The Dink Network

Ghosts of the Cast (The)

This house does nothing - it's that kind of DMOD. From the COTPATD project.
March 10th, 2004
1.0
Score : 1.0 horrible
fish.gif
Binirit
Peasant Female
 
Storyline: Seth is back since his soul survived and now he is a dragon. Dink must therefore defeat him once again. That should be the story, but you have no clue about Seth or a dragon until you actually see him. Before that it is all about bonca’s pestering Libby and members of the Cast that Dink has to defeat.

Map and graphics: The map is horrible. It is quite empty, most sprites have the wrong hardness (either hardness when they should not have it or no hardness when they should have hardness) but the most annoying thing is that there are no borders at all so you have to check all four sides of each screen to see if there is adjoining screen or not. I guess the author thinks that potions and hearts are there for decoration since they are everywhere.

Music: There are two midi's that play on four screens, but they do not make the game any better.

Good: At least the author tried to make a D-mod, which is always good, but releasing it was a very bad idea.

Not so good: Although Libby asks (sort of) to kill the bonca's, she does not say anything else when you indeed have killed the bonca's; she just asks you over and over again to kill the bonca's. You do not even have to kill the bonca's in order to proceed in the game, so I really do not see the point of Libby and/or the bonca's being there since they do not add anything. There is no progress in any script, so not only Libby keeps repeating herself, but all the other sprites too. The wizard says the same thing over and over again and even dragon Seth can not be bothered to change his lines. What is also bad is that you can go back to the room where you first met Seth after you have killed him in the next room and he will react like you are standing before him for the first time. After killing Seth you are warped to several screens and I had no idea what that was for since Dink says he has to go to the castle and inform the King. I never got to the castle but ended up (after having been warped several times to other screens) on the screen with Libby. And guess what? She asked Dink to kill the bonca's, so you could start all over again – something I really did not want to do. I checked the editor and there is no castle and no King what so ever.

Overall: A horrible D-mod.

Fit for: No one.
February 19th, 2005
1.0
Score : 1.7 horrible
knights.gif
The Ghosts of the Cast

Plot: Seth is back! His soul is in a dragon, and Dink must now kill him inprogress as he's trying to escape from the Cast...
Plot points: 6.3 / 9.9

Music: A few great midis in there. Both from my favourite PlayStation game, Final Fantasy.
Music points: 7.9 / 9.9

Map: One killable Cast soldier, a lot of potions, that little Wizard Martridge and things that you can walk through... *sigh*
Map points: 0.2 / 9.9

Big, pointy bugs:
<none>

Smaller, not-so-pointy bugs:
- In fights agaisnt Seth, you can't walk in some areas.

Small, not-pointy-at-all bugs:
- Seth is dragon, but why is he a gnome in those fighting scenes?

Overall: 1.7 - Horrible

It's a poor D-Mod, that should fix the map. Still, it's a nice try for the first D-Mod.
September 14th, 2004
1.0
Score : 0.0 horrible
sob_scorpy.gif
This game is not worth the time and effort. There are so many potions and Seth the Dragon just sits there with two Cast knights and some gold hearts with the wrong hardness. There are many things with lousy hardness. Also, the girl at the start of the game keeps repeating the same stupid thing about boncas or whatever, it really annoys me, and the house has the wrong hardness too. I liked the flying gold though. The huge boncas were easy to kill and I thought the girl would say a different thing after killing them, but NO. This game is stupid even for a first try. The bonca Matridge gave me some sort of stupid DINK-FIGHTAZ or something like that for an unlocking thing, and the grey wizard kept giving me Fireball magic to use when I talked to him. And lots of grammar mistakes.

Overall: This game is lousy for a first DMOD, even a first beta. People who spend their time preciously should not bother with this stupid DMOD.
July 17th, 2004
1.0
Score : 0.6 horrible
fairy.gif
glennglenn
Peasant Male Norway steam
GlennGlenn doesn't want a custom title. 
well... this d-mod is very crappy it lies potions everywhere and you dont know witch way you should go because it is no ways and its not decorated around the world and the cast sodiers you can only kill one of them. Duh!
________________________________________________________________________
plot:kill seth`s ghost

map:very poor\quite empty. it is olmost only potions that decorating the game

graphics:just the same

midis:just from the original game i think

fit for:somebody that likes short and easy game with loads of potions

May 5th, 2004
1.0
Score : 1.0 horrible
spike.gif
scratcher
Bard Male Finland bloop
cigarette bonca 
This is one of the dmods made in 5 minutes by randomly creating screens and placing sprites with random scripts taken from the original Dink on them. There's no plot, though you get to kill Seth a few times. Even a minigame that's included, the Dink Fightaz, is really miserable.
July 9th, 2003
1.0
Score : 3.0 tolerable
pq_water.gif
Blue
Peasant Male
 
Well... first dmod, but you could do better think dink- screens are quite empty, haerdness errors, you dont know which screen is en and which is not.... Very poor dmod... after killing that wizard it says that you must infor the goodheart... well... i hope you will release a patch to this game.
July 9th, 2003
1.0
Score : 0.1 horrible
wizardb.gif
Merlin
Peasant Male
 
Now, I'm not an easy scorer, but I wouldn't even consider this a D-MOD. To me, it's a project (a very poor one). There were very, very few characters, and there were hundreds of potions that randomly littered the screens, and hardness bugs galore! I could walk over anything, even through a person.
I understand this was the author's first D-MOD, however I would suggest he not even finish it. Start with a new map, a story, and work from there.
However, this is a good D-MOD as an authoring experiment, but I believe such things should not be released. I would be embarassed (The huge boncas did make me laugh, though).
July 6th, 2003
1.0
Score : 5.5 fair
stonegiant.gif
Ok im going to review this myself so you know what its like

New Midis
There is 2 new midis (for those final fantasy fans)
No New Graphics
Theres no new graphics sorry but im new to this
Hard Bosses
You get to fight 2 hard bosses and if your clever you will know that they say the same things as seth in dink smallwood
(its seths script)
Bugs
There is a few hardness bugs
Comedy
Theres some comedy including a pillbug with a crush on dink

at the end a wizard says seth is waiting and martridge tells you at the end that seth is dead for now but hes not (thats not a bug all will be explained in part 2)

im rating this 5.5 as its not the best and i could of put more effort into it but im new at this and cant do everything