.gif
It is a very good game,that has a lot to offer.
Good game play,music,story,action

Negatives: It is quite difficult and not too very flexible
I needed a walk through to finish it

Bugs: There is a place near the guard where Dink freezes.
May 15th, 2006
v3.0
Score : 9.5 exceptional
fairy.gif
This is a tryly exceptional DMOD. It's more like an Epic than a Quest to me! Excellent story, humor and gameplay. Lots of secrets and caves everywhere. I loved collecting all the gold in the last part.

You get quite a lot of magic potions that you never need, the fireball spell goes fast enough after a while. Strength and defense potions are much rarer.

I loved the screen with the 20+ slayers on it, it was great to train on.

The Good:
*) The story and humor
*) The barrel smashing
*) The graphics: the screens are very detailed and well designed!

The Bad:
*) Even if the readme said that in this version many things were fixed, there still were some things you could do that made it impossible to finish. At the beginning of the game I dropped a coin in that well. Because of that I ended up with 199 coins and couldn't buy the last of 11 magic potions required to finish the game. There was no way I could tell that dropping a coin in a well at the beginning of the game, would make it impossible to finish it later on.
*) This isn't really a bad point, but the ending was pretty good in making me really want to play part II, but there's no sight of part II.

But overall, one of the finest DMODs!
July 16th, 2005
v3.0
Score : 9.7 exceptional
knightg.gif
cypry
Peasant Male Romania
Chop your own wood, and it will warm you twice. 
This is one of the best DMOD's I've ever played, and the best Quest so far.

Story : 10
This game shows that even a great hero, like Dink Smallwood can become a drunkard. The ideea of the Green Voice was original and great. Also the ideea with the Raven Staff was great.

Map : 9.5
The map is good, it has no hardness errors, it is well decorated, and the secret places are well-hidden. Still, I didn't see new graphics.

Gameplay : 9.5
After you find the clawsword in Armend, and the lightsword in Niv, the enemies are easy to defeat. The bosses are strong, but still not hard to beat.

Style : 10
Since it's Raven's first(and the only) DMOD, it's really well-made, and if I didn't knew, I would think that this author has released many DMODs before this.

Overall : 9.7
The bad part is that the story has an open-ending(I still hope that the next parts will come). All the rest is great.
April 8th, 2005
v3.0
Score : 9.9 exceptional
pq_merm.gif
This is the first time I played the game. And what a great game it is - I have been waiting for something like this for a long time.
After getting stuck and reading the comments on the game, I had to restart a couple of times - mainly because I handed over the rake too quickly to the goblin. LOL But after that, I got into the game and, even though I needed a hint here and there, managed to get through the game without much trouble.
All in all, this is an excellent game and the gameplay gets top marks from me.
I also like the music - I prefer the good old Dink music to other "film" music that is often used and, in my opinion, doesn't fit into Dink games.

Can't wait for the sequel... Thanks so much for this game, Raven !!
April 7th, 2005
v3.0
Score : 9.0 exceptional
spike.gif
VaultDweller
Peasant Male United States
Wanderer of the Wasteland 
This just barely breaks the list of "The Best DMods of all Time".

First of all the game's story is sensational. Unique yet alike. Strong yet simple. Fun yet serious. The idea is hilarious of Dink having an alter-ego that makes him already act that much more crazy.

Everything else about the game is decent. A few new graphics, but used so well you really feel they belong and the old graphics are used properly in an environment that never seems unnatural. The songs were ok and evenly spaced. Enemies were a bit new or old and used in the right context.

Overall everything is just mixed very well. The ending in particular showcases how a few simple graphics and songs if used under good context really do the job.

Sincerely,
The Vault Dweller
May 26th, 2004
v3.0
Score : 9.8 exceptional
pq_knight.gif
This is my first review, so here it goes*inhales loudly* THIS GAME WAS GREAT!! I loved everything about it, except for the money clintch at the begining. Good work Raven! I can't wait for the next one!
October 20th, 2003
v3.0
Score : 9.9 exceptional
girl.gif
irit
Peasant Female
 
First of all I want to congratulate Raven for his first d-mod and for earn the second place (I would reward this game in first place)in the September rewards. It's a great D-mod quest with a lot of thinking. A challenging game (my favorite), not easy, that you have to use your brain in order to solve all quests.
In order to play right you have to talk to people in a correct order otherwise you lose yourself. I had to restart the game four times and with the help of Raven and others it took me in the last restart to finish the game in 4 hours.
There are few bugs in the game, but you can play with them, even you get stuck but as this is a brain game you have to think on each and every step, in order not to get stuck.
The usual monsters, lots of saving spots, lots of money that you must need in order to buy spells and the Raven staff, lots of secrets, a nice idea to talk to the dragons in order to heal yourself, an interesting and new idea - the green voice in your head, which I liked and that made me laugh few times, especially when this green voice laughing at Dink himself. The new yellow flowers that make you think they hide something, it's very interesting.
The fighting with Erling with no sense of victory. The part with Flux, the poison and the witch is very good. The end was a bit disapponting, but with a reason as I've been told by Raven himself, as this part is a continuation and the beginning of the 2nd part of this trilogy.
All in all, it's a very good brain game. It's worth to download and play and enjoy. My score to this game is 9.9!
And to Raven - Hurray for your first attempt. I wish you luck now and always.