The Dink Network

Dink Learns Music

January 6th, 2006
v1.00
Score : 7.4 good
knights.gif
DinkKiller
Peasant Male United States xbox steam
The world could always use more heroes 
This was an interesting D-Mod. Dink has to do a series of tasks to learn how to play a piano. A really good short D-Mod. Ratings...

Plot 7.6
Graphics 6.9
Storyline 7.4
MIDI's 7.7
Lasting Appeal 7.2
Overall 7.4

It is an interesting 15 minute D-Mod and I think everyone should play it.
October 9th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
eye.gif
This dmod was all right. The concept was a good one, but the actual dmod was a bit dull. While it was refreshing to have a dmod where I didn't have to fight, the rest of the story didn't really grab my attention. The tasks were extremely easy and the storyline was linear. The grammar and the spelling should be off. One does not "learn me a trumpet," rather one "teaches me a trumpet." That sort of thing was a bit annoying and is why I gave this dmod only a fair rating.
July 14th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 7.9 good
knightg.gif
cypry
Peasant Male Romania
Chop your own wood, and it will warm you twice. 
Nice little non-violent DMOD.

Story: 8.0
Short & funny:
Dink needs to learn music so he can play for the king (at least it's not a quest for cheese).

Map: 8.0
It's small, but nice. I didn't see any hardness errors, but neither new graphics.

Music: 9.0
The music is good, since it's a DMOD about music.

Gameplay: 6.5
Altough it's funny walking around, talking to people, searching... a DMOD should have some battle scenes too. At least some pillbugs or boncas(a dragon or a knight would be something special).

Scripts: 9.0
The sprites do what they are suposed to do, I didn't see any errors, but there is nothing new or special, like a new weapon or spell(except for the piano spell), or something.

Style: 7.0
The game is well made, but a bit boring(you really should add some monsters).

Overall: 7.9
The DMOD is good, but not excellent. Altough it has no errors, it's missing that "something" that makes you say "This was a great DMOD!", after you finish it.
June 30th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
duckdie.gif
BeheadedDuck
Peasant Male Australia
So lazy... So incredibly lazy... 
This was an alright D-mod. i quite enjoyed the nice hint of a little puzzle now and again although this was a bit tiresome walking to the same areas again and again. The music was good. At the start when the guard is talking to Dink I couldn't help but notice the music sounded like something off Chrono Trigger with slight tweaking. The humour made me laugh but that was once and then it instanly good tedious. I agree with Kat; The Hyper Boots would have been quite useful and I also disagree with here as the neckalace was as easy to find as everything else.
June 29th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 9.5 exceptional
duck.gif
rp64
Peasant Male
 
This game is exceptional! I love it! This game really shows how the dink engine can be used to make a "different" kind of game. A kind where you don't fight your way through puzzles, but where you interact with towns people, and solve problems. I thought the music was great too! The good: You can interact with people, solving the mission by unlocking diferent parts of the story. Like an interactive movie. The graphics are quite nice, not any i saw as original, but nicely used none the less. The music was happy and sorta funky. Lots of original music.

The bad: I think it is too short! I wanted more! There were only 3 songs. I think spelling mistakes should have been less. I think it couldve been more self explanatory, as when it tells you to do something, there are no clues. But i didnt find it hard even with that factor. No official ending.

Conclusion: I recommend this game for anyone who plays dink for the story, and the entertainment through that way. Not for the combat lovers, or hardcore puzzle masters. Though this game had a few minor issues, it had no bugs as i could see, and i sincerely hope there are more in this creaters library of DMODs soon. Cheers to you, metatarasal! Great game, keep up the good work. And to you, dear readers of my review, remember, maybe i am making this game sound beter than it is and youll get dissapointed, but this is my opinion. Thanks for reading this--- Ryan
June 28th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 6.0 fair
wizard.gif
Objective: learn to play music.
This DMOD map was well constructed and I found no errors but it was extreamly boring. Nothing to fight, nothing to defend aginst (no monsters), no weapons, no spells of mass destruction, no experience, no level change. It also needs and end. I had to "ESC" to get out. Well besides all that I guess it was alright.
My grade: 6 of 10
June 27th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 7.0 good
old.gif
Kat
Peasant Female Canada
We can out-drink most Americans! 
Dink Learns Music by metatarasal

The Good: A small easy to play dmod, where Dink has to use his brains rather than his fists. No monsters are in this dmod, but it has some nice scenery, lots of people to talk to and a save bot.

The Bad: The missing necklace…I wish Dink had said Aha here it is or something like that, as all I saw was a bit o’ sparkle. No finish spot…had to use the ALT + Q, or Dink would have been playing forever.

Overall: A good dmod for beginners (and others) to play Too bad Dink didn’t have some herb boots..lol.
June 27th, 2005
v1.00
Score : 6.5 fair
custom_carrie2004.gif
carrie2004
Peasant Female Canada
*chomp* 
I found this short romp easy to finish.Everything worked smoothly
and I was amused by Dink's attempt to play a horn.The music and graphics
were pretty routine but all in all it was nicely done.